SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8042 (Vogue Basic Design-Jackets)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1698 times 
Reviewed by:Danvillegirl
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Danvillegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 7/6/03
Reviews: 204 (patterns: 191)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 55 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/24/05 6:59 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingBunny said... (6/30/07 9:03 PM) Reply
Very nice. I'm planning on this for my next project. Thanks for the review!
Danvillegirl said... (4/26/05 5:43 AM) Reply
Thanks for your comments. Penelope, I had been sewing for 15 years before I tackled lined jackets, so keep at it. Now it is much easier, especially using the bag a lining method. Ryan's Mom, I have not tried Nancy's method in some time, but pulled her book out the other day and thought I might try again. I have a C-D cup, so need both width and length. From what I remember with Nancy's method, that may be the best alteration for you and just may not work for me. I also like Sandra Betzina's Fast Fit tips.
PixieCat said... (4/25/05 3:10 PM) Reply
Beautiful jacket. Love the color on you!
AnneM said... (4/25/05 7:44 AM) Reply
You seem to have recovered from FBA issue just fine. Informative review.
ryan's mom said... (4/25/05 6:39 AM) Reply
Thank you so much for this review! I bought this for the jacket sew-along, attempted a bunch of alterations for the first time with it, and set it aside. Decided to try a simple, darted, somewhat fitted shirt for alterations first. Did the FFRP method for an FBA on this jacket, don't know if I like it. Nancy Zieman's Fitting Finesse method works better for me adding inches all around because of my B-cup size. The FFRP method left me with front bodice pieces that dipped down in the front since this method adds width AND length, the latter being what I don't need. However, I will proceed at some point with this jacket. Yours looks absolutely terrific!
JDpenelope said... (4/25/05 6:23 AM) Reply
Nice work. I admire anyone who takes the time and has the talent, to complete a fitted, lined jacket. (I'm not there yet, and might never get there.)
PVA said... (4/24/05 10:19 PM) Reply
Beautiful jacket, Linda -- thanks for this review. I like the fabric & I appreciate the construction details. I, too prefer to "bag the lining".
jlg said... (4/24/05 9:23 PM) Reply
What a pretty jacket Linda.
CarolynGM said... (4/24/05 7:23 PM) Reply
Very nice jacket, Linda. I want to make this too, so I'm glad to hear it goes together so easily.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Pattern Details