SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2648 (Misses & Miss Petite Dress: Amazing Fit Collection)

74 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:missyyz
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About missyyzstar
ON Canada
Member since: 2/6/09
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:12/8/13 6:24 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ArtAttack said...
Beautiful! Not sure how I missed this earlier...great job.
1/1/14 11:21 PM
Sew Good said...
Perfect! Nice fabric choice for the pattern. Nice work!
12/23/13 0:39 AM
missyyz said...
ok.. Thanks all. Today I'm going through all of the tutorials mentioned above. I've never spent this much $$ on a fabric piece before and it does deserve a lining. I'll update the review once I am done !! Faced linings seem beyond my abilities at this point but I will investigate.
12/9/13 8:05 AM
annem54 said...
I love your take on this dress. Fabric looks good and I don't see it as upside down, but perfectly placed. I think I have this pattern and based on your review, will give it a go and will look at the other tutorial suggestions for lining as I too would want that. Well done and good luck with the next.
12/9/13 7:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty dress. There is a very nice book on linings, except as I write this I cannot remember the name of it. It addresses a lot of lining methods.
12/9/13 5:28 AM
Marie-Claude said...
Gorgeous print, love the placement! Very beautiful dress!
12/9/13 4:41 AM
SewLibra said...
Stunning dress! I just turned my laptop upside down and determined you cut the fabric perfectly just the way it is. The design is centered in the front and it looks great. :-)
12/9/13 0:34 AM
KarlaB said...
Beautiful dress! I looked twice, and still did not see how the fabric could be "upside down". You did a lovely job, and it looks like you've designed a perfect fit!
12/9/13 0:10 AM
CissieW said...
Very pretty, classic dress. Your daughter must be thrilled! Adding a lining is not difficult at all. I'm with you-- I hate facings.
12/8/13 10:49 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Another great tutorial is the Slapdash Sewist's clean finish bodice lining method. http://theslapdashsewist.blogspot.com/2010/08/all-machine-clean-finish-sleeveless.html It's very user friendly and gives great results. Cut your lining pieces using the pattern then trim away 1/8" to allow the lining to roll to the underside. I agree- this gorgeous fabric deserves a full lining!
12/8/13 7:04 PM
Immelu said...
Looking good! Here's one tutorial for a lined sleeveless dress: http://sewaholic.net/sewing-the-lining-into-the-cambie-dress/ Here's another: http://blithestitches.com/tutorials-tips-and-tricks/tutorial-how-to-line-a-sleeveless-dress/ I haven't personally used either one of those, so you should look at them closely to see if they'd work for your dress. One thing I would recommend on a fancy dress like this would be to do a faced lining. Basically, I'd start with a full lining piece from the dress pattern then, just sew those facings onto the lining, then connect the lining with the dress in your chosen method. Faced linings just seem so much nicer to me! Here's a pinterest site with many lining options. Have fun! http://www.pinterest.com/bigshine/sewing-linings-and-facing-101/
12/8/13 6:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

McCall's M6498

photo
by: Suehayter

Review
HotPatterns 1107

photo
by: Bleuette

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now