SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1882 (Amazing Fit Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 527 times 
Reviewed by:CosmicCaro
photo

 
 
About CosmicCarostar
QC Canada
Member since: 3/18/11
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/13 2:17 PM
Last Updated:9/4/13 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.87 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.87 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RMJ said...
Looks great! I never would have guessed that set-in sleeves, princess seams and the invisible zipper were all new techniques for you.
7/22/13 5:52 PM
Rosalaya said...
You are right on the money Caro. This dress looks grand. Can't wait to see it in the next version in the cotton sateen. Love the way it minimizes the bust.
7/23/13 7:45 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Love the vintage vibe on you, the piping details on the fuschia make the design lines pop too
7/24/13 5:17 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thank you all for your kind comments! I love this dress and I am working on my next one... In time for the Montreal sewists met-up this weekend I hope!
8/13/13 11:06 AM
Melwyk said...
I love this dress! Great colours on you and amazing retro vibe. I'm exactly the same height & weight as you so now I really want to try this pattern - it looks so good on you :)
8/27/13 8:40 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thanks Melwyk!
9/4/13 10:44 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love both dresses on you!!!
9/4/13 10:58 AM
NEMDF said...
WOW. They are beautiful. I especially love the floral with piping, and your detailed descriptions of the projects. You are doing great with skill development!
9/4/13 5:45 PM
caper81 said...
Both dresses look great on you!:)
9/4/13 6:06 PM
sewingcanary said...
Nice dress! Your face shows you are pleased. Iím not 100% certain but think all of the amazing fit patterns have 1 inch side seams instead of 5/8 = something you might want to keep in mind when you use other Simplicity patterns. Wise to have chosen the D size front despite your real measurements. I looked at your blog pix. I hesitate posting this because I donít know how fussy you want to get about fit, but here goesÖ ideally the black piping along the waistline should be horizontal, as should the hem. Your side view shows them sloping. Fixing this could be achieved by raising the front waist or lowering the back or a combination of both. This could be done by inserting or removing a wedge that tapers to nothing at the side seam, thus the sides stay the same. You add length or take length out. You can see the method in some fitting books. I have a great book from the library called The Complete Photo Guide to Perfect Fitting. Iíve learned some amazing things just reading through it. Happy sewing. Your dress is so cute! I get excited about things having pockets again and this was such a cute way to handle them.
9/4/13 6:44 PM
CosmicCaro said...
Thanks you for your praises! Thank you sewingcanary, I am always on the lookout to improve my skills! However, this particular dress has the waist line marked on the pattern pieces on the lower edge (on the seam line) of the midriff for the BACK. But on the center front and side front pieces, the waist line is marked higher ; with the bottom edge of the pattern pieces dipping about 1,5 inches below the waist at center front. Since I will probably make it with another kind of skirt (pencil or circle!) your useful comment will help me raise the midriff seam at my waist then. Thank you also for the great book resources, I will see if they are available at my local library!
9/8/13 6:54 PM
CosmicCaro said...
BTW Caper81, your Nintendo costume is super!
9/8/13 6:55 PM
liliv said...
I love this color combination!
9/12/13 4:13 AM
Sewingnutter said...
Wow your blue floral sateen dress looks fabulous. You look about size 10 wearing it.
7/14/14 6:15 AM
sewingcanary said...
Not sure if you will see this. Itís been a while and Iím a bit lost with site changes etc. Havenít found PM send area yet. For some reason my PMs werenít showing. Duh I think I understand what you meant about the waistline on this dress. I may not have looked closely at the line drawing either. Sorry. Glad you didnít take offense. Also, I donít think I realized you are in Canada. Iím in smoky BC. Itís fire season. Iím making on a big umbrella cover Ė tough project I donít recommend trying.
7/19/14 0:28 AM
landstromd said...
thank you so much for this in depth review. All I can say is WOW! I particularly want to thank you for including your measurements so the rest of us can now make a more informed attempt at this pattern. I looked in on the blue floral and was absolutely stunned by the amazing information you provided, the step-by-step sewing instructions are a lovely gift to all of us! I too hope to make this dress, and just wish my waist was 30! but will still attempt it now that you have inspired me! thanks again.
7/25/14 5:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Self Drafted Pattern Designed after Burda 8123

photo
by: julliams

Review
Vogue Patterns v8323

photo
by: amandolin

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Buy Now