SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> Luly Yang (Blue Monarch Dress for Barbie)

Viewed 502 times 
Reviewed by:arianamaniacs
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About arianamaniacsstarstarstarstar
NA AUSTRIA
Member since: 6/11/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/13/13 6:17 PM
Last Updated:7/13/13 6:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CTBarb said...
Sorry duplicate post.
7/11/13 4:44 PM
CTBarb said...
Wow! Spectacular! Did you do only one layer of wings as a choice? Will you do more on your dress? I like the layered wing look. You always amaze me with the design elements you create on your garments.
7/11/13 4:44 PM
krafts said...
Wonderful!
7/11/13 5:05 PM
arianamaniacs said...
It's still a WIP. I'm currently working on the tulle. I couldn't wait for the second row of wings to dry, I wanted to forge ahead :)
7/11/13 5:37 PM
annakeeton said...
Looking forward to seeing your eventual final dress. The Barbie version is stunning with the hand-painted wings.
7/12/13 8:09 AM
caper81 said...
Really cool! Ah Barbie, brings back memories! :) Can't wait to see your "real life" version :D
7/12/13 8:11 AM
birdmcfarland said...
As an insect lover and biologist, that dress just blew me away when I saw it. This is absolutely adorable. I am really looking forward to the seeing the real thing!
7/12/13 8:36 AM
Morisot said...
Oh wow. That's beautiful. (I think your Barbie dress is prettier!)
7/12/13 9:52 AM
grey ann said...
Just gorgeous. Can't wait to see your full-size one!
7/12/13 10:43 AM
OceanSew said...
Fabulous! All the other Barbies will be insanely jealous.
7/12/13 12:28 PM
Margaret said...
Wow! This is really pretty! The painted wings are gorgeous! I wonder if bias-cutting the chiffon layer might help it gather or drape better, if you haven't tried that already? (On the other hand, I could see how given Barbie's measurements, a circular cut might really be the only way to fit her waist without a lot of bulk....)
7/12/13 4:16 PM
Texahoma said...
I had never heard of this designer or her monarch dress( I don't get out much). Now I want to know as much as I can about her beautiful work. Your Barbie dress is a work of art that does justice to the inspiration. Bravo!
7/13/13 7:05 PM
guillorypr said...
Oh, I LOVE making cool Barbie clothes! Thanks for posting!
7/13/13 7:06 PM
PattyE said...
The Luly Yang dress is TDF...can't wait to see your big version. Your Barbie must be over-the-moon with her new dress!
7/14/13 0:29 AM
beanchor said...
This is insanity! I love it!
7/14/13 1:09 AM
Karen R said...
Wow, that is a stunning dress you have created for Barbie, I am also looking forward to seeing the larger version
7/14/13 2:23 AM
Samantha82 said...
Great job, it looks fabulous! Also thank you for the link to the free Barbie pattern.
7/14/13 10:53 AM
JOshiro said...
Oh, my goodness! What a great homage.
7/14/13 3:07 PM
Stitching fairy said...
Wow!!!! My jaw dropped open when I saw this fabulous dress, you even painted the fabric, double wow!!! Can't wait to see the full sized version as this one is fantastic.
7/18/13 5:56 AM
KathySews said...
this is fantastic
7/19/13 9:11 AM
Dale C said...
Cool! I just started helping my daughter with cosplay items for her BJD and we're having a great time designing stuff. She just went with her doll (and friends) to the anime expo in LA as characters from Magi. I don't know the anime, but I do enjoy helping her make the cosplay. Looking forward to seeing YOUR finished dress too!
7/19/13 5:53 PM
BlossomKyle said...
Barbie never looked so good! GREAT job!!
7/21/13 8:01 PM
Mc Donna said...
I am in awe! Thank you for sharing your very helpful review with us.
12/11/13 8:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 1060

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1288

photo
by: 1SewSweet

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now