SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6143 (Misses Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkytoo
photo

 
 
About Pinkytoostarstarstar
NV USA
Member since: 6/23/06
Reviews written: 120
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/30/13 7:39 PM
Last Updated:12/1/13 6:43 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
I love this dress. Great job. I am in the middle of making my version and I was wondering about how to support the waist line. Thanks for your review- I'm going to add groisgrain ribbon too.
2/25/14 1:46 PM
Chempac said...
I am in awe! What a fantastic dress!
12/7/13 11:09 AM
Vintagelover said...
your dress is outstanding. your creative use of this fabric and pattern are phenomenal - well done!!
12/1/13 9:23 AM
LlanoGirl said...
Wow, you have created something truly unique and beautiful! I love it!
12/1/13 9:11 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Miss Fairchild, the "fringe" is part of the fabric - I didn't have to add it. In fact I thought for a while of cutting it off but everyone I asked said to leave it. :-)
12/1/13 8:59 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
You are a knockout! Gorgeous dress. The color is excellent, with the bits of red in the fabric. It goes excellent with your soft features. I'm sure you know that part of making a garment look good is not only how pretty the garment itself is, but how nice it looks on us. And you certainly have accomplished that. At first, I thought the dress was two pieces but then saw it's a dress. And that scarf hem! So popular in the early 70's, as it was my favorite hem for cocktail wear. And you pulled it off--bringing back a stunning retro look. To think it was the way you cut the fabric---on the cross grain. And the fringe. I never would have thought to add it. A lot of work, but a big, big payoff, I'd say! And a stellar review.
12/1/13 7:51 AM
EleanorSews said...
Beautiful! Fits so well and your efforts resulted in an absolutely beautiful dress. The style with pleats not gathers is really nice.
12/1/13 7:12 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Sewingcanary -see my edited note in the review and the link to the Emma One Sock listing. :-)
12/1/13 6:31 AM
Terri A said...
So stylish and *wow* fabric!!!!
12/1/13 1:50 AM
SewLibra said...
Love your dress! It's so dressy and chic, and the fabric is gorgeous. Poor bride, everyone at the wedding will be looking at YOUR dress. :-0
12/1/13 0:41 AM
Vonnevo said...
So beautiful & stylish !!!!!
12/1/13 0:40 AM
cmcarr said...
Perfection.
11/30/13 11:59 PM
Baja Susana said...
This is a stunning cocktail dress and perfect for a winter wedding. The fabric is gorgeous, you did an amazing job, and wrote a very nice review. A stylish dress for a woman over 50 or under. It fits you beautifully and your sewing skills shine through. I love seeing a mature woman making a stylish, edgy dress. You rocked this cocktail dress.
11/30/13 10:49 PM
MrsCharisma said...
What fun fabric!! The dress is gorgeous on you as well!! And congrats on the weight loss! :)
11/30/13 10:20 PM
sewingcanary said...
SWEET!!! If the colors look half as good in real life as they do on my computer screen you have a WINNER – absolutely gorgeous! I’m curious how you did the fringe. It looks like it matches the appliqués. Did you do all of them? Whatever you did - WOW! 
11/30/13 9:26 PM
carolinablue said...
great dress...your hard work was worth it!
11/30/13 8:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Macphee sewing workshop 67

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
No Pattern Used Brian Remlinger\'s Earbud

photo
by: Bestyears

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

More Info
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

More Info