Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3334 (Misses Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 451 times 21 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/26/13 5:29 PM
Last Updated:5/26/13 7:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JudyMac said...
I've made this twice--once out of ponte and once out of a woven with no stretch. I agree with your observation about the armscye--couldn't raise my arms in the tweed woven.
5/26/13 7:17 PM
Aixoise said...
My, you certainly are prolific! I'm enjoying your reviews. Your comments on this jacket are very helpful: use softer fabric, lengthen sleeves (I'm with you - I like them at least wrist length), adjust armscyes. When I make up this pattern, I'll refer to your review. That said, your jacket looks good on you, and your sewing is impeccable. Thanks for the review!
5/26/13 7:21 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a pretty jacket and it looks great on you.
5/26/13 7:33 PM
cleverkitty said...
My only break from the kitchen today is reading your reviews, good for you sewing up a storm this holiday weekend, come Tuesday I will be ready to turn my spatula in for scissors. I think this little jacket you made would look excellent with a dress. I can't remember if I have this pattern or I need to get it. I really like it. The sleeve length does emphasize your waist, does a celery figure need this? Yes!
5/26/13 8:23 PM
Jrhee said...
Adorable, flattering, pretty little jacket!
5/26/13 8:41 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I think it's cute on you Barb. If you dislike the sleeve length, what about shortening or cuffing them?
5/26/13 11:03 PM
HeidiBaccal said...
Finally something periwinkle! The collar is especially nice.
5/26/13 11:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Ichabod Crane??? :o))) I DON'T THINK SO! When I saw you in this jacket, I thought, man, this is PERFECT! The fit is RIGHT ON, and it's SO flattering. Maybe the armholes FEEL too low, but they don't look at it all. It's so funny, too, because just a few minutes ago, a friend of mine and I were emailing about this pattern. We both love it. :o)
5/27/13 0:08 AM
Dilliander said...
Barb, it looks great and is a very flattering style! The armscye problem sounds like it is the pattern drafting if JudyMac had the same issue. Hope you make it again with the sleeve length you prefer as the fit is lovely on you.
5/27/13 0:27 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Thanks for the review. I have this in my line up. I will definitely be making a muslin after your experience with the armscye. Thanks.
5/27/13 0:27 AM
Renata said...
Gorgeous colour and it looks nice on you, despite all the problems you seemed to have with it. Funny how sometimes you can make a garment and not be happy with it, yet everyone else sees it differently.
5/27/13 2:28 AM
BeaJay said...
Your jacket looks great. Very pretty colour. I just purchased this pattern so thank you for the review.
5/27/13 3:08 AM
wildberrymom said...
Love the color, design and fit--beautiful jacket!
5/27/13 3:51 AM
liliv said...
I love it! Interesting idea to make of denim this feminine and ladylike jacket, it looks unique and sure very stylish!
5/27/13 5:28 AM
mssewcrazy said...
You just need a sheath dress and a pair of pearls with this-beautiful jacket!
5/27/13 7:23 AM
CSM--Carla said...
I agree with the above comment! Try it with a dress or some different tops! So cute on you!
5/27/13 8:51 AM
marec said...
Barb, this looks really nice, and would be great paired with a dress. The issues you have pointed out are easily remedied by you in your next version (hint, hint). The shawl collar looks wonderful on you-that is a design feature to visit again. NICE :-)
5/27/13 10:21 AM
Nancywin said...
Pretty jacket, Barb. You may want to consider shortening the sleeves to 3/4 length since there is no way to lengthen them.
5/27/13 11:33 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I love your reviews! I do like this jacket on you. I actually have this pattern too and have not made it. I'll try to remember the armscye info.
5/27/13 6:08 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
I'm with the rest of the gang. It's really a great jacket. The lapel shapeis so flattering on you. I've completely overlooked this pattern until now, so thanks!
5/27/13 8:28 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your jacket is very nice! No Ichabod Crane resemblance at all!
5/27/13 9:01 PM
Mushywear said...
Great review, and very helpful to know about the armscye issue.
5/28/13 1:58 AM
AuntieShel said...
Fabulous!!! Could not believe I read you didn't like this! So next time, you will raise the armscye, lengthen the sleeve and get a nice ponte knit :) Can't wait to see the next one!!
5/28/13 9:30 PM
21wale said...
I think it's pretty. I especially like the collar and the princess seams.
5/30/13 11:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6127 Misses Top
photo
Review by SteffieMar... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6598
photo
Review by Lizz on 6/27/13
Read Review

New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9732 Pattern
Burda 9732 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us