SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7945 (fitted jackets and skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2033 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/05 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ying said...
Wonderful jacket! It is simply beautiful. Your review is getting me to consider making a jacket, something I don't think I'm up for right now. Love the jacket details and wish I could see a photo of the high-end catalogue.
3/21/05 5:05 PM
Debra H said...
I have tried scanning in the catalog picture, but it is just too small to see the details. It was a recent Bloomingdale's spring catalog.
3/21/05 5:07 PM
Teri said...
Wow! Very high-end RTW looking.
3/21/05 5:08 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is very adorable and look how beautifully you matched the plaid at the sleeves. Wow.
3/21/05 5:19 PM
BjP said...
This is truly a lovely jacket....great job with your design changes! I really love everything about it.
3/21/05 5:23 PM
seKimberlyso said...
7 X Wow=great job!
3/21/05 5:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very creative adaptation of a basic pattern. It is just lovely. You must have phenomenal patience to match the plaids so perfectly at the sleeve and lapel.
3/21/05 5:43 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous. I love all of the extra details you added, and the fit you achieved is terrific. I have to admit that I'm not a fan of this current rage, but your lovely creation has me rethinking that opinion! When is the next Vogue pattern sale anyway.....
3/21/05 5:58 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Very pretty!
3/21/05 6:30 PM
Tiner W said...
That's beautiful! I'm just dying to make one of these.
3/21/05 6:32 PM
PVA said...
You had me going there for a minute -- I looked at your photo, then the pattern pics & was positive you'd linked the wrong pattern. Went back & forth a couple of times, shook my head, then started reading the review & had an "Ah-ha" moment! I *Love* the jacket, it is so creative! The color is lucious & your design elements (including the long fringe) make it a smash hit! Beautifully done!
3/21/05 6:56 PM
mamafitz said...
lovely lovely jacket. great color and love the ribbon ties.
3/21/05 6:56 PM
PVA said...
You had me going there for a minute -- I looked at your photo, then the pattern pics & was positive you'd linked the wrong pattern. Went back & forth a couple of times, shook my head, then started reading the review & had an "Ah ha" moment! I *Love* the jacket, it is so creative! The color is lucious & your design elements (including the long fringe) make it a smash hit! Beautifully done!
3/21/05 6:57 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow! I LOVE your jacket. I was going to buy this pattern a long time ago, but never did. Now, I will have to, after see your gorgeous creation!!
3/21/05 7:15 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Wow, very smart jacket. Feminine, pretty and classy.
3/21/05 7:26 PM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful! You did a fantastic job on this. I think I saw the jacket you are copying and this might be cuter.
3/21/05 7:27 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. Lime green is one of my favorites. Thanks for reviewing this. I have not seen this pattern. Love your fabric and the designer touches.
3/21/05 7:32 PM
Hilary said...
Fantstic jacket!! Your changes are wonderful, and I love the lime green plaid boucle. Thanks for the review!
3/21/05 7:44 PM
mudcat said...
Smashing! Great for spring. Very impressive.
3/21/05 8:06 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the color and style of your jacket, it's gorgeous!
3/21/05 8:08 PM
Jan B. said...
Wonderful!! I'll take a wardrobe of these in several colors. Nice job is an understatement.
3/21/05 8:10 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Incredible, I am ***green*** with envy!!
3/21/05 8:39 PM
WJean said...
I have not yet read your review. I just enlarged the photo and had to write about what a wonderful job you did matching the plaid in the areas of the jacket front and sleeve. To add to that I must say that your jacket is 'cute' and I love the color! Now, I will read your review. *******Just finished reading your review and I enjoyed it including the information provided about the changes you made to 'customize' it to your liking. May I add a suggestion? Send this to Vogue Pattern Company. I'm sure they would be appreciative of seeing the fine job you did constructing and modifying one of their patterns. Let us know if you decide to do that and their response.
3/21/05 8:40 PM
Pat T said...
Wow Wow Wow
3/21/05 9:11 PM
CarrieA said...
I will add my voice to the chorus...spectacular!
3/21/05 11:06 PM
WJean said...
I have not yet read your review. I just enlarged the photo and had to write about what a wonderful job you did matching the plaid in the areas of the jacket front and sleeve. To add to that I must say that your jacket is 'cute' and I love the color! Now, I will read your review.
3/22/05 0:12 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks very expensive!
3/22/05 2:55 AM
Eli said...
I love all of your creations and admire your craftsmanship. This jacket is fabulous and I can only say that it left me speechless...
3/22/05 3:10 AM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful!
3/22/05 4:01 AM
hongkongshopper said...
That is just gorgeous! I liked your loose jacket but this is more my style. Absolutely beautiful!!
3/22/05 4:03 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful jacket, well tailored. Thanks for the tip on an easier way of doing fringing.
3/22/05 4:08 AM
jlg said...
Wow, wow, wow. Your jacket is fabulous.
3/22/05 4:53 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket, very Spring.
3/22/05 6:46 AM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
3/22/05 6:54 AM
Maychi said...
wow! great jacket!
3/22/05 8:02 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a stunning jacket! Your creative changes make it hard to even recognize it as the same as the pattern cover's. Would love to know your high end inspiration source.
3/22/05 8:13 AM
casken said...
Fantastic! Love it. You would probably pay a lot of cabbage for a jacket like that in the stores.
3/22/05 8:15 AM
PhyllisC said...
Delightful and I *love* the fabric...your observation on this patterne being a good candidate for matching plaid is really helpful.
3/22/05 8:32 AM
Debra H said...
Several folks have asked about the fabric. I normally do sew fairly expensive fabrics, but this fabric was only $5 a yard from Fabric Direct and was 60" wide. It is a blend of natural/synthetic fibers. Because the fabric was very loosely woven, I did fuse the entire garment with a very lightweight tricot knit.
3/22/05 8:54 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
OOH!!! Yummy color and love those front bows, fantastic! Congrats!!!!
3/22/05 11:09 AM
Eli said...
Debra, if you don't mind, I'd appreciate if you share your interfacing solutions - what did you interface and with what interfacing, did you fuse ot sew-in? Also, if you don't mind looking into the pattern piece - what are the finished bust and waist circ. for size 10?I know it is a weird question... but this is my way to know hopw fitted a pattern is... I love fitted jackets. I said above and will say again - remarkable craftsmanship!
3/22/05 12:26 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Bravo for this beautiful jacket. Really is fabulous ..time to uprade from an intermediate sewer to advanced, I say. Congratulations on a superb sewing creation.
3/22/05 1:22 PM
elegantmusings said...
This is one of the cutest boucle jackets I've seen this spring!! :) Beautiful job!! I have a similar plaid boucle in my stash, awaiting a jacket pattern. I was thinking of using a Butterick pattern I bought awhile back, but I like the lines of this one much better. I have to tell you that when I first looked at the picture, I thought that the bias section was a bias-cut waistband! Now that I look at it closer, it is indeed pockets. ;) Very cute (and I love that colour!!)!
3/22/05 3:14 PM
Debra H said...
In response to Eli, I fused most of the jacket that is not normally interfaced with a very lightweight fusible tricot (Easy knit or Sof Knit) but Feather Weft also would work. Bi-Stretch Lite is a great Pellon interfacing that they are no longer making and it would be really great for this...they failed to market this great interfacing to the right audience. Some of it is still around so it is also an option. The main purpose of fusing a boucle is that they are very loose weaves and tend to stretch, sag, unravel and seams can be weak. Fusing helps the fabric hold its shape, which is critical on a shaped jacket. I then used a heavier interfacing (Textured Weft) for the collar and front facing. You also could use a good sew-in interfacing like flex form or durable press. A final tip for strengthening the the fringe is to use 1/2 strips of fusible interacing (or you can order LJ Designs fusible stay tape from Clothilde or Sewing Place). Fuse the strip along the selvage edge of your fringe strip....then sew straight or small zigzap stitch along the inside edge of the fused strip. You can now start unraveling to make the fringe and you will have a very sturdy base.
3/22/05 10:50 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome, just awesome. I'd go nuts for this creative jacket at a dept. store. I'd put this on layaway cause I know I wouldnt' be able to afford it outright!!
3/24/05 3:19 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
WOW! You know, when I saw the pattern in the magazine, I didn't like it at all. But your take on it makes me re-think the possibilities. Thanks for a great review! -Ann
3/30/05 2:10 PM
Reedy said...
Very nicely done. I usually don't like fringe, but that is one gorgeous jacket! The fringe makes it look quite expensive.
6/3/05 4:05 PM
tailormaid said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I can't locate bi-stretch lite, and want to use an equivalent interfacing. Which company sells Feather Weft? P/P? HTC? Or is Sof-Knit or Easy Knit better? It sounds like Bi-Stretch Lite acts like a knit? Thanks.
6/6/06 11:54 PM
Debra H said...
The closest thing now to Bi-Stretch Lite, which was tragically discontinued by Pellon, is Touch of Gold II by HTC (but make sure you do not get regular Touch of Gold, which is a not the same) or Palmer & Pletch's packaged interfacing in Sheer (I know that it is carried by Denver Fabrics.com and some other places on the web).
6/7/06 1:17 PM
NeedleandThread said...
I must say that this piece is the most outstanding I have seen so far on this site. What an amazing job you have done, the jacket is absolutely beautiful!
12/8/06 6:51 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely beautiful! So much better than pictured on the envelope! The jacket shows your originality and talent!
12/31/06 7:11 PM
Sew4Fun said...
WOW!! I missed your jacket the first time. I love the fabric you used (especially the colour) and your matching of the plaids is perfect! Love it!
1/22/07 0:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1019

photo
by: nancy2001

Review