SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1975 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/05 3:57 PM
Last Updated:4/27/05 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very cute!! I love the blue one too, but that print is great! I hope to get to this someday :o)
4/29/05 2:56 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Sue, your top is so beautiful, that fabric is tdf, scalloping was an exellent idea and so are the long sleeves, thanks a million!!!
4/29/05 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
This top is a knock out sue! Thanks for reviewing it.
4/29/05 11:04 AM
Joyfullife said...
Katharine, thanks for referencing that article on Burda's fit! I printed it out for future reference. Sue, you made a marvelous top! Can I send you my measurements? ;)
4/29/05 11:02 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
It must be so nice to wear stretch rayon all day! Lowers the blood pressure. Burda patterns are drafted with a forward shoulder--read here http://www.lyonslpgas.com/sewscape/burda.html
4/28/05 9:48 PM
mjrsew said...
Thank you for the detail. Did you draft the sleeve pattern or use one from another purchased pattern? That fabric is fabulous. Marijo
4/28/05 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
That fabric is gorgeous! And so is the top!
4/28/05 4:04 PM
MickeyFan said...
This is a great top, I love the fabric. I always enjoy reading your reviews!
4/28/05 6:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
After a week of mostly "reverse sewing!", this is a welcome review. Love both tops, even the upside down one. I've located a source for this pattern, too.
4/28/05 5:30 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great fabric!!!!!! I really wish you'd post a picture of you wearing this one, please? :)
4/27/05 10:29 PM
drsue said...
Thanks so much for the nice comments guys. I thought you'd all appreciate my sewing the bodice upside down on the muslin! smvite: I just finished the edge with the coverstitch machine. Scalloping would be a nice touch too.
4/27/05 9:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Such a great job on the top Drsue. Thanks for mentioning the use of the jalie 2005 sleeve. The colors are just so fabulous! Thank you!!!
4/27/05 9:33 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a beautiful top! It would look cute with a variety of style bottoms! Nancy Anne
4/27/05 9:00 PM
jlg said...
Great tops. I've got to cut this out and try it.
4/27/05 8:23 PM
Levone said...
I love both of your tops!
4/27/05 7:23 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your fabric is TDF!
4/27/05 6:54 PM
pharmercoon said...
Thanks for all the tips-I'm sure they will make more sense when I start the geometry! Your tops look great. Kay
4/27/05 6:02 PM
ccdcar said...
Both shirts are great and very flattering looking--thanks for all the detailed info!
4/27/05 5:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful top. I enjoyed the fitting details and the good humour with which you related your sewing mistake. -- Carolyn
4/27/05 5:38 PM
Patti B said...
Wow, Susan! I'll save your tips for when I sew this top.
4/27/05 5:27 PM
LisaLS said...
Love the fabric you used!! I wore my top the other day and I also noticed that the shoulder seam sits forward about an inch. Glad to hear it's not just me. :D
4/27/05 5:26 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Great review and beautiful top!!! Nice to know that even experienced sewers that I look up to make silly mistakes sometimes..! ;-) I love it with the sleeves, and will definitely add longer sleeves to a few of mine... I LOVE this top, just finished 2 (one sleeveless, one capsleeved)! Love the fabric too, very pretty!!!
4/27/05 5:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
A gorgeous top and a very informative review.
4/27/05 5:07 PM
SueV said...
did you do a scallop on the neck edge? I looks like it. Also, my shoulder seams were about 1" forward on mine - I just figured it was a "design detail" and left it :) Great top!!
4/27/05 5:03 PM
BjP said...
Wonderful looking top - both of them - and I laughed at your comment about the books on your head!
4/27/05 5:02 PM
MarthaH said...
That fabric is beautiful! Good looking top.
4/27/05 4:53 PM
Peggy L said...
"Just when you think you've made every possible error, you make a new one. " I love that comment!! Your tops look great. Love the fabric.
4/27/05 4:24 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job on this top. I love your fabric! -Ann
4/27/05 4:23 PM
Linuxia said...
I can't say that I "love" about sewing that one always finds new errors to create ;) but your top is really wonderful! Thank you for the tips.
4/27/05 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2101

photo
by: Immelu

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

More Info
New Look 6808

photo
by: MiniandMer...

Review

Pattern