SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 2447 (Men's Shirt, Vest, and Ties)

28 more reviews
Viewed 153 times 
Reviewed by:Manalto
photo

 
 
About Manaltostar
Member since: 5/29/08
Reviews written: 20
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/13 8:45 PM
Last Updated:6/9/13 8:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
Ah, nothing like a well-sewn men's shirt. Your work is impressive and the soft fabric so inviting. There is such a shortage of men's patterns but you've taken one of the few and made a garment that looks like it's tailor-made. I also like those basic macines. No need for kittens at my house.
6/11/13 3:54 PM
Manalto said...
Dear RLL, I have only vintage machines; the newest one is a Viking 6570 from the 1970s and the oldest one is a Wheeler & Wilson from the 1870s. They all will sew. My go-to machines are the Necchi BU, Singer 401 and the Viking when a free-arm is called for. Not only are they aesthetically more pleasing to me than the modern plastic machines (except for the fugly Viking), but I feel more comfortable using a simpler machine that I can trouble-shoot, oil and adjust. None of them can embroider baskets of kittens or has a "Bobbin Low" alarm, but I seem to be coping.
6/11/13 4:44 AM
RLL said...
Nice looking shirt. I like natural muslin myself. I use this pattern all the time for my hubby's dress shirts. I agree about the pocket being too big and I ended up using one from another shirt....keep a copy in the pattern envelope now. I like the collar size but you could always cut it down some for your liking. You have quite a nice collection of old machines . Do you work on them as well as collect?
6/10/13 3:35 PM
Manalto said...
Dear arianamaniacs, I actually used muslin. It looks wrinkled like linen because I washed and didn't iron it for that photo. The other photo of the collar up close shows it starched and ironed. I didn't get the fabric at JoAnns, but bought a 100-yard bolt online for .50/yd. It was a gamble, but I lucked out. It's slightly more substantial than most muslins I've seen. I wouldn't say it's cozy and soft the way flannel is, but comfortable like an old-fashioned 100% cotton bed sheet.
6/10/13 12:15 PM
Elke said...
Very nice shirt and it looks terrific on you! Thanks for a great review!
6/10/13 7:46 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Great looking shirt! Are you actually using muslin or linen? The muslins I've seen at JoAnns for example aren't that cozy or soft. Good call on ditching the hand-sewing, I hate that too. Especially in cases where it's not necessary
6/10/13 4:14 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now