Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Adorable Christmas Tree S (Christmas Tree Skirt) - Type:Home Dec
Review submitted in 2013 Holiday Sewing (November 15 - December 31) Contest    printable version
Viewed 122 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:knitsewmuch
photo
Friend of PR
About knitsewmuchstar
VA USA
Member since: 10/31/08
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 11:43 PM
Last Updated:12/15/13 11:54 PM
Project Photo:Other: Adorable Christmas Tree S by knitsewmuch

Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by knitsewmuch

Current Tags What is a Tag:
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Christmas Tree Skirt made from charm packs
Pattern Sizing: I used 49 charms for a 7 x 7 block square. The
Christmas Tree Skirt Tutorial Was very helpful.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
This was my first time attempt at quilting. I used a grid pattern. It was a little difficult keeping the grid lines straight and even but I like the overall look of the finished product.
Fabric Used:
100% cotton
Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I used 49 squares versus 64 squares used in tutorial. I have a slim Christmas tree so I wanted a tree skirt that would not be too big for the slim tree.
Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Don't think I will sew again because I don't believe I will need another tree skirt anytime soon but I would definitely recommend the tutorial.

Conclusion:
It was fun working with the blocks and choosing the coordinating fabrics. This was a fun project.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Morisot said...
Lovely tree skirt and tree. Merry Christmas!
12/16/13 0:07 AM
wendyrb said...
What a wonderful 1st quilting project. It's lovely and just right for your tree. I'm sure you will treasure it over the years. Enjoy!
12/16/13 0:49 AM
wendyrb said...
What a wonderful 1st quilting project. It's lovely and just right for your tree. I'm sure you will treasure it over the years. Enjoy!
12/16/13 0:49 AM
wendyrb said...
Sorry for the duplicate.
12/16/13 0:50 AM
msschiel said...
This is beautiful!
12/16/13 5:52 AM
dhsewsalittle said...
Nice job! Especially for a first quilt. :) I really like the straight edges as an alternative to the usual round skirt, and your use of the dark green print really pulls the whole thing together.
12/16/13 9:57 AM
MrsCharisma said...
This is awesome! Your first?? Nice job!
12/16/13 10:26 AM
Pj3g said...
Beautiful tree skirt! You did a wonderful job!
12/16/13 2:44 PM
PattyE said...
It all looks really pretty!
12/16/13 4:41 PM
butterflyfly said...
Looks very festive! Great job on quilting!
12/19/13 6:57 PM
madbadger said...
What a great idea! I don't like my tree skirt and will have to try this out!
1/3/14 12:01 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful tree skirt!
1/3/14 1:50 PM
KathleenS said...
Well done. You'll be able to appreciate your effort for years to come.
1/4/14 9:00 PM
Rhoda K said...
Such a cute tree skirt. Thanks for the link to the tutorial.
1/18/14 11:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Jalie 2804
photo
Review by Amber in N... on 8/29/08
Read Review

Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5812 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pin-up Girls 8225 Pin-up Girls
photo
Review by Blooms on 7/18/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern
Favorite Things Sleep Well Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 104 Pattern
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us