SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 45793-1021 (Burberry Knit Collared Jacket)

Viewed 227 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/13 6:34 PM


Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  Self Drafted Pattern: 45793-1021 by nancy2001  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fattyboomboom said...
Awesome.
10/9/13 10:40 PM
bananaoil said...
Brava!
10/8/13 10:48 PM
becca a said...
What amazing jackets you sew! This one is very haute couture.
10/4/13 10:06 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you for your very kind comments. Sharon, I had made two or three test collars previously and knew the approximate size of the rectangle I needed. But I tend to do things like this on the fly and make up my own methods on the spot. To get the stockingette "ribs" running horizontally, I knit a very wide rectangle and folded it in half, right sides together. Then I made an identical rectangle, folded it and then seamed it to the first rectangle. This seam became the center back seam of the collar. Next, I draped it on my jacket and used two sided leather tape to mark where the seam lines should be. I sewed the seams with my sewing machine using the straight stitch. I trimmed the seam fairly close, then turned the knitted piece so it was right side out. I oriented the collar with the seamed edge facing the center of the garment. Then I hand stitched the double layered overlay to the outer edge of the woven shawl collar. Finally I hand stitched the overlay to the inner layer of the jacket. All I can say is I'm sure Burberry doesn't make their collars using my crazy method.
10/3/13 9:25 PM
Sarsez said...
I've been looking forward to reading this review. The collar looks fantastic. Well done and welcome to machine knitting!
10/3/13 6:03 AM
Sharonspils said...
Stunning jacket and I am really curious how you dealt with the rectangle machine knitted collar pieces to end up with that gorgeous shawl knitted collar.
10/2/13 9:46 PM
JDpenelope said...
What a great review, chock full of tips. Thanks for all of the pictures and links. And Happy knitting!
10/2/13 8:36 PM
MrsCharisma said...
This is simply amazing!!! Love how the knit collar turned out!
10/2/13 11:23 AM
grays08 said...
Stunning, beautiful jacket, impeccably made and so refined - loved reading your process! Wonderful inspiration too! I was also admiring Burberry so enjoyed seeing this.
10/2/13 8:29 AM
Karine said...
Fabulous jacket! Love the knitted collar overlay. Thank you for the detailed review as well.
10/2/13 8:18 AM
K_sew said...
Thanks so much for sharing your creative process. Your jacket is wonderful!
10/1/13 9:40 PM
wexford said...
Wow - this jacket is fabulous. I hope someday to be able to sew something like this.
10/1/13 9:35 PM
AnneM said...
A one-month contest and you are dong a designer jacket knock-off. Great jacket, nice style. Although it sounds like you got yourself in trouble now, with 3 new knitting machines - you will certainly be keeping yourself busy.
10/1/13 8:14 PM
ALFALFA said...
superb!!!!!!!
10/1/13 7:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2060

photo
by: style insp...

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

More Info
De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

De-Mystifying Fit - A CD Book

More Info