Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
No Pattern Used: Luly Yang (Blue Monarch Dress for Barbie) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 498 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 175
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 168
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/13 6:17 PM
Last Updated:7/13/13 6:32 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CTBarb said...
Sorry duplicate post.
7/11/13 4:44 PM
CTBarb said...
Wow! Spectacular! Did you do only one layer of wings as a choice? Will you do more on your dress? I like the layered wing look. You always amaze me with the design elements you create on your garments.
7/11/13 4:44 PM
krafts said...
Wonderful!
7/11/13 5:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
It's still a WIP. I'm currently working on the tulle. I couldn't wait for the second row of wings to dry, I wanted to forge ahead :)
7/11/13 5:37 PM
annakeeton said...
Looking forward to seeing your eventual final dress. The Barbie version is stunning with the hand-painted wings.
7/12/13 8:09 AM
caper81 said...
Really cool! Ah Barbie, brings back memories! :) Can't wait to see your "real life" version :D
7/12/13 8:11 AM
birdmcfarland said...
As an insect lover and biologist, that dress just blew me away when I saw it. This is absolutely adorable. I am really looking forward to the seeing the real thing!
7/12/13 8:36 AM
Morisot said...
Oh wow. That's beautiful. (I think your Barbie dress is prettier!)
7/12/13 9:52 AM
grey ann said...
Just gorgeous. Can't wait to see your full-size one!
7/12/13 10:43 AM
OceanSew said...
Fabulous! All the other Barbies will be insanely jealous.
7/12/13 12:28 PM
Margaret said...
Wow! This is really pretty! The painted wings are gorgeous! I wonder if bias-cutting the chiffon layer might help it gather or drape better, if you haven't tried that already? (On the other hand, I could see how given Barbie's measurements, a circular cut might really be the only way to fit her waist without a lot of bulk....)
7/12/13 4:16 PM
Texahoma said...
I had never heard of this designer or her monarch dress( I don't get out much). Now I want to know as much as I can about her beautiful work. Your Barbie dress is a work of art that does justice to the inspiration. Bravo!
7/13/13 7:05 PM
guillorypr said...
Oh, I LOVE making cool Barbie clothes! Thanks for posting!
7/13/13 7:06 PM
PattyE said...
The Luly Yang dress is TDF...can't wait to see your big version. Your Barbie must be over-the-moon with her new dress!
7/14/13 0:29 AM
beanchor said...
This is insanity! I love it!
7/14/13 1:09 AM
Karen R said...
Wow, that is a stunning dress you have created for Barbie, I am also looking forward to seeing the larger version
7/14/13 2:23 AM
Samantha82 said...
Great job, it looks fabulous! Also thank you for the link to the free Barbie pattern.
7/14/13 10:53 AM
JOshiro said...
Oh, my goodness! What a great homage.
7/14/13 3:07 PM
Stitching fairy said...
Wow!!!! My jaw dropped open when I saw this fabulous dress, you even painted the fabric, double wow!!! Can't wait to see the full sized version as this one is fantastic.
7/18/13 5:56 AM
KathySews said...
this is fantastic
7/19/13 9:11 AM
Dale C said...
Cool! I just started helping my daughter with cosplay items for her BJD and we're having a great time designing stuff. She just went with her doll (and friends) to the anime expo in LA as characters from Magi. I don't know the anime, but I do enjoy helping her make the cosplay. Looking forward to seeing YOUR finished dress too!
7/19/13 5:53 PM
BlossomKyle said...
Barbie never looked so good! GREAT job!!
7/21/13 8:01 PM
Mc Donna said...
I am in awe! Thank you for sharing your very helpful review with us.
12/11/13 8:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Sew Liberated N103
photo
Review by gameCoder on 12/14/08
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Woodland stroll cape Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Coin Purse
You Sew Girl Coin Purse

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

KnipMode Magazine 06-2011-06 Dress
photo
Review by treefrog on 7/19/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0114 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3847 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us