SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4509 (Run Away Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 366 times 
Reviewed by:SquishSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SquishSewsstar
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/22/13 11:09 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pj3g said...
Very thorough review! Would love to see it!
6/22/13 6:52 AM
Diane333 said...
I too would LOVE to see the picture.
6/22/13 7:00 AM
JEF said...
:) Glad the binding method worked for you! Yep, we all want pics. I can't wait the see the extra 50s vibe you describe.
6/22/13 7:28 AM
SquishSews said...
I submitted a link to my flickr page, but I was testing Deepika's new image thing and couldn't make it work. For now, you can copy paste this URL http://www.flickr.com/photos/squishsews/sets/72157634254199003/
6/22/13 10:33 PM
SquishSews said...
Oooh, when I click edit review (I saw some typos; hangs head in shame) - the links and image options were available and working! You have pics now.... :-)
6/22/13 11:10 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Good points on the way to wear it. I think you made a good choice having the ties at the back.
6/23/13 10:54 AM
marec said...
This is such a helpful review-thanks for the clear analysis of the pattern. Cute details and terrific modifications to make this work for you.
6/23/13 12:00 PM
oldpatterns said...
Interesting variation on the Butterick Walkaway dress from the 50's and it's 1960s variations. The same issues you have with is as a wearablitiy are present in the dress it is based on. Great sewing job.
7/9/13 8:18 AM
Ashford said...
I had all the beginner problems you mentioned -binding, ties, and sleeves. I wrote to Silhouette Patterns and told them that more instruction was needed for beginners. I got a thank you as a reply. I do not think they will invest the time to make the changes. I could be wrong. I agree; the dress is very comfortable in the hot climate. I like your fabric choice and the pockets.
8/23/13 6:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6606

photo
by: Sewlful

Review