SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Serendipity Studio> 124 (Sally Shirtdress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 322 times 
Reviewed by:STARG
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About STARGstarstar
CA United States
Member since: 4/20/11
Reviews: 89 (patterns: 88)
Body Type:
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 26 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/13 9:02 PM
  
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Slouchy said... (4/22/15 4:10 PM) Reply
Love your description of how to, and is a good way to understand a shirt dress with neither too little nor too much fullness in skirt ( how does anyone sit in a straight shirt dress without popping the buttons!) so thanks for the review of your very sweet dress!
STARG said... (1/20/14 2:04 PM) Reply
Afweathergirl - for the main blue and red loopy fabric, it was quilting cotton purchased from Pink Chalk Fabrics online. I bought it awhile ago so I'm not sure if they have it anymore. The red and white polka dot was purchased from a local fabric store - it's quilting cotton as well. I hope that helps!
afweathergirl said... (1/19/14 5:32 PM) Reply
Do you remember which fabric you used? Love it!
Loualibar said... (10/9/13 4:08 PM) Reply
Yes that is helpful - it sounds like you just adjust the pleats to come up with the amount of fullness that you want.
STARG said... (10/9/13 3:35 PM) Reply
Loualibar - to answer your question - the dress without the pleats was about 8 inches too big in the waist. I pin fitted all of the pleats first to see what it would look like. All of my pleats ended up being fairly small and I centered the pleats when top stitching rather than pressing to one side. I think centering them makes a difference as well with the fullness. I hope that answers your question.
Loualibar said... (10/7/13 8:47 PM) Reply
That dress looks fabulous. I have been looking for a shirt dress pattern for a while but have not purchased this because I wondered if the pleats on the back would come out looking "Poofy" and make the back too big. Your back looks fine. How did you deal with this?
Pj3g said... (10/7/13 1:51 PM) Reply
You make a darn cute June Cleaver! I love it especially with all the tiny polka dot trim and accessories!
sunnysewing said... (10/6/13 10:23 PM) Reply
only 4 pieces to this lovely dress?? That is awesome! It looks fabulous on you. I think the fabric print is sweet! Interesting on the waist pleating for fitting. I may have to give it a try. thanks for the great review
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 7823

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 1879

photo
by: joannesimp...

Review
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Pattern Details