Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8465 (MISSES' JACKET AND COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 551 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:divabuddha
photo
About divabuddhastarstar
NC USA
Member since: 5/9/12
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/1/13 1:41 PM
Last Updated:11/2/13 2:44 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8465 by divabuddha

Vogue Patterns: 8465 by divabuddha  Vogue Patterns: 8465 by divabuddha  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8465
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Corduroy  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
There is something about this jacket. I'm WILD for it. I've had the pattern for a while, and wasn't sure what fabric to use. Finally, I just grabbed some corduroy I received in a fabric bundle from Fabric Mart and some scrap cotton sateen and just started. It's so .... so ... so .... I don't know, it's so "something" - and whatever that thing is, I'm really a fan.
Front view
Collar drape
Side view
Caboose view
Closures and lining
Jacket interior

Pattern Description:
Misses' jacket and coat with bodice front and back darts, button and loop closure, collar and skirt variations. A: skirt with darts and side seam pockets. B/C have flared skirt in two lengths. I made version A.

Pattern Sizing:
6-12. I made the 8...and it fits well, with just enough ease for comfort. This will not be a jacket I wear over chunky sweaters, if you catch my drift.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yessir-ee.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
This is labeled "easy" as a pattern, and I think the instruction were okay. Way too much hand sewing, and a bit clunky. I think to get a full, functional jacket/coat there needs to be more RTW techniques on the interior of the coat to give is some real structure. So I might recommend this pattern more to someone whose already sewn a coat/jacket, and might be more comfortable with making those additions/changes. But really, it's drafted well and construction-wise it's pretty easy. Really just a lining and a shell that you assemble and then, with a gigantor collar sandwiched in between, bag the whole thing in one swoop.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
In my eyes, the shape is divine. It's so unique, and flattering. I'm broad shouldered, so I was a wee bit nervous I'l look football player-ish, but it really doesn't work that way. Since the bodice and skirt are darted it creates a great optical illusion of an hourglass shape.

Fabric Used:
A thin wale, no stretch corduroy from a FabricMart "free with purchase" bundle. FREE!!!!! (Okay, no reeeeeeeeally, because I had to purchase other stuff to get the free stuff). And the lining is an old scrap of cotton sateen.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
The only major change I made were the closures (see photo above). I didn't like the loops and buttons. This is a lot of "look" for a jacket, so I wanted everything else minimal to draw attention to the shape. I used on large snap on the interior and one button on the exterior at the waist to close. I'm going to wear in a few times to see if i might need a button/hook & eye sat that top interior corner.
*UPDATE* - after one wear a realized I did need some sort of closure at the top interior corner. See the picture above of "Closures and lining". It kept gaping open as a moved, which sort of ruining the lovely architecture of the oversized collar. What can I say, I'm half Italian. I make big gestures.

I ended up putting and button on that upper interior corner (almost directly above the waist snap) and a button hole on the collar. Once I wore it, I found where the collar wanted to break and made sure to put the buttonhole on the interior. I'm not sure if this is the 100% best solution, but it works for this coat. I'm thinking if that portion was super heavy duty interfaced, it might just need a hook & eye or snap. I also thought of possibly redrafting that bit to extend further over the opposite shoulder. Maybe on the next one I'll try that.

Oh, and I added my standard 3" addition to the sleeve length.

However, if I did it again, I would change some things. 1. There really needs to be a lot more interfacing on the interior of the jacket. I added more than they recommended, but I ended up going back in and adding more to help stabilize things a bit more before finishing the hem; 2. I would probably redraft the top of the lining to have a facing, or use a lining fabric that was a near match to the self. Since there is no collar stand - the collar just folds over, and the lining is clearly visible. It doesn't bother me a ton, but I'd probably change it next time; 3. Keeping in mind fabric selection, I'd consider doing the entire bottom of the interior as a facing rather than the facing on the front and full lining on the back. None of these are super major changes -
but those are my thoughts.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Sure. It quick to construct (I did it in an extended afternoon), and very unique. I love it.

Conclusion:
There's something very Princess Leia meets Audrey Hepburn about this jacket to me. And that suits me just fine.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
I think chic and cosmopolitan are the words you are searching for! This is outstanding!
11/1/13 1:45 PM
grays08 said...
VH review, and I'm so excited because I just bought this pattern! Oooh I LOVE yours...I agree, there is just something about it, just love the design.
11/1/13 1:50 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Oh. My. Goodness. I would love to own this little masterpiece! You've done a great job.
11/1/13 1:59 PM
marie elise said...
Love your jacket! I've had this pattern in stash for a couple of years, thanks for all the tips on construction issues.
11/1/13 2:11 PM
Laurasews said...
Ooohh! Don't you just love it when you finally decide to just jump in to a project without over-thinking everything and it works! Great job. It is beautiful.
11/1/13 3:26 PM
Quickie said...
Just Gorgeous!
11/1/13 3:53 PM
chesneykat said...
It is is something else!
11/1/13 4:11 PM
Kohl said...
It IS! I overlooked this pattern because of the bottom half depicted. Love the version you have done.
11/1/13 4:17 PM
sewmytime said...
Awesome jacket!
11/1/13 5:09 PM
canei said...
Nice!
11/1/13 5:18 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous jacket!
11/1/13 7:53 PM
Lveeckgosden said...
Stunning!
11/2/13 0:11 AM
PattyE said...
I love this pattern. It does have attitude, doesn't it!? Great job.
11/2/13 0:23 AM
Adventurer said...
Ooh, very nice. Goes well with your modernist decor, too. I think this looks way more attractive than the pattern illustration.
11/2/13 0:26 AM
Baja Susana said...
Love this jacket. Love the lining. Nice review.
11/2/13 0:53 AM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful - love the style.
11/2/13 10:06 AM
NJcowgirl said...
OMG. Beautiful!!!!!!!!11
11/2/13 10:51 AM
STARG said...
Fab, fab, fab!
11/2/13 12:22 PM
ASiverson said...
Stylish! and Chic and elegant, etc. Gorgeous and great job you did too! TFS!
11/2/13 12:50 PM
divabuddha said...
Thanks so much for the positive feedback y'all. Much appreciated!
11/2/13 2:35 PM
SewLibra said...
Love it! So contemporary and "fashion forward", as they say on Project Runway. :-)
11/2/13 2:46 PM
carolynw said...
Now this is a jacket that will get attention. Absolutely stunning!
11/2/13 7:10 PM
Merche said...
I would have never notice this pattern if it wasn´t for your version. Utterly pretty!
11/2/13 7:28 PM
imsewcrazy said...
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!
11/2/13 7:56 PM
21wale said...
Gorgeous!
11/2/13 10:08 PM
lamstu said...
What a dramatic jacket! And a matching review. Brava
11/3/13 8:36 AM
sewtime said...
Beautiful!!
11/3/13 11:49 AM
slmstyle said...
Great looking jacket! I'd love to see how you wear it and style this work of art!
11/4/13 1:04 AM
Helen350 said...
Absolutely spot on! You have done an outstanding job on this jacket. It is unique and beautiful.
11/7/13 9:52 AM
5tummies said...
AWESOME! it's simply art!
12/17/13 1:14 AM
BabyBoomer48 said...
I was vacillating until I saw the outstanding work you performed on this jacket. I love it!
3/6/14 1:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 2246
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 1/27/12
Read Review

Burda 9501 Pattern
Burda 9501 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 101471-1000 Sleeveless Top
photo
Review by iamkat? on 4/13/10
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Party Purse
You Sew Girl Party Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us