SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

164 more reviews
Viewed 539 times 
Reviewed by:meggipeg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About meggipeg
Member since: 11/11/11
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 78
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:6/19/13 10:11 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rpilver said...
Gorgeous
3/23/14 7:57 AM
Dilliander said...
How did I miss this review, these look fabulous! Hope you are enjoying wearing them.
6/21/13 4:26 AM
meggipeg said...
Thanks for all the thought-provoking comments. I have just posted an answer on my blog, but will repeat some of it here. I think the crotch alteration I did with the floral pants kind of lifts and separates the butt (sounds terrible - sorry), whereas the original Jalie curve allows for more sag in that area. The actual size of the jeans probably hasn't really changed, it's just the way they flatter the body. The floral jeans certainly feel just as comfortable to wear as the Jalies (I will not sacrifice comfort for fashion - well not in this instance anyway!). RenRen, The pattern comparison does not take into account the yoke on the Jalies, which adds quite a bit of height to its centre back. (Also, Truffle is often mistaken for a Portuguese water dog but is actually a cavoodle - cavalier x poodle). Possibly a fuller butt than mine would require jeans that are a bit higher at the back waist than the floral jeans, so the addition of the Jalie yoke, or a higher waistline with darts, may help things there. I'm just so happy to talk crotch curves with so many like-minded people. I love this website!
6/20/13 10:34 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Ren ren kind of answered my question I posted on your blog. I love your floral jeans and thie fit is perfect. from the front and especially in the back. They look very comfortable. Thanks for the review.
6/20/13 3:55 PM
Renren said...
The comparison of the Jalie jean and RTW jean makes it quite evident that RTW is giving you more room in the tush. That extended CB also means you won't get "plumber's butt." I would have said the Jalie jeans fit well until I compared the back view of the floral jeans. It's obvious that the Jalie jeans are "cutting off" a bit and constraining the natural curvature. I noticed this happening on a pair of loungewear pants I made recently--a drop in the CB and a constrained feeling near the tailbone where the crotch curve was being a little too abrupt. I shall steal your ideas! Oh, by the way, I love your floral jeans. I'm glad Truffle got a dip--I thought he looked like a water dog with, perhaps, a bit of Newfoundland. Thanks for the "coverage" on this crotch curve issue.
6/20/13 10:53 AM
marec said...
These are so wonderful-your hard work is evident.
6/20/13 10:24 AM
Sue Parrott said...
SO CUTE
6/20/13 9:40 AM
Levone said...
Great looking jeans!
6/20/13 9:29 AM
caper81 said...
These jeans are fantastic!! The floral print is so cute and they fit you so well!! :)
6/20/13 9:12 AM
CissieW said...
Love these pants on you! I've been wanted printed jeans ever since I saw a pair last year at Saks for $995!!! Yours inspire me!
6/20/13 9:12 AM
MrsCharisma said...
I LOVE floral patterned pants. So stylish and very well fitting!
6/20/13 9:06 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
I love your jeans in the floral!
6/20/13 8:05 AM
JEF said...
Excellent helpful review and very awesome jeans!
6/20/13 8:03 AM
Lori V said...
Love these jeans, great fabric.
6/20/13 7:12 AM
ggf2005 said...
Cutest jeans ever!
6/20/13 1:27 AM
sfshaza said...
Really really cute! That comparison of the crotch curve with your well fitting RTW jeans is fascinating.
6/19/13 11:31 PM
dingyadi said...
Fantastic! Love them.
6/19/13 11:29 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love you jeans. The fabric is wonderful. You achieved a great fit.
6/19/13 11:16 PM
ArtAttack said...
These are adorable in this print! Great job...
6/19/13 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 3786

photo
by: cocosloft

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now