SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 7032-1003 (Wedding veil&alencon lace trim)

Viewed 2080 times 
Reviewed by:JDpenelope
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JDpenelopestarstar
Member since: 9/9/03
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/05 7:20 AM
Last Updated:6/12/05 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Great work Penelope. I suspect somehow that the $850 veil wouldn't use any better lace than you used so don't worry about that! It would be great to see a picture of it "on" when you have one.
5/11/05 7:33 AM
The Renaissance Girl said...
Simpley lovely!! Very elegant!
5/11/05 7:45 AM
casken said...
Very nice veil. That is unbelieveable that veils cost $800.00! What a complete rip-off! Sewing definiately saves a lot of money.
5/11/05 8:27 AM
BjP said...
Beautiful!
5/11/05 8:54 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Penelope, you did a lovely job of this veil. DSD must be very pleased. Isn't it fun to do a project that you know will be very appreciated.
5/11/05 9:31 AM
PegL said...
Absolutely gorgeous! You did a great job! Hmmm...I know how you can make extra $ now! :)
5/11/05 10:05 AM
bunz said...
It's really beautiful!! Isn't it amazing when something you've never done before actually works?!?!?! Thanks for showing us.
5/11/05 10:44 AM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful!!!
5/11/05 11:44 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a great job you did applying the lace motifs. I bet this veil is much prettier than the $850 one. Please be sure to post a picture of the veil on the bride when you get back.
5/11/05 11:55 AM
Sarah2747 said...
Very nice! It seems like such a fun project.
5/11/05 1:29 PM
PhyllisC said...
You found alencon lace at Jo-Ann's??? That's amazing! It looks lovely, I don't see anything wrong with it at all.
5/11/05 2:34 PM
Diana M said...
What a precious labor of love on your part -- congratulations on a tremendous job well done!
5/11/05 3:01 PM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks, everybody! Phyllis - As I recall, JoAnn's doesn't call it alencon lace...but from the looks of it and the description in my book, I believe it is alencon lace. (Perhaps the term "alencon" is like Bordeaux wine--only the French can use the term "Bordeaux", I believe) The book describes alencon lace as "re-embroidered...[with] a wonderful three-dimensional quality....featuring individually formed motifs." It also mentions the cord that outlines the motifs. This lace was locked up and I had to ask to see it.
5/11/05 3:10 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice. Congratulations.
5/12/05 4:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice, veil truly looks great.
5/12/05 5:31 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Penelope, that turned out just lovely!!! -Ann
5/12/05 5:45 AM
els said...
Your custom made veil looks beautiful.
5/12/05 5:50 AM
PhyllisC said...
Yes - I agree that it's the real thing. Good for you!
5/12/05 10:18 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Oh what a beautiful bride!! Great job on the veil Penelope -- it's just lovely.
6/12/05 10:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - this looks fabulous.
6/12/05 10:09 AM
JoleneF said...
I am just now seeing this. The veil turned out beautiful. She was a very pretty bride!
6/12/05 10:19 AM
CarolynGM said...
Thanks for the update, Penelope. The bride couldn't be more beautiful in her custom veil.
6/12/05 10:47 AM
Jill Giard said...
the veil is beautiful as is you stepdaughter. Great job on an elegant piece.
6/12/05 10:55 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
The veil is so perfect for your very gorgeous daughter. $850.00 - for a veil?? Why on Earth would anyone ever spend that?!! Yipes!
6/12/05 11:30 AM
JDpenelope said...
Jennifer - Our sentiments exactly! However, we have noticed that some folks don't want to buy something UNLESS it's expensive. Of course, there are always vendors to accommodate these big spenders.
6/12/05 12:54 PM
touran said...
Thanks for documenting the whole process. The veil and your daughter are very gorgeous. What a wonderful gift to make for her.
6/12/05 1:36 PM
PegL said...
Hey StepMom -- you did a GREAT job! She looks radiant!! Beautiful bride and handsome groom! Thanks for the update! I love wedding photos -- everybody always looks so happy!
6/12/05 5:19 PM
Peggy L said...
Beautiful bride and veil! You did a wonderful job.
6/12/05 8:02 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very, very pretty! Was the idea to gather the tulle at the destination in the book or was it your own? I think that was sheer genius (pun intended! :p ). Just curious...how much lace yardage did you actually need?
6/13/05 7:16 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks everybody for the kind comments and interest in my happy experiment. Lisa - The idea to gather after arriving was mine--but the book mentioned that it is difficult to get rid of wrinkles in tulle and I was terrified of scorching with the iron at the last minute. I bought 1.5 yards of lace (I think it was :D) in 2 trips to JoAnn's and had plenty left over. After the 1st purchase, it occurred to me that I might not have enough for the motifs I wanted, so I ran back for more in case JoAnn's were to run out later. The fabric was about 15" wide, I think.
6/13/05 7:43 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a stunning veil. Absolutely love the lace application on it--such a designer touch! I distinctly remember the cost of veils as a young college student. Kind of like draperies I quess? How can relatively simple things be SO expensive to buy. Much more cost effective to make your own, and in this case, so much more beautiful!
6/13/05 8:26 AM
Motorposus said...
I'd like to add my "beautiful!" to the stack!
6/13/05 8:32 AM
SewingSkater said...
Penelope this is breathtaking! Your new daughter in law is definitely lucky!!
3/3/06 4:38 PM
Sew it seams said...
You did such a beautiful job, Penelope. I cringed when I read the part where the veil was attached backward on the comb. I did the very same thing when I made my DD's veil. Mine was attached to a clip and I had already added the beading on the top of the clip. I told myself the same thing- "It's much more secure this time". You did a fabulous job and the bride is stunning.
5/6/06 2:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2012-117A

photo
by: Spaiyq

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now