SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3790 (Misses Knit Tops)

28 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 334 times 
Reviewed by:Passion4Sewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Passion4Sewingstarstarstar
SC USA
Member since: 9/21/08
Reviews written: 225
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 191
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/13 0:33 AM
Last Updated:5/20/14 1:53 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 3790 by Passion4Sewing

  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 3790
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Nylon Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
I made a gray tank to go with the Lekala skirt I made. I found this pattern lurking in my patterns and decided it would work. I remembered when I made it before, it JUST fit, no ease. So, when I cut it out, I cut the front piece with and extra 2" (1" on fold) and just gathered more to yoke. I made an inverted "V" addition in the back, grading from nothing at the top to 2" (1" on fold) at the bottom. I am very pleased with the results. Very easy top to make.


Pattern Description:
6 made easy tops. I chose view E.

Pattern Sizing:

Multi-sized pattern. I used a size20, which should have worked. It seemed smaller than shown o envelope. Other reviews have said it ran large. Maybe it is the fabric I used, but it doesn't have the drapey flow of the pattern jacket picture.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

It sort of did. See comments above.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

I glanced at them but made the top my own way. I feel like the directions given for the band were rather fussier than they needed to be.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

I wanted an easy, drapey top to use my patriotic fabric I have had for years.It is definitely an easy pattern. Just cut too small to be drapey.

Fabric Used:

I have had this for a few years. I think it is a nylon knit. It has the texture of inexpensive leotards. But I loved the print. Just right for the 4th of July.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I lengthened the top about 1-1/2".

When I made the band, I stitched the band pieces together per instructions. Then I serged the inside edge. I attached the band to front, then stitched in the ditch. That seemed easier to me than the way described in instructions.

Also. instead of stitching up side, then hemming armhole, I stitched shoulders, then hemmed the armhole. I made the side seam last as in RTW and stitched the serged edge down.

top view underarm

back of top

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

I like how quickly it sewed up. If I make it again, I will make a larger size and use a knit with more stretch.

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
fun fabric. have you enough to add a bit at the sides? perhaps it could be made to look like a planned side panel?
7/4/13 5:47 AM
Danmar said...
Your top looks good!
7/5/13 10:14 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Cute, I love the fabric, adorable!
7/5/13 10:46 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Very nice. I have this pattern and never noticed this updated tank in there. Thanks for all the fit tips.
5/20/14 7:22 PM
Kathy Russell said...
Very flattering top.
5/24/14 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Pamela's Patterns #104

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now