Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6801 (Misses'/Women's Dresses) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 736 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 149
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 141
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/13 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/21/13 6:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.96  List Price: $19.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Terrific looking dress! Perfect fit, great color - a winner. Thanks for the tip about the stay tape for ruching. What a clever, practical solution.
8/21/13 6:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, you look terrific! That dress is stunning, nice fabric too.
8/21/13 6:42 PM
lakaribane said...
Love it! That dress is on my Must Sew List and I am so happy to see your review. You look fantastic!
8/21/13 6:43 PM
grays08 said...
I love this one, the fit is superb and thanks so much for the great tips!
8/21/13 6:48 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous fall dress! Ooooh, thanks for the nylon stay tape tip for the ruffler foot. Hopefully, I'll remember when I am doing some ruching.
8/21/13 7:04 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Absolutely beautiful! You have such a knack for choosing the right pattern to match your lovely fabric choices!
8/21/13 8:20 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love your dress! Changing the sleeve was a great idea.
8/21/13 8:24 PM
margy.64 said...
Lovely flattering dress. Love your use of the ruffler foot. I must look into getting one for my Bernina. So often this type of pattern puts me off due to all the gathering required but you make it look really easy with the ruffler foot. Lovely fabric choice too.
8/21/13 9:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
Yes I love this on you too, you have the perfect figure for this... Really good review ;)
8/21/13 9:29 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is one fine dress, Dorcas! Super duper fit :)
8/21/13 9:44 PM
knitsewmuch said...
This dress is a knockout! Beautiful.
8/21/13 10:08 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and colors for fall! Lovely work with fitting and alterations for a terrific fit.
8/22/13 1:12 AM
mnitts said...
Aww I was so close to getting this pattern in the big 4 sale that finishes today (?) but didn't. Mistake! Love your fabric and the fit on you. Super sexy and flattering!
8/22/13 2:24 AM
CissieW said...
Stunning. Another one of your creations that I must copy! Wish I could find such gorgeous fabric. Love it.
8/22/13 4:36 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very nice! That fabric is beautiful! I agree with you about the "poofy" sleeve, it's not my favorite either. I think I've made two tops with sleeves like that and I don't wear either any longer.
8/22/13 5:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress!
8/22/13 5:34 AM
wimmie said...
pretty dress. nice one to start the next season with. I also am getting antsy about starting fall clothing. good luck.
8/22/13 9:02 AM
Jrhee said...
Gosh, this is a knockout! I love this design so much!
8/22/13 9:28 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Great techniques and looks great on you!
8/22/13 9:29 AM
4u2cme said...
Thanks for a great review. I recently purchased this pattern @ Jo-Ann Fabrics $.70 sale!
8/22/13 10:09 AM
Dianne22 said...
Gorgeous! Love the neckline and it looks so sexy on you. Nice change on the sleeves--I don't care for puffy sleeves either.
8/22/13 11:37 AM
HRigg said...
Perfect for Autumn. Thanks for the helpful review.
8/22/13 3:48 PM
liliv said...
Hm .... what to mention first now? The butterfly print is so impressive and unique and the colors so rich, the pattern is simply gorgeous and the fit perfect! 10/10 for this fantastic dress, you look smoking hot!!
8/22/13 4:47 PM
SewLibra said...
I love this dress and the fit is perfect! Lovely print and colors in the fabric, too. I don't go for puffy sleeves either, my shoulders are already broad so I try to avoid the linebacker look - lol. Thank you for such a thorough review.
8/22/13 6:35 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Thank you for posting this! I had been looking at that pattern and not loving the sleeve cap, but your alteration is spot-on. Thank you for the great detail about the Steam-a-Seam. This is a must-make!
8/25/13 5:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Mama Mia! This one is red hot and gorgeous. I'm with you on no puffy sleeve caps. Great review.
8/26/13 11:25 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Great fit and great adjustments. Thank you for sharing! I just bought this pattern!
10/12/13 6:04 PM
aaltje said...
what a lovely dress! I like the change on the sleeve (I do like the ones on the pattern, but this is also a great idea).
11/15/13 5:02 AM
karen n said...
I don't know if you'll see this question as its late but did you have inspired me to get a ruffler since I really dislike gathering. Do your ruffles go up or down?
2/3/14 3:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by c.l.w. on 3/26/12
Read Review

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8379 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by petitesewi... on 9/27/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4297 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2296 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us