SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 4509 (Run Away Dress)

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 410 times 
Reviewed by:SquishSews
Friend of PR

About SquishSewsstar
Member since: 1/18/09
Reviews: 10 (patterns: 9)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/13 11:31 PM
Last Updated:6/22/13 11:09 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
snipsnip said... (9/17/15 9:35 AM) Reply
This looks great on you, and I love the contrasting trim work! Thanks for the review.
Ashford said... (8/23/13 6:36 PM) Reply
I had all the beginner problems you mentioned -binding, ties, and sleeves. I wrote to Silhouette Patterns and told them that more instruction was needed for beginners. I got a thank you as a reply. I do not think they will invest the time to make the changes. I could be wrong. I agree; the dress is very comfortable in the hot climate. I like your fabric choice and the pockets.
oldpatterns said... (7/9/13 8:18 AM) Reply
Interesting variation on the Butterick Walkaway dress from the 50's and it's 1960s variations. The same issues you have with is as a wearablitiy are present in the dress it is based on. Great sewing job.
marec said... (6/23/13 12:00 PM) Reply
This is such a helpful review-thanks for the clear analysis of the pattern. Cute details and terrific modifications to make this work for you.
Sew Whatever said... (6/23/13 10:54 AM) Reply
Good points on the way to wear it. I think you made a good choice having the ties at the back.
SquishSews said... (6/22/13 11:10 PM) Reply
Oooh, when I click edit review (I saw some typos; hangs head in shame) - the links and image options were available and working! You have pics now.... :-)
SquishSews said... (6/22/13 10:33 PM) Reply
I submitted a link to my flickr page, but I was testing Deepika's new image thing and couldn't make it work. For now, you can copy paste this URL
JEF said... (6/22/13 7:28 AM) Reply
:) Glad the binding method worked for you! Yep, we all want pics. I can't wait the see the extra 50s vibe you describe.
Diane333 said... (6/22/13 7:00 AM) Reply
I too would LOVE to see the picture.
Pj3g said... (6/22/13 6:52 AM) Reply
Very thorough review! Would love to see it!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member