SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kitschy Coo> Lady Skater Dress (Lady Skater Dress)

46 more reviews
Viewed 595 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 61
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 2:59 AM
Last Updated:9/7/14 3:04 PM
Project Photo:Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille

Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  
Pattern Photo: Kitschy Coo Pattern Info

More Info provided by chenille

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
This funky yet functional knit dress has a fitted bodice, scooped banded neckline, a curved flared knee-length skirt, and options for trimmed cap sleeves, or banded ¾ length sleeves or long sleeves. It's designed to flatter the figure with a waistline that hits at the natural waist and a skirt that gently skims over the lower waist and hips. In plainer fabrics the skater dress lends itself to a casual wardrobe staple that's cute with sneakers, or snag yourself a fancy fabric for a knock-out evening dress.
Pattern Sizing:
There are eight sizes included in the pattern, ranging from a 30” to 44” high bust, and a 24” to 38” high waist.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes and there are 2 versions; 1 with a complete photo tutorial if you are new to sewing with knits, and a second quick version for experienced sewers. I left the instructions up on my computer - they were excellent and a nice refresher as I have been taking a long break from sewing...
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Loved everything about this pattern! The fit using the high bust measurement was spot on. Fabulous extra info on fitting and altering pattern Here
Fabric Used:
Very lightweight t-shirt knit from JA
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This was my wearable muslin. For a quick fit, I cut just the front and back after making my usual adjustments; removed 1" from CB (although I forgot to change the skirt back to match and just stretched the back to fit), removed 1" length from bodice for short waist, and did swayback adjustment to compensate for no bust dart, used a size 3 for bodice but a size 2 for AH height, and graded out to a size 4 at the waist - no hip adjustment needed as it's a flare skirt.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, yes, yes!!! TNT and I can see sewing many variations of this.
Conclusion:
I haven't done any sewing for 6 months and to get myself focused again, I'm exploring the wonderful world of Indie designs. It's like taking a journey around the world! So glad I started with this one - it's an instant gratification project. I had no trouble at all printing and matching the pattern pieces. Can't wait to get started on my next project!

9/7/14 updating with latest version - rayon/spandex from JoAnn's. Great way to get back into sewing - with a TNT.
Updating photos with the fall/winter version.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Dabbles said...
I like all your versions.
9/7/14 9:50 PM
wexford said...
Terrific dresses! Love your fabric choices too.
9/7/14 7:00 PM
Quickie said...
I love your fabric choice. The dress is a cute versatile style
9/7/14 4:06 PM
Levone said...
Nice dresses!
2/3/14 8:49 AM
21wale said...
Looks great! I like the fabric choice.
8/27/13 9:19 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Darling dress. Lovely how you matched up the stripes on the side!
8/25/13 5:08 AM
Bapower57 said...
Very pretty and looks so comfortable! Love your boots too.
8/22/13 12:16 PM
SewWil said...
Cute dress!
8/22/13 9:47 AM
Jrhee said...
Very cute - I've been eyeing this one for a while now and might have to get it.
8/22/13 9:19 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute! I've downloaded but not gotten to it yet.
8/22/13 9:04 AM
margy.64 said...
There are so many favourable reviews popping up about this pattern. Yours is lovely. This one is definitely on my wish list.
8/22/13 5:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

McCall's 6948

photo
by: twotoast

Review
Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Buy Now