SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7945 (fitted jackets and skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 2034 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/21/05 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
52 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
WOW!! I missed your jacket the first time. I love the fabric you used (especially the colour) and your matching of the plaids is perfect! Love it!
1/22/07 0:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely beautiful! So much better than pictured on the envelope! The jacket shows your originality and talent!
12/31/06 7:11 PM
NeedleandThread said...
I must say that this piece is the most outstanding I have seen so far on this site. What an amazing job you have done, the jacket is absolutely beautiful!
12/8/06 6:51 AM
Debra H said...
The closest thing now to Bi-Stretch Lite, which was tragically discontinued by Pellon, is Touch of Gold II by HTC (but make sure you do not get regular Touch of Gold, which is a not the same) or Palmer & Pletch's packaged interfacing in Sheer (I know that it is carried by Denver Fabrics.com and some other places on the web).
6/7/06 1:17 PM
tailormaid said...
Your jacket is gorgeous! I can't locate bi-stretch lite, and want to use an equivalent interfacing. Which company sells Feather Weft? P/P? HTC? Or is Sof-Knit or Easy Knit better? It sounds like Bi-Stretch Lite acts like a knit? Thanks.
6/6/06 11:54 PM
Reedy said...
Very nicely done. I usually don't like fringe, but that is one gorgeous jacket! The fringe makes it look quite expensive.
6/3/05 4:05 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
WOW! You know, when I saw the pattern in the magazine, I didn't like it at all. But your take on it makes me re-think the possibilities. Thanks for a great review! -Ann
3/30/05 2:10 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Awesome, just awesome. I'd go nuts for this creative jacket at a dept. store. I'd put this on layaway cause I know I wouldnt' be able to afford it outright!!
3/24/05 3:19 PM
Debra H said...
In response to Eli, I fused most of the jacket that is not normally interfaced with a very lightweight fusible tricot (Easy knit or Sof Knit) but Feather Weft also would work. Bi-Stretch Lite is a great Pellon interfacing that they are no longer making and it would be really great for this...they failed to market this great interfacing to the right audience. Some of it is still around so it is also an option. The main purpose of fusing a boucle is that they are very loose weaves and tend to stretch, sag, unravel and seams can be weak. Fusing helps the fabric hold its shape, which is critical on a shaped jacket. I then used a heavier interfacing (Textured Weft) for the collar and front facing. You also could use a good sew-in interfacing like flex form or durable press. A final tip for strengthening the the fringe is to use 1/2 strips of fusible interacing (or you can order LJ Designs fusible stay tape from Clothilde or Sewing Place). Fuse the strip along the selvage edge of your fringe strip....then sew straight or small zigzap stitch along the inside edge of the fused strip. You can now start unraveling to make the fringe and you will have a very sturdy base.
3/22/05 10:50 PM
elegantmusings said...
This is one of the cutest boucle jackets I've seen this spring!! :) Beautiful job!! I have a similar plaid boucle in my stash, awaiting a jacket pattern. I was thinking of using a Butterick pattern I bought awhile back, but I like the lines of this one much better. I have to tell you that when I first looked at the picture, I thought that the bias section was a bias-cut waistband! Now that I look at it closer, it is indeed pockets. ;) Very cute (and I love that colour!!)!
3/22/05 3:14 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
Bravo for this beautiful jacket. Really is fabulous ..time to uprade from an intermediate sewer to advanced, I say. Congratulations on a superb sewing creation.
3/22/05 1:22 PM
Eli said...
Debra, if you don't mind, I'd appreciate if you share your interfacing solutions - what did you interface and with what interfacing, did you fuse ot sew-in? Also, if you don't mind looking into the pattern piece - what are the finished bust and waist circ. for size 10?I know it is a weird question... but this is my way to know hopw fitted a pattern is... I love fitted jackets. I said above and will say again - remarkable craftsmanship!
3/22/05 12:26 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
OOH!!! Yummy color and love those front bows, fantastic! Congrats!!!!
3/22/05 11:09 AM
Debra H said...
Several folks have asked about the fabric. I normally do sew fairly expensive fabrics, but this fabric was only $5 a yard from Fabric Direct and was 60" wide. It is a blend of natural/synthetic fibers. Because the fabric was very loosely woven, I did fuse the entire garment with a very lightweight tricot knit.
3/22/05 8:54 AM
PhyllisC said...
Delightful and I *love* the fabric...your observation on this patterne being a good candidate for matching plaid is really helpful.
3/22/05 8:32 AM
casken said...
Fantastic! Love it. You would probably pay a lot of cabbage for a jacket like that in the stores.
3/22/05 8:15 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
What a stunning jacket! Your creative changes make it hard to even recognize it as the same as the pattern cover's. Would love to know your high end inspiration source.
3/22/05 8:13 AM
Maychi said...
wow! great jacket!
3/22/05 8:02 AM
Lori V said...
very beautiful
3/22/05 6:54 AM
AnneM said...
Great jacket, very Spring.
3/22/05 6:46 AM
jlg said...
Wow, wow, wow. Your jacket is fabulous.
3/22/05 4:53 AM
valerie sews said...
Beautiful jacket, well tailored. Thanks for the tip on an easier way of doing fringing.
3/22/05 4:08 AM
hongkongshopper said...
That is just gorgeous! I liked your loose jacket but this is more my style. Absolutely beautiful!!
3/22/05 4:03 AM
flowermama said...
Absolutely beautiful!
3/22/05 4:01 AM
Eli said...
I love all of your creations and admire your craftsmanship. This jacket is fabulous and I can only say that it left me speechless...
3/22/05 3:10 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks very expensive!
3/22/05 2:55 AM
WJean said...
I have not yet read your review. I just enlarged the photo and had to write about what a wonderful job you did matching the plaid in the areas of the jacket front and sleeve. To add to that I must say that your jacket is 'cute' and I love the color! Now, I will read your review.
3/22/05 0:12 AM
CarrieA said...
I will add my voice to the chorus...spectacular!
3/21/05 11:06 PM
Pat T said...
Wow Wow Wow
3/21/05 9:11 PM
WJean said...
I have not yet read your review. I just enlarged the photo and had to write about what a wonderful job you did matching the plaid in the areas of the jacket front and sleeve. To add to that I must say that your jacket is 'cute' and I love the color! Now, I will read your review. *******Just finished reading your review and I enjoyed it including the information provided about the changes you made to 'customize' it to your liking. May I add a suggestion? Send this to Vogue Pattern Company. I'm sure they would be appreciative of seeing the fine job you did constructing and modifying one of their patterns. Let us know if you decide to do that and their response.
3/21/05 8:40 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Incredible, I am ***green*** with envy!!
3/21/05 8:39 PM
Jan B. said...
Wonderful!! I'll take a wardrobe of these in several colors. Nice job is an understatement.
3/21/05 8:10 PM
Schnauzer said...
I love the color and style of your jacket, it's gorgeous!
3/21/05 8:08 PM
mudcat said...
Smashing! Great for spring. Very impressive.
3/21/05 8:06 PM
Hilary said...
Fantstic jacket!! Your changes are wonderful, and I love the lime green plaid boucle. Thanks for the review!
3/21/05 7:44 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely jacket. Lime green is one of my favorites. Thanks for reviewing this. I have not seen this pattern. Love your fabric and the designer touches.
3/21/05 7:32 PM
sewywabbit said...
Beautiful! You did a fantastic job on this. I think I saw the jacket you are copying and this might be cuter.
3/21/05 7:27 PM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Wow, very smart jacket. Feminine, pretty and classy.
3/21/05 7:26 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow! I LOVE your jacket. I was going to buy this pattern a long time ago, but never did. Now, I will have to, after see your gorgeous creation!!
3/21/05 7:15 PM
PVA said...
You had me going there for a minute -- I looked at your photo, then the pattern pics & was positive you'd linked the wrong pattern. Went back & forth a couple of times, shook my head, then started reading the review & had an "Ah ha" moment! I *Love* the jacket, it is so creative! The color is lucious & your design elements (including the long fringe) make it a smash hit! Beautifully done!
3/21/05 6:57 PM
mamafitz said...
lovely lovely jacket. great color and love the ribbon ties.
3/21/05 6:56 PM
PVA said...
You had me going there for a minute -- I looked at your photo, then the pattern pics & was positive you'd linked the wrong pattern. Went back & forth a couple of times, shook my head, then started reading the review & had an "Ah-ha" moment! I *Love* the jacket, it is so creative! The color is lucious & your design elements (including the long fringe) make it a smash hit! Beautifully done!
3/21/05 6:56 PM
Tiner W said...
That's beautiful! I'm just dying to make one of these.
3/21/05 6:32 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Very pretty!
3/21/05 6:30 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Fabulous Fabulous Fabulous. I love all of the extra details you added, and the fit you achieved is terrific. I have to admit that I'm not a fan of this current rage, but your lovely creation has me rethinking that opinion! When is the next Vogue pattern sale anyway.....
3/21/05 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very creative adaptation of a basic pattern. It is just lovely. You must have phenomenal patience to match the plaids so perfectly at the sleeve and lapel.
3/21/05 5:43 PM
seKimberlyso said...
7 X Wow=great job!
3/21/05 5:33 PM
BjP said...
This is truly a lovely jacket....great job with your design changes! I really love everything about it.
3/21/05 5:23 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is very adorable and look how beautifully you matched the plaid at the sleeves. Wow.
3/21/05 5:19 PM
Teri said...
Wow! Very high-end RTW looking.
3/21/05 5:08 PM
Debra H said...
I have tried scanning in the catalog picture, but it is just too small to see the details. It was a recent Bloomingdale's spring catalog.
3/21/05 5:07 PM
Ying said...
Wonderful jacket! It is simply beautiful. Your review is getting me to consider making a jacket, something I don't think I'm up for right now. Love the jacket details and wish I could see a photo of the high-end catalogue.
3/21/05 5:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 9107

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8565

photo
by: SusanPartl...

Review