Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8860 (Shirt/blouse) - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 350 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 154
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 112
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/13 2:09 AM
Last Updated:7/12/13 5:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mm said...
Another fine shirt. What is the hand like on your Liberty fabric? I bought some recently, having not bought any for many years, and was disappointed by the quality. If yours is old Liberty, treasure it.
7/12/13 4:23 AM
FreyaStark said...
An interesting comment, mm. Liberty's lawn does seem thin these days but still acceptable quality. I don't have any really old pieces; mine have all been acquired in the past decade. An exception is the fabric of two Liberty blouses I made for my mother in the nineties (and still have). The fabric of those does seem sturdier, but it is difficult to be sure.
7/12/13 4:49 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Love the comment 'photographed very cunningly to avoid looking dreadful.' How many of us have done that! Glad you were able to adjust this version to a fit you like.
7/12/13 6:00 AM
JanieBee said...
Beautiful work! Perfect fit!
7/12/13 6:23 AM
Maree P said...
Lovely sewing Freya. I like the colours in the fabric.
7/12/13 6:39 AM
Christas said...
It looks like you definitely have a TNT blouse pattern with your adjustments to this one. The Liberty print is very pretty and your blouse fits you wonderfully!
7/12/13 8:26 AM
Mufffet said...
Really nice - great fit!
7/12/13 10:25 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely shirt - Liberty fabric is such a joy to work with.
7/12/13 10:39 AM
MNBarb said...
I always wonder why classic patterns like this go OOP. I love your description of the fabric and the gravity comment, it just happens, doesn't it? You are the top shirt maker. This one is perfect.
7/12/13 1:26 PM
Renren said...
Long live Liberty of London! Long live FreyaStark and her mad shirtmaking skilz!!!
7/12/13 1:29 PM
Zoomitron said...
I look forward to your reviews, they are always helpful, and entertaining. I too have the "gravity" issue, my dress form is pretty close to my size except for the perkiness, and I can't change that part of her. I'm quite sure I was perky 40 years ago. I've always been curious of your name, are you related to the very famous Freya Stark? Thanks again for the sewing inspirations.
7/12/13 6:05 PM
carolynw said...
Looks so nice - where will you be off to with this shirt. Canada maybe - then I could steal it and many other of your shirts
7/12/13 7:51 PM
Dilliander said...
Your adjustments have made this the perfect TnT, its lovely!
7/13/13 0:21 AM
Heatherrique said...
Impressive work on your Liberty of London shirt. I appreciate your review, and especially the details on your alterations. Nicely tailored and very flattering.
7/13/13 8:06 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
So glad you finally made this fabric. It's a beautiful blouse!
7/13/13 8:49 AM
marec said...
A gorgeous shirt, especially with the Liberty of London fabric. As always, I learn something new when reading your reviews.
7/13/13 4:08 PM
wildberrymom said...
Well, it looks perfect from here--bravo on the fitting.
7/13/13 8:40 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Wow, your work is just impeccable! I love your fit, fabric, everything! Enjoy wearing this!
7/13/13 10:10 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice shirt! I'm glad the fit changes worked well. This certainly looks like a pattern worth making again.
7/14/13 11:35 AM
Quickie said...
I think this is a beautifully made classic shirt
7/14/13 12:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-134 Pyjamas
photo
Review by lara900 on 11/23/09
Read Review

McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 5965 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5947 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5525 Misses' Top
photo
Review by Michelle L on 10/3/10
Read Review

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us