Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6206 (Misses Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 119 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Dellia45
photo
Friend of PR
About Dellia45star
SC USA
Member since: 2/6/13
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 48
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/26/13 9:03 PM
Last Updated:10/26/13 9:09 PM
Project Photo:New Look: 6206 by Dellia45

New Look: 6206 by Dellia45  New Look: 6206 by Dellia45  
Pattern Photo:New Look 6206
New Look Pattern Info

More Info provided by Dellia45

See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $3.99 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses knit halter dress in two lengths has elasticized back & empire waistline seam.

Pattern Sizing: 4-16

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, sort of.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It is a problem solver for a quick fix dress and can use practically any type of knit to make.

Fabric Used: Knit

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: My daughter is only 5" tall and her body is so compact and curvy. I started out with the dress according to the pattern, but when she tried it on, I knew I had more work to do. First I had to adjust the bust (took in 1/2" on all seams) to to fit her bust and raised the center seam (1/2") to make the V fit her chest. I then reinforce the elastic in the back at the side seams and stitched across the top of the elastic to give her more security.

The skirt part was way too big for her and didn't hang right. So, according to her measurements, I reshaped the skirt to fit her body. I cut 1" on both sides and 1/2" at the back seam. Then I cut in total 3" of both sides and 2" in the back. There was about 2 try ons and then success.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes. Yes.

Conclusion: Overall this is a nice pattern. The reason I say is is because my daughter is really petite and she is very curvy. I almost dread figuring patterns to fit her and therefore do not sew for her very often, but when I do, I like to take my time. However, the transition that I went through to fit her doesn't sway my decision about this dress on an average sized woman. I think I might try this one for myself.
Buy this pattern for $3.99     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madbadger said...
You did an amazing job altering the skirt design - it looks fabulous!
10/26/13 10:54 PM
Agrippa said...
Very nice!
10/27/13 1:14 AM
canei said...
Nice!
10/27/13 9:11 AM
Opals Passions said...
cute dress!
10/27/13 10:03 PM
TGWGWS said...
Lovely dress! Great fit!
10/27/13 11:57 PM
Dellia45 said...
Thank you, this was a fun project.
11/5/13 7:13 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 8495
photo
Review by Mari Jo on 11/30/08
Read Review

Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5466 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )
Simplicity 2551 Pattern( Size ONE-SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7104 Maternity Tops
photo
Review by Byrdie on 7/16/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us