Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8285 (Dress & Jacket) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1689 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 263 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/15/05 9:19 PM
Last Updated:4/15/05 9:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jan B. said...
I had a RTW dress like this years ago and loved it. Unfortunately, it was rayon and I washed it--shrunk incredibly. Thanks for the review, think I'll try this one. You do such a nice job of sewing and reviewing.
4/15/05 9:38 PM
els said...
love the design details of your dress,about the circulair buckle there was a thread last year on the message boards.
4/16/05 4:01 AM
CarolynGM said...
Nice print and a very interesting style. How does it look on? Is there any "pooching" where the gathering is?
4/16/05 6:06 AM
Lisette said...
Lovely dress. Have you checked www.mjtrim.com, I know they carry a lot of buckles.
4/16/05 6:59 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Kay that dress is stunning! I agree with Lisette - try M&J. You might also try Daytona Trims in New York. Their phone number is (212) 354-1713. -Ann
4/16/05 7:38 AM
JoleneF said...
What a beautiful dress!
4/16/05 7:42 AM
Tiner W said...
Awesome! I've been eyeing this pattern; now I'm convinced I need it! Your dress is so beautiful and unusual!
4/16/05 8:38 AM
Kay Y said...
In answer to Irina's question, it does not "pooch" out, despite the fabric in the midriff area. The fabric is pleated there, you can press it quite flat, and the effect is to shape the front rather than bulk it up at all. Thanks all for the nice feedback, and for the tips on the buckle - on with the search!
4/16/05 10:32 AM
CatherineN said...
If preshrunk, bemberg is washable.
4/16/05 4:11 PM
rosa said...
HI Kay, Your dress looks fabulous. I have just bought this pattern - like you for the jacket and just like you I cannot find the buckle! However, while I'm searching I'll do the dress which looks so much better in your picture than on pattern packet. Thanks so much. Rose in Sydney
4/16/05 7:14 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Really like the look of this pattern. Your dress turned out nice.
4/18/05 5:01 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Kay, I think Burda changed the pattern numbers on you. This number is now a zip front blouse! Any chance of showing a shot of the pattern envelope?
9/4/06 2:36 PM
Vintage Joan said...
(Lorna, Kay reviewed Burda 8285, but the "Burda pattern info." incorrectly shows 8286. Both apparently now out of print, unfortunately.)
1/29/08 12:05 PM
Margaret said...
Kay, I'd be interested to know if you ever found the type of buckle the pattern wants. I don't think I've seen anything like it, so I ended up using two thin metal rings instead. The dress looks great -- I love it in that print!
3/12/10 5:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3693 Cardigans
photo
Review by pfaffkj on 2/13/10
Read Review

Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1348 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1550 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other UFO Contest 2009
photo
Review by Meggie LuL... on 1/31/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us