SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8042 (Vogue Basic Design-Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1694 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews written: 198
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 185
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 6:59 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Very nice jacket, Linda. I want to make this too, so I'm glad to hear it goes together so easily.
4/24/05 7:23 PM
jlg said...
What a pretty jacket Linda.
4/24/05 9:23 PM
PVA said...
Beautiful jacket, Linda -- thanks for this review. I like the fabric & I appreciate the construction details. I, too prefer to "bag the lining".
4/24/05 10:19 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice work. I admire anyone who takes the time and has the talent, to complete a fitted, lined jacket. (I'm not there yet, and might never get there.)
4/25/05 6:23 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thank you so much for this review! I bought this for the jacket sew-along, attempted a bunch of alterations for the first time with it, and set it aside. Decided to try a simple, darted, somewhat fitted shirt for alterations first. Did the FFRP method for an FBA on this jacket, don't know if I like it. Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse method works better for me adding inches all around because of my B-cup size. The FFRP method left me with front bodice pieces that dipped down in the front since this method adds width AND length, the latter being what I don't need. However, I will proceed at some point with this jacket. Yours looks absolutely terrific!
4/25/05 6:39 AM
AnneM said...
You seem to have recovered from FBA issue just fine. Informative review.
4/25/05 7:44 AM
PixieCat said...
Beautiful jacket. Love the color on you!
4/25/05 3:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Thanks for your comments. Penelope, I had been sewing for 15 years before I tackled lined jackets, so keep at it. Now it is much easier, especially using the bag a lining method. Ryan's Mom, I have not tried Nancy's method in some time, but pulled her book out the other day and thought I might try again. I have a C-D cup, so need both width and length. From what I remember with Nancy's method, that may be the best alteration for you and just may not work for me. I also like Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit tips.
4/26/05 5:43 AM
SewingBunny said...
Very nice. I'm planning on this for my next project. Thanks for the review!
6/30/07 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Vogue Patterns 8667

photo
by: Pamaro

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Simplicity 2178

photo
by: awesomepot...

Review