Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 (Burberry Knit Collared Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 209 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 130 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/13 6:34 PM


Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ALFALFA said...
superb!!!!!!!
10/1/13 7:48 PM
AnneM said...
A one-month contest and you are dong a designer jacket knock-off. Great jacket, nice style. Although it sounds like you got yourself in trouble now, with 3 new knitting machines - you will certainly be keeping yourself busy.
10/1/13 8:14 PM
wexford said...
Wow - this jacket is fabulous. I hope someday to be able to sew something like this.
10/1/13 9:35 PM
K_sew said...
Thanks so much for sharing your creative process. Your jacket is wonderful!
10/1/13 9:40 PM
Karine said...
Fabulous jacket! Love the knitted collar overlay. Thank you for the detailed review as well.
10/2/13 8:18 AM
grays08 said...
Stunning, beautiful jacket, impeccably made and so refined - loved reading your process! Wonderful inspiration too! I was also admiring Burberry so enjoyed seeing this.
10/2/13 8:29 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is simply amazing!!! Love how the knit collar turned out!
10/2/13 11:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a great review, chock full of tips. Thanks for all of the pictures and links. And Happy knitting!
10/2/13 8:36 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and I am really curious how you dealt with the rectangle machine knitted collar pieces to end up with that gorgeous shawl knitted collar.
10/2/13 9:46 PM
Sarsez said...
I've been looking forward to reading this review. The collar looks fantastic. Well done and welcome to machine knitting!
10/3/13 6:03 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your very kind comments. Sharon, I had made two or three test collars previously and knew the approximate size of the rectangle I needed. But I tend to do things like this on the fly and make up my own methods on the spot. To get the stockingette "ribs" running horizontally, I knit a very wide rectangle and folded it in half, right sides together. Then I made an identical rectangle, folded it and then seamed it to the first rectangle. This seam became the center back seam of the collar. Next, I draped it on my jacket and used two sided leather tape to mark where the seam lines should be. I sewed the seams with my sewing machine using the straight stitch. I trimmed the seam fairly close, then turned the knitted piece so it was right side out. I oriented the collar with the seamed edge facing the center of the garment. Then I hand stitched the double layered overlay to the outer edge of the woven shawl collar. Finally I hand stitched the overlay to the inner layer of the jacket. All I can say is I'm sure Burberry doesn't make their collars using my crazy method.
10/3/13 9:25 PM
becca a said...
What amazing jackets you sew! This one is very haute couture.
10/4/13 10:06 PM
bananaoil said...
Brava!
10/8/13 10:48 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Awesome.
10/9/13 10:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Kwik Sew 3377
photo
Review by LaurieEm on 4/25/06
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2237
photo
Review by heemee on 5/24/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1693 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us