SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6185 (Misses Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 634 times 
Reviewed by:imsewcrazy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About imsewcrazystarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/10/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 157 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/13 8:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
imsewcrazy said...
Moniquethomas- Are you still planning on using a rayon challis or cotton sateen? I used a knit so I usually go down a size when the pattern is not specifically made for knit.
10/5/14 9:13 AM
moniquethomas said...
I forgot to ask in my previous question, how you found the sizing? I've found with so many of the New Look patterns that they're so big when I go off the measurements on the envelope. I can see this dress has about 7" of ease. Did you go down a size or two or did you go off the envelope measurements? Thanks.
10/3/14 10:59 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Shaptavajra - I used the instructions on the pattern. Please send me a message and let me know where you're having trouble and I'll help you though it.
8/12/14 9:32 PM
Shaptavajra said...
Hi, I just tried to make this and totally messed up the collar at the last minute. This went from being a dress I hoped to wear to work during the hot summer, to a dress at best for kicking around the house or staying in the neighborhood. Can you tell me how you did the neck band? The directions confused me greatly.
8/6/14 3:56 PM
Shaptavajra said...
Hi, I just tried to make this and totally messed up the collar at the last minute. This went from being a dress I hoped to wear to work during the hot summer, to a dress at best for kicking around the house or staying in the neighborhood. Can you tell me how you did the neck band? The directions confused me greatly.
8/6/14 3:56 PM
Shaptavajra said...
Hi, I just tried to make this and totally messed up the collar at the last minute. This went from being a dress I hoped to wear to work during the hot summer, to a dress at best for kicking around the house or staying in the neighborhood. Can you tell me how you did the neck band? The directions confused me greatly.
8/6/14 3:56 PM
Shaptavajra said...
Hi, I just tried to make this and totally messed up the collar at the last minute. This went from being a dress I hoped to wear to work during the hot summer, to a dress at best for kicking around the house or staying in the neighborhood. Can you tell me how you did the neck band? The directions confused me greatly.
8/6/14 3:56 PM
Shaptavajra said...
Hi, I just tried to make this and totally messed up the collar at the last minute. This went from being a dress I hoped to wear to work during the hot summer, to a dress at best for kicking around the house or staying in the neighborhood. Can you tell me how you did the neck band? The directions confused me greatly.
8/6/14 3:56 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Moniquethomas-Yes it does have pockets! And they sit well. I plan on making more. Your fabric choices sounds great. I hope you have great success with this pattern.
2/25/14 10:47 PM
moniquethomas said...
Lovely dress. I have just ordered this pattern (yet to receive it) as I liked the simple style of this and the fact it has no zips or buttonholes. It looks like it has pockets but it doesn't say that on the pattern description. However, I note a few comments mention the pockets. Does it have pockets? If so, do you find they sit well? I don't want it to make me look more 'hippy'. Love your fabric choice. I'm thinking of using either a rayon challis (Anne Maria Horner) or an Amy Butler cotton sateen that I bought for another dress but I didn't end up buying the pattern.
2/23/14 3:31 AM
RatRace said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress. Thanks for sharing.
7/9/13 0:11 AM
Sheila457 said...
That dress looks fabulous on you... love the print.
6/6/13 2:16 PM
SewWil said...
Super cute dress! Great fabric choice for this pattern.
6/4/13 8:18 PM
buckarina said...
Love this look - great fabric choice and happy accident on the bottom border!
5/29/13 11:32 AM
CissieW said...
Another winner! Perfect fabric for that pattern.
5/29/13 11:19 AM
Levone said...
Love your dress!
5/29/13 9:58 AM
Grandmomof7boys said...
I agree with el-in-or. I wouldn't have been interested in this pattern. Your version is so much more fashionable than the picture on the pattern envelope.
5/29/13 7:43 AM
Lori V said...
I love this dress on you, it looks incredible.
5/29/13 7:27 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very cute! I love your version better!
5/29/13 7:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute dress and pockets are a nice extra feature! Love the fabric.
5/29/13 5:20 AM
mnitts said...
Beautiful fabric makes this plain pattern sing! Congrats you look fab.
5/29/13 3:16 AM
CynthiaSue said...
You make this sack dress look couture! Love it. Fabulous fabric pick.
5/29/13 2:59 AM
ell-in-or said...
The pattern drawing looks a bit boring - not sure I'd look twice at the pattern, but your fabric choice really puts the WOW in it. Great job. :) Plus - it's awesome that it has pockets.
5/29/13 1:26 AM
cmcarr said...
Your work is beautiful and such lovely fabric.
5/29/13 0:48 AM
Living Beauty said...
WOW!
5/29/13 0:03 AM
TinaMc said...
I love the way this looks on you and I agree with ArtAttack, the fabric is what makes it really something special. Beautiful.
5/28/13 10:05 PM
ArtAttack said...
Outstanding!! You find the most fabulous fabrics that bump your beautiful work and pattern choices up to a completely different level! Love it!
5/28/13 9:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

McCall's 8525

photo
by: Graca

Review
Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: trinicity

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now