SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3334 (Misses Jackets)

21 more reviews
Viewed 491 times 
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 143
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 76 people
patterns reviewed: 134
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/13 5:29 PM
Last Updated:5/26/13 7:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudyMac said...
I've made this twice--once out of ponte and once out of a woven with no stretch. I agree with your observation about the armscye--couldn't raise my arms in the tweed woven.
5/26/13 7:17 PM
Aixoise said...
My, you certainly are prolific! I'm enjoying your reviews. Your comments on this jacket are very helpful: use softer fabric, lengthen sleeves (I'm with you - I like them at least wrist length), adjust armscyes. When I make up this pattern, I'll refer to your review. That said, your jacket looks good on you, and your sewing is impeccable. Thanks for the review!
5/26/13 7:21 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty jacket and it looks great on you.
5/26/13 7:33 PM
cleverkitty said...
My only break from the kitchen today is reading your reviews, good for you sewing up a storm this holiday weekend, come Tuesday I will be ready to turn my spatula in for scissors. I think this little jacket you made would look excellent with a dress. I can't remember if I have this pattern or I need to get it. I really like it. The sleeve length does emphasize your waist, does a celery figure need this? Yes!
5/26/13 8:23 PM
Jrhee said...
Adorable, flattering, pretty little jacket!
5/26/13 8:41 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I think it's cute on you Barb. If you dislike the sleeve length, what about shortening or cuffing them?
5/26/13 11:03 PM
HeidiBaccal said...
Finally something periwinkle! The collar is especially nice.
5/26/13 11:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Ichabod Crane??? :o))) I DON'T THINK SO! When I saw you in this jacket, I thought, man, this is PERFECT! The fit is RIGHT ON, and it's SO flattering. Maybe the armholes FEEL too low, but they don't look at it all. It's so funny, too, because just a few minutes ago, a friend of mine and I were emailing about this pattern. We both love it. :o)
5/27/13 0:08 AM
Dilliander said...
Barb, it looks great and is a very flattering style! The armscye problem sounds like it is the pattern drafting if JudyMac had the same issue. Hope you make it again with the sleeve length you prefer as the fit is lovely on you.
5/27/13 0:27 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. I have this in my line up. I will definitely be making a muslin after your experience with the armscye. Thanks.
5/27/13 0:27 AM
Renata said...
Gorgeous colour and it looks nice on you, despite all the problems you seemed to have with it. Funny how sometimes you can make a garment and not be happy with it, yet everyone else sees it differently.
5/27/13 2:28 AM
BeaJay said...
Your jacket looks great. Very pretty colour. I just purchased this pattern so thank you for the review.
5/27/13 3:08 AM
wildberrymom said...
Love the color, design and fit--beautiful jacket!
5/27/13 3:51 AM
liliv said...
I love it! Interesting idea to make of denim this feminine and ladylike jacket, it looks unique and sure very stylish!
5/27/13 5:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
You just need a sheath dress and a pair of pearls with this-beautiful jacket!
5/27/13 7:23 AM
CSM--Carla said...
I agree with the above comment! Try it with a dress or some different tops! So cute on you!
5/27/13 8:51 AM
marec said...
Barb, this looks really nice, and would be great paired with a dress. The issues you have pointed out are easily remedied by you in your next version (hint, hint). The shawl collar looks wonderful on you-that is a design feature to visit again. NICE :-)
5/27/13 10:21 AM
Nancywin said...
Pretty jacket, Barb. You may want to consider shortening the sleeves to 3/4 length since there is no way to lengthen them.
5/27/13 11:33 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I love your reviews! I do like this jacket on you. I actually have this pattern too and have not made it. I'll try to remember the armscye info.
5/27/13 6:08 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I'm with the rest of the gang. It's really a great jacket. The lapel shapeis so flattering on you. I've completely overlooked this pattern until now, so thanks!
5/27/13 8:28 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your jacket is very nice! No Ichabod Crane resemblance at all!
5/27/13 9:01 PM
Mushywear said...
Great review, and very helpful to know about the armscye issue.
5/28/13 1:58 AM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous!!! Could not believe I read you didn't like this! So next time, you will raise the armscye, lengthen the sleeve and get a nice ponte knit :) Can't wait to see the next one!!
5/28/13 9:30 PM
21wale said...
I think it's pretty. I especially like the collar and the princess seams.
5/30/13 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now