SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3790 (Asymmetric Tops)

14 more reviews
Viewed 583 times 
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 36
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/13 5:03 PM
Last Updated:5/15/14 8:36 AM
Project Photo:Kwik Sew: 3790 by Clareew

  Kwik Sew: 3790 by Clareew  Kwik Sew: 3790 by Clareew  
Pattern Photo:Kwik Sew 3790
Kwik Sew Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags:
Fabric:Cotton-Lycra Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description
Edited to show my latest version where I took a small wedge from the neck, I took in about 1cm at the neck edge tapering to nothing at the armhole. This did the trick in stopping the neck gaping. I also used the Vilene bias tape with the stabilising thread for the neck, shoulders and side seam with the gathers.

Close fitting tops have asymmetrical front neckline finished with facings, front shoulder inset with gathers, and gathers on left front. View A has cap sleeves and armholes are finished with self fabric bindings. View B has dropped shoulders and full length sleeves.

Pattern Sizing
Quite snug, I made the size for my measurements but my fabric was a bit more stretchy. I will go up a size with more rigid fabric.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes, except for my change in length

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Excellent

What I like about the pattern
I like the fact that is light and airy, it feels like a sleeveless vest but covers the shoulders and has a high enough neck to be suitable for work.

Front
I love the asymetric neckline and gathered shoulder. It is similar to a recent BurdaMagazine pattern, but I prefer this one.
I love the side gathering.

Side gathers


What I dislike
The neckline droops a bit, I used binding rather than the facing as reccommended by other reviewers. I have identified a change that will improve this, I think taking a wedge out of the non-gathered neckline will do the trick. I will report back when I have made the next one.

Fabric Used

This is an 'Ugly Fabric' received in an Ugly fabric swap at a meet up of European PR members. It is a fine knit with a fair amount of stretch. I think it has a fair amount of cotton in it. It is very cool to wear.

Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made

  1. -I shortened the pattern by about 3 inches but then removed another 2" when hemming.
  2. -I took the advice of other members and used binding for the neck edge.
  3. -I used clear elastic for the shoulders, side gathers and neck line.
  4. -I allowed extra seam allowance on the gathered seams.


Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I love this top and have worn it as often as I can. I definitely recommend it to others

Conclusion
A brilliant top, cool yet modest
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elke said...
Very pretty top and it looks great on you!
7/16/13 5:42 PM
threaddy said...
Great job! I look forward to making it. Thank you
7/16/13 6:03 PM
carolynw said...
Very pretty and a nice change from the usual neckline for tees. This was an Ugly Fabric - no!
7/16/13 6:56 PM
Renren said...
Very pretty and I adore that fabric!!! Definitely not ugly!!!
7/17/13 1:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
I remember the fabric, it was just ugly in the eyes of the original beholder (personal taste varies). You made a lovely top of it.
7/17/13 2:16 AM
samiroquai said...
Clare, I love what you did with my fabric! It suits you very well!
7/17/13 5:01 AM
suesew4me said...
Definitely not ugly fabric and a lovely style tee
7/17/13 8:30 AM
Margaret said...
Very pretty! I think this fabric looks very nice on you! Taking a wedge out of the neckline sounds like a good idea (I've tried this pattern and had to gather it up a little with elastic thread).
7/17/13 9:54 AM
SewandWeed said...
Trying this pattern for the second time and will use a stabilizer because I think I stretched the neckline on the first shirt. Will also use the binding with double needle cover stitch. Wish I had seen your suggestion about taking out that wedge to tighten things up before I cut. Please do follow up with a report on that tactic.
7/25/13 0:02 AM
sewing for fun said...
I think it's a great summer top and definitely NOT ugly - you lucked out on that fabric :)
7/26/13 11:12 PM
CraftAddict said...
Love!
5/15/14 8:15 AM
HRigg said...
Nice top. Very neat neckline. Thanks for a helpful review. Haven't got into asymmetry but might just give it a go now. Like this pattern.
5/15/14 8:16 AM
redside said...
What an attractive top--thanks for the review!
5/15/14 9:11 AM
HRigg said...
Oh Yes! I like this new photo with the sleeves.
5/15/14 11:40 AM
Jrhee said...
Really cute top! I might have to go pick up this pattern.
5/15/14 11:56 AM
diane s said...
your top looks great, I have this pattern in my stash and need to find it
5/15/14 12:09 PM
supizoo said...
Really lovely. Thanks for the tip on getting the neckline to sit flat; yours is perfect and was one of the first things I noticed!
5/15/14 5:10 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I would love some ugly fabric like yours!!! it turned out great and love the neckline. Very cute and a great fit!
5/15/14 6:27 PM
Dilliander said...
Oh, very nice! This is a favourite pattern of mine too and both tops looks gorgeous on you.
5/15/14 8:30 PM
Quickie said...
Your neckline is impeccable now
5/15/14 11:27 PM
dolcevita said...
Great tops and a brilliant transformation of 'ugly' fabric!
5/16/14 8:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 4401

photo
by: vickyh

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now