SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6801 (Misses'/Women's Dresses)

6 more reviews
Viewed 785 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 155
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/13 5:31 PM
Last Updated:8/21/13 6:41 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Terrific looking dress! Perfect fit, great color - a winner. Thanks for the tip about the stay tape for ruching. What a clever, practical solution.
8/21/13 6:30 PM
Re Becca said...
Wow, you look terrific! That dress is stunning, nice fabric too.
8/21/13 6:42 PM
lakaribane said...
Love it! That dress is on my Must Sew List and I am so happy to see your review. You look fantastic!
8/21/13 6:43 PM
grays08 said...
I love this one, the fit is superb and thanks so much for the great tips!
8/21/13 6:48 PM
Amanda.Claire said...
Gorgeous fall dress! Ooooh, thanks for the nylon stay tape tip for the ruffler foot. Hopefully, I'll remember when I am doing some ruching.
8/21/13 7:04 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Absolutely beautiful! You have such a knack for choosing the right pattern to match your lovely fabric choices!
8/21/13 8:20 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! I love your dress! Changing the sleeve was a great idea.
8/21/13 8:24 PM
margy.64 said...
Lovely flattering dress. Love your use of the ruffler foot. I must look into getting one for my Bernina. So often this type of pattern puts me off due to all the gathering required but you make it look really easy with the ruffler foot. Lovely fabric choice too.
8/21/13 9:17 PM
cleverkitty said...
Yes I love this on you too, you have the perfect figure for this... Really good review ;)
8/21/13 9:29 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
This is one fine dress, Dorcas! Super duper fit :)
8/21/13 9:44 PM
knitsewmuch said...
This dress is a knockout! Beautiful.
8/21/13 10:08 PM
Barbara V said...
Beautiful dress and colors for fall! Lovely work with fitting and alterations for a terrific fit.
8/22/13 1:12 AM
mnitts said...
Aww I was so close to getting this pattern in the big 4 sale that finishes today (?) but didn't. Mistake! Love your fabric and the fit on you. Super sexy and flattering!
8/22/13 2:24 AM
CissieW said...
Stunning. Another one of your creations that I must copy! Wish I could find such gorgeous fabric. Love it.
8/22/13 4:36 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very, very nice! That fabric is beautiful! I agree with you about the "poofy" sleeve, it's not my favorite either. I think I've made two tops with sleeves like that and I don't wear either any longer.
8/22/13 5:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking dress!
8/22/13 5:34 AM
wimmie said...
pretty dress. nice one to start the next season with. I also am getting antsy about starting fall clothing. good luck.
8/22/13 9:02 AM
Jrhee said...
Gosh, this is a knockout! I love this design so much!
8/22/13 9:28 AM
prostheticsgirl said...
Great techniques and looks great on you!
8/22/13 9:29 AM
4u2cme said...
Thanks for a great review. I recently purchased this pattern @ Jo-Ann Fabrics $.70 sale!
8/22/13 10:09 AM
Dianne22 said...
Gorgeous! Love the neckline and it looks so sexy on you. Nice change on the sleeves--I don't care for puffy sleeves either.
8/22/13 11:37 AM
HRigg said...
Perfect for Autumn. Thanks for the helpful review.
8/22/13 3:48 PM
liliv said...
Hm .... what to mention first now? The butterfly print is so impressive and unique and the colors so rich, the pattern is simply gorgeous and the fit perfect! 10/10 for this fantastic dress, you look smoking hot!!
8/22/13 4:47 PM
SewLibra said...
I love this dress and the fit is perfect! Lovely print and colors in the fabric, too. I don't go for puffy sleeves either, my shoulders are already broad so I try to avoid the linebacker look - lol. Thank you for such a thorough review.
8/22/13 6:35 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Thank you for posting this! I had been looking at that pattern and not loving the sleeve cap, but your alteration is spot-on. Thank you for the great detail about the Steam-a-Seam. This is a must-make!
8/25/13 5:26 AM
Jstarr4250 said...
Mama Mia! This one is red hot and gorgeous. I'm with you on no puffy sleeve caps. Great review.
8/26/13 11:25 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Great fit and great adjustments. Thank you for sharing! I just bought this pattern!
10/12/13 6:04 PM
aaltje said...
what a lovely dress! I like the change on the sleeve (I do like the ones on the pattern, but this is also a great idea).
11/15/13 5:02 AM
karen n said...
I don't know if you'll see this question as its late but did you have inspired me to get a ruffler since I really dislike gathering. Do your ruffles go up or down?
2/3/14 3:50 PM
Carolynjan said...
Carolynjan said... Hi, I am a fairly advanced sewer but I cannot figure out what to do from step 9 on. Would you be able to explain what you did from this step? I thought I had figured it out and then when they said to turn lining to the inside it all went wrong....thanks for any assistance you can provide. 4/28/14 8:11 AM
4/28/14 8:17 AM
MarshaG. said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks also for the tip on using steam-a-seam lite to stabilize the ruching. I have one question about the sizing. Without being too intrusive, I am curious is your measurements closely line up with that of a size 12, which is the size you stated you used. My measurements are nearer that of a size 14, but I think that would really be too big on me. I noticed one other reviewer said she went down a size. I'm hoping to make this for a special event that is taking place 7-31-14........need to make a muslin first!
7/4/14 12:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

No Pattern Used 5 minute skirt

photo
by: RJB

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now