SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5932 (camisole, dress, top, shorts a)

2 more reviews
Viewed 239 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/13 12:33 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    Lingerie    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
Great review - very nice pj. I wanted this pattern but it was sold out in my size...better luck next time!
7/31/13 4:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice top, and a thorough review.
7/31/13 5:54 PM
ArtAttack said...
This is cute! Can you wear a bra with it without it showing? I think it's cute just for a summer top and not a just nightie!
7/31/13 7:08 PM
cleverkitty said...
looks really nice love it on you!!!
7/31/13 8:28 PM
sfshaza said...
VERY cute! I can see them up close better here than on your blog and they are really adorable. What a neat fabric.
7/31/13 9:47 PM
Sarah Liz said...
I agree with you Mary - inserting straps inside is the only way to go. Would make a cute summer dress too.
7/31/13 11:38 PM
marec said...
About the bra question-yes, a balconette style might work if the straps were not too far apart. Of course, you could sew this top with the straps wherever you chose. You could even add bra cups to it within the lining. I would definitely wear this as a summer top if the fabric and lining were thick enough to not have show through. It is tight enough to provide support for A and B cups. A dress would be cute and easy to do.
8/1/13 0:27 AM
grays08 said...
Top notch review and exactly what I would want to know in making this up. Wonderful nightie as well, I'm jealous! I completely agree on the straps. I get so frustrated with the outside attachment in a lot of patterns.
8/1/13 9:02 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great-looking knit!
8/6/13 1:06 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Great-looking knit!
8/6/13 1:06 PM
HarrietN said...
I am starting construction on this and I was wondering how you applied the clear elastic at the bust in step 2. I tried the gathers on my muslin and wasn't happy with the results.
12/27/13 9:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 9891

photo
by: flyingwind...

Review
Stretch & Sew 786

photo
by: sewnaomi

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now