Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1052 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 375 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Altrix
photo
About Altrixstar
OH USA
Member since: 4/22/13
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/19/13 1:07 PM
Last Updated:11/19/13 1:15 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 1052 by Altrix

Vogue Patterns: 1052 by Altrix  Vogue Patterns: 1052 by Altrix  
Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 1052
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Altrix

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
From the website: MISSES JACKET AND PANTS: Loose-fitting, lined, above hipline jacket with double draped collar, welt pockets, princess seams and back ties. Topstitch trim and stitched hems.

Misses 6 through 12 in one envelope, I cut a 12 based on my full bust measurement. This was too big for me (see below).

Yes, for the most part.

The directions were very simple and easy to follow.

I didn't like the specified collar finish, folded over and zig-zag stitched, so I left my edges raw.

I used a mid weight cotton fleece which I then dyed a darker shade of gray.

As stated above I left the collar edges raw, I also lengthened the sleeves and hem by 4cm and left it unlined. I cut out a size 12 based on my full bust measurement but then ended up taking it in by about 10cm all around as it was too voluminous for me.
Also when I sewed this the sleeves rotated on me. The seams wrap around my arms and are visible on the tops of my wrists, however I think this detail works perfectly with the softly undulating collar so I didn't bother to unpick them. I am not sure why this happened, I did align the fabric correctly when cutting out and sewing, I think it may be a quirk of the jersey fleece, but as I said I like how it turned out.

I will definitely sew this again and I highly recommend it to people who like unusual details in their clothes. One caveat though; the collar does add a lot of additional volume to the front of the body.

I love this pattern! Issey Miyake's designs are always top notch in terms of creativity and this one is no exception.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
karen n said...
Love the raw edge and the twisting sleeve! Is the front flouce heavy in fleece?
11/19/13 1:39 PM
duckbucket said...
Oh, fantastic! Thanks for the review.
11/19/13 2:12 PM
lauraborealis said...
What a fabulous idea to do this in fleece. I love it!
11/19/13 4:01 PM
ClioBklyn said...
Such a unique and fun jacket!
11/19/13 7:34 PM
dsharp said...
Love the fabric choice. I made this in polished cotton when the pattern first came out and it was too boxy and voluminous for my small frame. May try it now it fleece. Love the way yous looks. Thanks
11/20/13 5:36 AM
lamstu said...
I never thought I liked this pattern until I saw your version. How fun with all the ruffles!
11/20/13 8:11 AM
STARG said...
Great idea to use fleece, thanks!
11/20/13 10:06 AM
beanchor said...
How cool is this!
11/20/13 2:42 PM
Altrix said...
Thanks everyone! Karen n: no it's not too heavy, it is quite bulky thought! I might try making the under collar in a sheer jersey in another one, it would add more texture and lessen the bulk.
11/20/13 3:21 PM
butterflyfly said...
This pattern has been on my to-do list for ages! I LOVE your version! And I like raw edges - gives it shabby chic feel.. great job!
11/20/13 4:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Lazy Girl Designs 211 Wonder Wallet
photo
Review by Deepika on 3/8/07
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Mini Wardrobe May 2009
photo
Review by kal1 on 5/31/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Wrap Top
Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )
Butterick 3772 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )
McCalls 5038 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us