Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Ruby Slip (Ruby Slip) thumbsup - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 500 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Dilliander
photo
Friend of PR
About Dillianderstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/28/08
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:7/21/13 4:10 AM
Last Updated:12/11/13 10:39 PM
Project Photo:photo3

Pattern Photo: Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Lace  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
UPDATE: Don't be tempted to use bra straps, the mini shoestring straps suggested in the pattern are soooo much better

The shoestring self filled tubing straps (used on the white slip) are perfect for this pattern whereas the reclaimed bra straps (used on the toile) were not. When worn the adjustable bra straps are both lumpy and bulky. In fact the red slip hasn't been worn because of this problem, whereas the lovely white slip I wear quite often. Apart from the bra straps being thicker and in places doubled over, the lightweight slip doesn't tension the elastic in the way a bra does and the slip is also worn over a bra, making two lots of straps.

Using the bra straps on the wearable toile seemed like a good idea (in part because the shoestring tubes sounded daunting and fiddly) but they are easy to make, especially in the silk as they glide through when turned, so I thought it fair (having mentioned the bra straps in my original review) to post an update... and today I made a matching set of shoestring straps for the red slip.

I've also sourced some silk jersey from Tessuti, and will share the matching panties when they are done.

This really is a fabulous slip pattern and super comfortable with the proper straps.

Pattern Description:

Well drafted luxurious slip with lace (or fabric) cups and bias cut skirt that is surprisingly simple to sew.

Pattern Sizing:

Based on my measurements I cut a 10 and slightly reduced the hip width.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?

Very much.

Were the instructions easy to follow?

The instructions are excellent and there is a detailed sew-along with extra tips as well.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

The style is gorgeous and the (free) pattern very well drafted. All notches match up, it runs true to size and skims the body gracefully.

Fabric Used:

The stunning lace is a gift from a sewing friend and the bodice is Sunsilky, a quality silky lining fabric that has the advantage of being antistatic.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

I did make a wearable muslin before cutting the special lace but surprisingly few adjustments were needed, the only changes being:

* Trim side seams by 0.5cm from waist to hemline
* Shorten length by 2 cm

Construction notes

Sherry, who kindly makes this downloadable pattern available on her website Pattern~Scissors~Cloth, has also shared her expertise in the sew-along with tips and techniques for each step in the construction, which was the main reference I used. The sew-along, and her website in general, is a wonderful go-to resource for industry tricks of the trade.

For the test slip I used reclaimed bra straps (and embellishment) since they were a perfect colour match, but for the special lace I made matching bias shoestring straps, which is what the pattern suggests, and these are ideal.

The baby rolled hem was stay stitched 2 cm from edge (the amount I needed to shorten the slip) then pressed and the hem turned up along the stitch line, edge-stitched in place, trimmed then turned a second time for the final row of stitching. Hemming is left until after the skirt has been hung for a couple of days to allow the bias to drop.

Finished photos

Piecing the lace during construction

Front bodice

Back bodice

Finished slip

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Most definitely. The same pattern makes a lovely cami or summer pyjama top.

Conclusion:

Enticed by the Ruby Sew-Along a couple of years ago and enabled by the most beautiful lace gift (thanks Sigrid) I am delighted with this gorgeous lingerie

... and there's more! There is enough lace remaining to make a matching panty so I'll update the review once these are finished and include a better photo of the finished slip (since it is now late afternoon and the light is fading).

Edited to add: If you are interested in lingerie sewing Sigrid has recently started a new blog called Sewing Lingerie with lots of tutorials and inspiration posts.

thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
well made and great review.
7/21/13 4:38 AM
Sigrid. said...
It's so lovely Sandra, nice to see how you used the lace in this slip. Looks very luxurious and comfortable with the antistatic silky fabric. Beautifully made (as always)
7/21/13 5:42 AM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous slip and the lace is exquisite and so is your beautiful work.
7/21/13 6:13 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Such beautiful work. Than you for the link to this pretty slip.
7/21/13 7:53 AM
Danmar said...
Your stitching is so perfect! Awesome slip. Can I ask how you keep the narrow hem from pulling while you sew? I always end up with a wavy piece on the top. Thanks!
7/21/13 8:05 AM
cleverkitty said...
I can really appreciate this beautiful slip and gorgeous lace, many years ago I use sew Heirloom dresses, Communion dresses and Christening gowns with high end laces. The rolled hem method is the best I know. Why not have a beautiful slip to go with dresses. Thanks for a refreshing review and a good memory of those sewing days ;)
7/21/13 8:52 AM
crazygrad said...
Very pretty! Thanks for the link!
7/21/13 9:41 AM
ArtAttack said...
Must have! Must have! I've been looking for a simple cami/slip pattern and this sounds great. LOVE the shoestring straps. I am downloading right NOW. Thanks for the great review. I have a great resource for lace but certainly not of the caliber of Sigrid.'s Dutch candy!
7/21/13 10:06 AM
CissieW said...
How beautiful! I haven't owned a slip in decades but I want one now. Your tips are going to be invaluable!
7/21/13 11:11 AM
Immelu said...
That is a gorgeous slip!!! Thanks for the tips and links to other sites...
7/21/13 12:48 PM
Immelu said...
That is a gorgeous slip!!! Thanks for the tips and links to other sites...
7/21/13 12:48 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh this is beautiful! You made great use of this lovely lace. Thanks for the review.
7/21/13 4:32 PM
sewpelican said...
Beautiful in every way, enjoy wearing it.
7/21/13 4:53 PM
Jrhee said...
So delicate, and so lovely! Makes me want to find excuses to wear one so that I can make one!
7/21/13 5:58 PM
velosewer said...
It's really beautiful Sandra.
7/21/13 7:03 PM
Skye said...
stunning almost too good to hide away :) Absolutely beautiful
7/21/13 8:13 PM
Renata said...
Stunning!!!!
7/21/13 8:45 PM
leoniep said...
Exquisite! You'll feel so special wearing it.
7/21/13 9:08 PM
Mel.J said...
Gorgeous! That lace is stunning, and you have used it beautifully.
7/21/13 9:30 PM
Jeffer said...
Gorgeous slip. The lace wonderful and the hem is exquisite. Have fun wearing your beautiful slip!
7/22/13 0:14 AM
SewLibra said...
So beautiful!
7/22/13 0:58 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a beautiful slip!! Great review too.
7/22/13 8:29 AM
ak21 said...
Im gaga over your slip...the lace is super feminine. beautiful!
7/22/13 8:58 AM
BeaJay said...
How absolutely gorgeous. Sweet and delicate - lovely. That lace really is stunning.
7/23/13 3:49 AM
mm said...
That looks so luxurious and it is so beautifully sewn. Something to treasure.
7/23/13 7:11 AM
Elona said...
So beautiful! Exquisite, really.
12/11/13 11:04 PM
SewWil said...
Beautiful slipped. So glad you posted again as I missed this the first time around. Thanks for the link to the pattern.
12/12/13 3:25 PM
Baja Susana said...
Wonderful, detailed review. The slip is beautiful, the lace exquisite and your work exemplary! I am going to download this pattern and make one. I hope it is as lovely as yours.
12/12/13 3:39 PM
Quickie said...
It is beautiful
12/13/13 2:19 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous slip. Thank you for the wonderful review and links!
12/14/13 7:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us