SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-113 (Twist Top)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1358 times 
Reviewed by:seKimberlyso
photo

 
 
About seKimberlysostar
Member since: 5/7/04
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 40
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/05 10:55 AM
Last Updated:5/12/05 10:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Danvillegirl said...
Top looks nice.
5/13/05 5:44 AM
seKimberlyso said...

5/12/05 4:51 PM
seKimberlyso said...
REPLY: SewingSkater. No elastic, yucky. I went simple. I serged the edge of the armhole, then turned, pressed and top stitched with a long straight stitch stretching slightly as I sewed. Neckline in front, just serged the edge, turned, pressed and double stitched. I didn’t have a double needle so I just sewed it twice. :) Neckline in back used facing of self material right sides together stitched, then turned over, pressed and double stitched like the front. Sew the twist pieces much closer to the center then the drawing shows. Come in nearly ¾”-1”or so, this leaves less of a hole and less raw edge, and adjust the twist so its all folded under and out of sight. I basted all my twist layers together first, so I could make adjustments. Any ?’s just PM me.
5/12/05 4:50 PM
Vonnevo said...
Another great Burda top :)))) We can't have too many of these..sleeveless, cap sleeves and 3/4 sleeves..plains, patterns.
5/12/05 3:55 PM
SewingSkater said...
I love love love the color! That's the great thing about so many people reviewing it.. you can see what it looks like in all different colors. What did you do about the raw edge... I was wondering what to do about that on mine. Also, how did you finish your armholes and neckline without using elastic... help me learn!
5/12/05 3:39 PM
Frogstitcher said...
There must be only a few of us who haven't sewn this up yet. Every review is helpful and thank you for your's. The color of your top is very pretty and it looks very flattering on you.
5/12/05 12:29 PM
Peggy L said...
Really looks nice! Pretty color.
5/12/05 12:22 PM
Gus2 said...
Noticed that Talbots had a twist top on display yesterday. I never remember prices but it was up there as is your top.. in looks. As soon as my home dec. binge is over this top goes to the top of the list.
5/12/05 12:17 PM
Gigi Louis said...
See? All that agonizing for nothing! Your top looks fantastic on you - very flattering. I never get tired of this pattern.
5/12/05 12:02 PM
LisaLS said...
Looks great!!! Sigh...I've been trying to make more, but the two latest ones have been wadders. I'm thinking I just had beginner's luck. Hope you do better than me!
5/12/05 11:36 AM
Cambric Tea said...
A great style for you, and what a nice color! I think it's always good to have as many reviews of a pattern as possible, since every reviewer is shaped differently. The more the better!
5/12/05 11:30 AM
PegL said...
Your twist top is really cute! Dare I review the one I just made too?!
5/12/05 11:13 AM
melgosews said...
I am not tired of it, yours looks nice. I made the cap sleeve in white, but DH won't let me wear it in public. I had to make a small bust adjustment. My first one was awful, the second one is great, although I changed the instructions and did it my way.
5/12/05 11:11 AM
els said...
seKimberlyso your twist top looks great on you too.
5/12/05 10:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Other GertiesBook

photo
by: LDT2011

Review
You Can Make This Carla C Portrait Peasant

photo
by: busymomof3

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

More Info
Candice

Candice

More Info