SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kitschy Coo> Lady Skater Dress (Lady Skater Dress)

33 more reviews
Viewed 440 times 
Reviewed by:chenille
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chenillestar
AK
Member since: 7/4/11
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/22/13 2:59 AM
Last Updated:2/3/14 0:33 AM
Project Photo:Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille

Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by chenille  
Pattern Photo: Kitschy Coo Pattern Info

More Info provided by chenille

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton-Poly Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
This funky yet functional knit dress has a fitted bodice, scooped banded neckline, a curved flared knee-length skirt, and options for trimmed cap sleeves, or banded ¾ length sleeves or long sleeves. It's designed to flatter the figure with a waistline that hits at the natural waist and a skirt that gently skims over the lower waist and hips. In plainer fabrics the skater dress lends itself to a casual wardrobe staple that's cute with sneakers, or snag yourself a fancy fabric for a knock-out evening dress.
Pattern Sizing:
There are eight sizes included in the pattern, ranging from a 30” to 44” high bust, and a 24” to 38” high waist.
Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
yes
Were the instructions easy to follow?
yes and there are 2 versions; 1 with a complete photo tutorial if you are new to sewing with knits, and a second quick version for experienced sewers. I left the instructions up on my computer - they were excellent and a nice refresher as I have been taking a long break from sewing...
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
Loved everything about this pattern! The fit using the high bust measurement was spot on. Fabulous extra info on fitting and altering pattern Here
Fabric Used:
Very lightweight t-shirt knit from JA
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
This was my wearable muslin. For a quick fit, I cut just the front and back after making my usual adjustments; removed 1" from CB (although I forgot to change the skirt back to match and just stretched the back to fit), removed 1" length from bodice for short waist, and did swayback adjustment to compensate for no bust dart, used a size 3 for bodice but a size 2 for AH height, and graded out to a size 4 at the waist - no hip adjustment needed as it's a flare skirt.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes, yes, yes!!! TNT and I can see sewing many variations of this.
Conclusion:
I haven't done any sewing for 6 months and to get myself focused again, I'm exploring the wonderful world of Indie designs. It's like taking a journey around the world! So glad I started with this one - it's an instant gratification project. I had no trouble at all printing and matching the pattern pieces. Can't wait to get started on my next project!

Updating photos with the fall/winter version.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margy.64 said...
There are so many favourable reviews popping up about this pattern. Yours is lovely. This one is definitely on my wish list.
8/22/13 5:25 AM
ArtAttack said...
Cute! I've downloaded but not gotten to it yet.
8/22/13 9:04 AM
Jrhee said...
Very cute - I've been eyeing this one for a while now and might have to get it.
8/22/13 9:19 AM
SewWil said...
Cute dress!
8/22/13 9:47 AM
Bapower57 said...
Very pretty and looks so comfortable! Love your boots too.
8/22/13 12:16 PM
Pattycrafty said...
Darling dress. Lovely how you matched up the stripes on the side!
8/25/13 5:08 AM
21wale said...
Looks great! I like the fabric choice.
8/27/13 9:19 PM
Levone said...
Nice dresses!
2/3/14 8:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
McCall's 6627

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Buy Now