Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8815 (Misses Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest    printable version
Viewed 567 times 74 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Graca
photo
About Gracastar
Member since: 7/25/11
Reviews written: 86
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2012
Posted on:7/23/13 8:35 PM
Last Updated:12/8/13 9:13 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8815 by Graca

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8815
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Would NOT Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
From the pattern envelope: "Fitted tops A, B, C have raised waist and hemline variations, narrow hem. A, B: Back zipper. C: Pullover, wrong side shows (back hemline), back neck slit with hook and eye closing. B, C: Stitched hems on sleeves. Purchase bias tape to finish necklines and armholes on A.

Pattern Sizing:
Multisized pattern: B5(8-10-12-14-16) and F5(18-20-22-24)
I made a size 14.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yeah sort of...

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes, but the pattern pieces are so simple to figure out without the instructions.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I thought that the front darts sit at a weird spot. Is it just me? I found the dart ended too high (I don't think my boobs sag that much!) and were positioned too close to the centre front. It just looks weird on me. I thought that it was odd that there was only one placement for the front dart for all the sizes in the pattern. The dart placement didn't work for the size I made.

Fabric Used:
Stretch cotton sateen.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I found that I had enough material for long sleeves if I altered the length of the sleeve pattern to fit me. So I made version B with long sleeves. I also cut the peplum length shorter by 1".

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I don't think that I would make another one. If you're going to make this I would make a muslin to check out the dart placements.

Conclusion:
You can see more here
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew Whatever said...
Sorry you didn't like the result. Could you restitch the darts to at least make them lower without the unpicking holes showing in the sateen?
7/24/13 5:39 AM
Arted said...
I am working on my muslin and I agree the darts are suspect. Your top looks very nice.
8/19/13 10:28 PM
Jo Ann Ely said...
Here is a blog post about the dart issue and what can be done pre-cutting- http://fitforaqueen.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/phonecalls-and-peplums/ She cut a size 22 for her client and found some flaws too.
8/24/13 11:38 AM
LizJ58 said...
Wow, view "C" is next on my list and I really want to make it! I just completed my duct tape dress form, so fortunately I have a better shot at working out the fitting problems.
12/9/13 10:28 AM
karen n said...
Thanks Jo Ann for the blog post on bust points. It was funny. Unfortunately, I had a similar response as Graca and ended up trashing my 8815. It didn't work with my figure.
12/9/13 3:20 PM
ClioBklyn said...
I agree 100% about the darts - too high and too centered. I found the same thing when I sewed this, but was able to make it work in the end. Bummer that this didn't work out for you. :-(
12/10/13 3:40 PM
fourkid said...
This pattern is used for the Craftsy plus size fitting class. I have only just got my pattern cut - but yes - the darts are totally on the wrong place. In class we move them and add a side dart. I will do a review when completed - I am hopeful. It is a cute top.
4/9/14 12:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2006-115 Wrap Dress
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 6/28/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )
Oliver + S Sandbox Pants + Starfish Stencil Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T) )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2934
photo
Review by Deepika on 1/25/02
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3883 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us