Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6143 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 325 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/13 7:39 PM
Last Updated:12/1/13 6:43 AM
Project Photo:New Look: 6143 by Pinkytoo

Pattern Photo:New Look 6143
New Look Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Silk Chiffon  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description: Misses dress with neckline, sleeve and overlay variations; fitted bodice and pleated skirt

Pattern Sizing: 10-22

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Overlay option, fit and flare style

Fabric Used: Silk chiffon overlay, silk duiponi underlay

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: Made neck higher and tighter, added grosgrain ribbon waist stay to support skirt and keep waist from stretching

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes!!

Conclusion: My niece is getting married in two week, and since I couldn't make her wedding dress (like I've been waiting 28 years to do) due to distance, I put my time and effort into my dress. When I saw the silk chiffon at Emma One Sock, I HAD to have it, it was perfect! However, once it arrived I found it had white netting backing and I didn't like the effect so I had to cut it off the back and out of the open holes - verrrrrrrry carefully! chiffon before and after. The next step was making a muslin; aside from the neckline adjustment it fit with very few alterations. YAY. Once I cut out the pieces I had to baste everything to keep the layers from slipping. back bodice basting Then I serged all the raw edges, since duiponi is so ravelly. Putting the pieces together was actually quite easy, there are only 7 pieces including the sleeves; and a back zipper. I did have to add another set of darts in the back since I lost weight between the muslin step and the dress step. YAY.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE the way this dress flatters, I think it is a good style for most figures. It was so easy I finished ahead of time and made a matching wristlet. StudioCheri Zippered Bag
Here is a picture taken outside which shows the real color. Belle of the Ball
A friend of mine said she saw a dress using a similar fabric in one of the high-end stores here but it didn't have the netting cut away...and she said it was "halfway to a thousand" dollars. I think mine will make me feel like a million.

NOTE: edited to add this link to the fabric - illustrating that the overlay was a border print so the pattern pieces were laid out on the crosswise grain, creating the scallop effect at the skirt bottom.

Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolinablue said...
great dress...your hard work was worth it!
11/30/13 8:08 PM
sewingcanary said...
SWEET!!! If the colors look half as good in real life as they do on my computer screen you have a WINNER – absolutely gorgeous! I’m curious how you did the fringe. It looks like it matches the appliqués. Did you do all of them? Whatever you did - WOW! 
11/30/13 9:26 PM
MrsCharisma said...
What fun fabric!! The dress is gorgeous on you as well!! And congrats on the weight loss! :)
11/30/13 10:20 PM
Baja Susana said...
This is a stunning cocktail dress and perfect for a winter wedding. The fabric is gorgeous, you did an amazing job, and wrote a very nice review. A stylish dress for a woman over 50 or under. It fits you beautifully and your sewing skills shine through. I love seeing a mature woman making a stylish, edgy dress. You rocked this cocktail dress.
11/30/13 10:49 PM
cmcarr said...
Perfection.
11/30/13 11:59 PM
Vonnevo said...
So beautiful & stylish !!!!!
12/1/13 0:40 AM
SewLibra said...
Love your dress! It's so dressy and chic, and the fabric is gorgeous. Poor bride, everyone at the wedding will be looking at YOUR dress. :-0
12/1/13 0:41 AM
Terri A said...
So stylish and *wow* fabric!!!!
12/1/13 1:50 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Sewingcanary -see my edited note in the review and the link to the Emma One Sock listing. :-)
12/1/13 6:31 AM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful! Fits so well and your efforts resulted in an absolutely beautiful dress. The style with pleats not gathers is really nice.
12/1/13 7:12 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
You are a knockout! Gorgeous dress. The color is excellent, with the bits of red in the fabric. It goes excellent with your soft features. I'm sure you know that part of making a garment look good is not only how pretty the garment itself is, but how nice it looks on us. And you certainly have accomplished that. At first, I thought the dress was two pieces but then saw it's a dress. And that scarf hem! So popular in the early 70's, as it was my favorite hem for cocktail wear. And you pulled it off--bringing back a stunning retro look. To think it was the way you cut the fabric---on the cross grain. And the fringe. I never would have thought to add it. A lot of work, but a big, big payoff, I'd say! And a stellar review.
12/1/13 7:51 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Miss Fairchild, the "fringe" is part of the fabric - I didn't have to add it. In fact I thought for a while of cutting it off but everyone I asked said to leave it. :-)
12/1/13 8:59 AM
LlanoGirl said...
Wow, you have created something truly unique and beautiful! I love it!
12/1/13 9:11 AM
Vintagelover said...
your dress is outstanding. your creative use of this fabric and pattern are phenomenal - well done!!
12/1/13 9:23 AM
Chempac said...
I am in awe! What a fantastic dress!
12/7/13 11:09 AM
nothy lane said...
I love this dress. Great job. I am in the middle of making my version and I was wondering about how to support the waist line. Thanks for your review- I'm going to add groisgrain ribbon too.
2/25/14 1:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Butterick 4789
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/26/12
Read Review

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Weekend getaway blouse + dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by Cosmotis on 10/14/12
Read Review

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6720 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6076 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us