SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 7032-1003 (Wedding veil&alencon lace trim)

Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/05 7:20 AM
Last Updated:6/12/05 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Great work Penelope. I suspect somehow that the $850 veil wouldn't use any better lace than you used so don't worry about that! It would be great to see a picture of it "on" when you have one.
5/11/05 7:33 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Simpley lovely!! Very elegant!
5/11/05 7:45 AM
casken said...
Very nice veil. That is unbelieveable that veils cost $800.00! What a complete rip-off! Sewing definiately saves a lot of money.
5/11/05 8:27 AM
BjP said...
Beautiful!
5/11/05 8:54 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Penelope, you did a lovely job of this veil. DSD must be very pleased. Isn't it fun to do a project that you know will be very appreciated.
5/11/05 9:31 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous! You did a great job! Hmmm...I know how you can make extra $ now! :)
5/11/05 10:05 AM
bunz said...
It's really beautiful!! Isn't it amazing when something you've never done before actually works?!?!?! Thanks for showing us.
5/11/05 10:44 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful!!!
5/11/05 11:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a great job you did applying the lace motifs. I bet this veil is much prettier than the $850 one. Please be sure to post a picture of the veil on the bride when you get back.
5/11/05 11:55 AM
Sarah2747 said...
Very nice! It seems like such a fun project.
5/11/05 1:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
You found alencon lace at Jo-Ann's??? That's amazing! It looks lovely, I don't see anything wrong with it at all.
5/11/05 2:34 PM
Diana M said...
What a precious labor of love on your part -- congratulations on a tremendous job well done!
5/11/05 3:01 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, everybody! Phyllis - As I recall, JoAnn's doesn't call it alencon lace...but from the looks of it and the description in my book, I believe it is alencon lace. (Perhaps the term "alencon" is like Bordeaux wine--only the French can use the term "Bordeaux", I believe) The book describes alencon lace as "re-embroidered...[with] a wonderful three-dimensional quality....featuring individually formed motifs." It also mentions the cord that outlines the motifs. This lace was locked up and I had to ask to see it.
5/11/05 3:10 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Congratulations.
5/12/05 4:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice, veil truly looks great.
5/12/05 5:31 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Penelope, that turned out just lovely!!! -Ann
5/12/05 5:45 AM
els said...
Your custom made veil looks beautiful.
5/12/05 5:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Yes - I agree that it's the real thing. Good for you!
5/12/05 10:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Oh what a beautiful bride!! Great job on the veil Penelope -- it's just lovely.
6/12/05 10:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks fabulous.
6/12/05 10:09 AM
JoleneF said...
I am just now seeing this. The veil turned out beautiful. She was a very pretty bride!
6/12/05 10:19 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the update, Penelope. The bride couldn't be more beautiful in her custom veil.
6/12/05 10:47 AM
Jill Giard said...
the veil is beautiful as is you stepdaughter. Great job on an elegant piece.
6/12/05 10:55 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
The veil is so perfect for your very gorgeous daughter. $850.00 - for a veil?? Why on Earth would anyone ever spend that?!! Yipes!
6/12/05 11:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Jennifer - Our sentiments exactly! However, we have noticed that some folks don't want to buy something UNLESS it's expensive. Of course, there are always vendors to accommodate these big spenders.
6/12/05 12:54 PM
touran said...
Thanks for documenting the whole process. The veil and your daughter are very gorgeous. What a wonderful gift to make for her.
6/12/05 1:36 PM
PegL said...
Hey StepMom -- you did a GREAT job! She looks radiant!! Beautiful bride and handsome groom! Thanks for the update! I love wedding photos -- everybody always looks so happy!
6/12/05 5:19 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful bride and veil! You did a wonderful job.
6/12/05 8:02 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very pretty! Was the idea to gather the tulle at the destination in the book or was it your own? I think that was sheer genius (pun intended! :p ). Just curious...how much lace yardage did you actually need?
6/13/05 7:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks everybody for the kind comments and interest in my happy experiment. Lisa - The idea to gather after arriving was mine--but the book mentioned that it is difficult to get rid of wrinkles in tulle and I was terrified of scorching with the iron at the last minute. I bought 1.5 yards of lace (I think it was :D) in 2 trips to JoAnn's and had plenty left over. After the 1st purchase, it occurred to me that I might not have enough for the motifs I wanted, so I ran back for more in case JoAnn's were to run out later. The fabric was about 15" wide, I think.
6/13/05 7:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a stunning veil. Absolutely love the lace application on it--such a designer touch! I distinctly remember the cost of veils as a young college student. Kind of like draperies I quess? How can relatively simple things be SO expensive to buy. Much more cost effective to make your own, and in this case, so much more beautiful!
6/13/05 8:26 AM
Motorposus said...
I'd like to add my "beautiful!" to the stack!
6/13/05 8:32 AM
SewingSkater said...
Penelope this is breathtaking! Your new daughter in law is definitely lucky!!
3/3/06 4:38 PM
Sew it seams said...
You did such a beautiful job, Penelope. I cringed when I read the part where the veil was attached backward on the comb. I did the very same thing when I made my DD's veil. Mine was attached to a clip and I had already added the beading on the top of the clip. I told myself the same thing- "It's much more secure this time". You did a fabulous job and the bride is stunning.
5/6/06 2:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

McCall's 6610

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby More Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now