SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 45793-1021 (Burberry Knit Collared Jacket)

Viewed 220 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/13 6:34 PM


Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ALFALFA said...
superb!!!!!!!
10/1/13 7:48 PM
AnneM said...
A one-month contest and you are dong a designer jacket knock-off. Great jacket, nice style. Although it sounds like you got yourself in trouble now, with 3 new knitting machines - you will certainly be keeping yourself busy.
10/1/13 8:14 PM
wexford said...
Wow - this jacket is fabulous. I hope someday to be able to sew something like this.
10/1/13 9:35 PM
K_sew said...
Thanks so much for sharing your creative process. Your jacket is wonderful!
10/1/13 9:40 PM
Karine said...
Fabulous jacket! Love the knitted collar overlay. Thank you for the detailed review as well.
10/2/13 8:18 AM
grays08 said...
Stunning, beautiful jacket, impeccably made and so refined - loved reading your process! Wonderful inspiration too! I was also admiring Burberry so enjoyed seeing this.
10/2/13 8:29 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is simply amazing!!! Love how the knit collar turned out!
10/2/13 11:23 AM
JDpenelope said...
What a great review, chock full of tips. Thanks for all of the pictures and links. And Happy knitting!
10/2/13 8:36 PM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and I am really curious how you dealt with the rectangle machine knitted collar pieces to end up with that gorgeous shawl knitted collar.
10/2/13 9:46 PM
Sarsez said...
I've been looking forward to reading this review. The collar looks fantastic. Well done and welcome to machine knitting!
10/3/13 6:03 AM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your very kind comments. Sharon, I had made two or three test collars previously and knew the approximate size of the rectangle I needed. But I tend to do things like this on the fly and make up my own methods on the spot. To get the stockingette "ribs" running horizontally, I knit a very wide rectangle and folded it in half, right sides together. Then I made an identical rectangle, folded it and then seamed it to the first rectangle. This seam became the center back seam of the collar. Next, I draped it on my jacket and used two sided leather tape to mark where the seam lines should be. I sewed the seams with my sewing machine using the straight stitch. I trimmed the seam fairly close, then turned the knitted piece so it was right side out. I oriented the collar with the seamed edge facing the center of the garment. Then I hand stitched the double layered overlay to the outer edge of the woven shawl collar. Finally I hand stitched the overlay to the inner layer of the jacket. All I can say is I'm sure Burberry doesn't make their collars using my crazy method.
10/3/13 9:25 PM
becca a said...
What amazing jackets you sew! This one is very haute couture.
10/4/13 10:06 PM
bananaoil said...
Brava!
10/8/13 10:48 PM
fattyboomboom said...
Awesome.
10/9/13 10:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
McCall's 6164

photo
by: MadeByMeg

Review