SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-112 (Twist Top)

41 more reviews
Viewed 1975 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/27/05 3:57 PM
Last Updated:4/27/05 4:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very cute!! I love the blue one too, but that print is great! I hope to get to this someday :o)
4/29/05 2:56 PM
Marita Kinnula said...
Sue, your top is so beautiful, that fabric is tdf, scalloping was an exellent idea and so are the long sleeves, thanks a million!!!
4/29/05 11:19 AM
Deepika said...
This top is a knock out sue! Thanks for reviewing it.
4/29/05 11:04 AM
Joyfullife said...
Katharine, thanks for referencing that article on Burda's fit! I printed it out for future reference. Sue, you made a marvelous top! Can I send you my measurements? ;)
4/29/05 11:02 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
It must be so nice to wear stretch rayon all day! Lowers the blood pressure. Burda patterns are drafted with a forward shoulder--read here http://www.lyonslpgas.com/sewscape/burda.html
4/28/05 9:48 PM
mjrsew said...
Thank you for the detail. Did you draft the sleeve pattern or use one from another purchased pattern? That fabric is fabulous. Marijo
4/28/05 4:18 PM
hongkongshopper said...
That fabric is gorgeous! And so is the top!
4/28/05 4:04 PM
MickeyFan said...
This is a great top, I love the fabric. I always enjoy reading your reviews!
4/28/05 6:24 AM
JDpenelope said...
After a week of mostly "reverse sewing!", this is a welcome review. Love both tops, even the upside down one. I've located a source for this pattern, too.
4/28/05 5:30 AM
MaryBeth said...
Great fabric!!!!!! I really wish you'd post a picture of you wearing this one, please? :)
4/27/05 10:29 PM
drsue said...
Thanks so much for the nice comments guys. I thought you'd all appreciate my sewing the bodice upside down on the muslin! smvite: I just finished the edge with the coverstitch machine. Scalloping would be a nice touch too.
4/27/05 9:59 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Such a great job on the top Drsue. Thanks for mentioning the use of the jalie 2005 sleeve. The colors are just so fabulous! Thank you!!!
4/27/05 9:33 PM
Nancy Anne said...
What a beautiful top! It would look cute with a variety of style bottoms! Nancy Anne
4/27/05 9:00 PM
jlg said...
Great tops. I've got to cut this out and try it.
4/27/05 8:23 PM
Levone said...
I love both of your tops!
4/27/05 7:23 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Absolutely gorgeous! Your fabric is TDF!
4/27/05 6:54 PM
pharmercoon said...
Thanks for all the tips-I'm sure they will make more sense when I start the geometry! Your tops look great. Kay
4/27/05 6:02 PM
ccdcar said...
Both shirts are great and very flattering looking--thanks for all the detailed info!
4/27/05 5:53 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautiful top. I enjoyed the fitting details and the good humour with which you related your sewing mistake. -- Carolyn
4/27/05 5:38 PM
Patti B said...
Wow, Susan! I'll save your tips for when I sew this top.
4/27/05 5:27 PM
LisaLS said...
Love the fabric you used!! I wore my top the other day and I also noticed that the shoulder seam sits forward about an inch. Glad to hear it's not just me. :D
4/27/05 5:26 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Great review and beautiful top!!! Nice to know that even experienced sewers that I look up to make silly mistakes sometimes..! ;-) I love it with the sleeves, and will definitely add longer sleeves to a few of mine... I LOVE this top, just finished 2 (one sleeveless, one capsleeved)! Love the fabric too, very pretty!!!
4/27/05 5:24 PM
Schnauzer said...
A gorgeous top and a very informative review.
4/27/05 5:07 PM
SueV said...
did you do a scallop on the neck edge? I looks like it. Also, my shoulder seams were about 1" forward on mine - I just figured it was a "design detail" and left it :) Great top!!
4/27/05 5:03 PM
BjP said...
Wonderful looking top - both of them - and I laughed at your comment about the books on your head!
4/27/05 5:02 PM
MarthaH said...
That fabric is beautiful! Good looking top.
4/27/05 4:53 PM
Peggy L said...
"Just when you think you've made every possible error, you make a new one. " I love that comment!! Your tops look great. Love the fabric.
4/27/05 4:24 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great job on this top. I love your fabric! -Ann
4/27/05 4:23 PM
Linuxia said...
I can't say that I "love" about sewing that one always finds new errors to create ;) but your top is really wonderful! Thank you for the tips.
4/27/05 4:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

More Info
Simplicity Sew U skirt

photo
by: reformfabr...

Review