SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8815 (Misses Top)

83 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 605 times 
Reviewed by:Graca
photo

 
 
About Gracastarstar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 124
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 124
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/23/13 8:35 PM
Last Updated:12/8/13 9:13 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.88 $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.88 $22.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fourkid said...
This pattern is used for the Craftsy plus size fitting class. I have only just got my pattern cut - but yes - the darts are totally on the wrong place. In class we move them and add a side dart. I will do a review when completed - I am hopeful. It is a cute top.
4/9/14 12:59 PM
ClioBklyn said...
I agree 100% about the darts - too high and too centered. I found the same thing when I sewed this, but was able to make it work in the end. Bummer that this didn't work out for you. :-(
12/10/13 3:40 PM
karen n said...
Thanks Jo Ann for the blog post on bust points. It was funny. Unfortunately, I had a similar response as Graca and ended up trashing my 8815. It didn't work with my figure.
12/9/13 3:20 PM
LizJ58 said...
Wow, view "C" is next on my list and I really want to make it! I just completed my duct tape dress form, so fortunately I have a better shot at working out the fitting problems.
12/9/13 10:28 AM
Jo Ann Ely said...
Here is a blog post about the dart issue and what can be done pre-cutting- http://fitforaqueen.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/phonecalls-and-peplums/ She cut a size 22 for her client and found some flaws too.
8/24/13 11:38 AM
Arted said...
I am working on my muslin and I agree the darts are suspect. Your top looks very nice.
8/19/13 10:28 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Sorry you didn't like the result. Could you restitch the darts to at least make them lower without the unpicking holes showing in the sateen?
7/24/13 5:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Neue Mode 23425

photo
by: Milenushka

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
New Look 6525

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review