SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1642 (Misses Skirt and Top)

Viewed 307 times 
Reviewed by:ak21
photo

 
 
About ak21starstar
AUSTRIA
Member since: 5/11/10
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/13 8:13 AM


Simplicity: 1642 by ak21  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $1.74 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $1.74 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
imsewcrazy said...
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I have never notice this pattern before. The color is great for the holiday. I think it looks great with the front gap closed. It would also look nice color-blocked.
12/15/13 8:21 AM
RadarRadiance said...
I really like what you did with the pattern to save it! I actually like it better and think you gave it a great design detail! Beautiful color too!!!
12/15/13 10:05 AM
halleyscomet said...
I actually like it better the way you did it!
12/15/13 10:45 AM
Renee' S said...
Your version looks great, love it. I looked at this pattern months ago, but decided I didn't really want the open front. Now it's on my wish list again, thanks for posting your review.
12/15/13 10:56 AM
thrillme said...
nicely done!
12/15/13 11:33 AM
sewingcanary said...
Hard to say what went wrong without seeing what happened, however if you cut the pieces on the fold each side may not be the exact same size and grain direction. Multiply the error by 2 for top and lower section. When cutting, it can be difficult to get the under layer to be the same as the top, especially with light knits. If that’s the cause of the mis-fit, you could trace out the pattern so you cut full pieces instead of pieces on the fold. Also, knits are woven in bands, usually about 2”-3” wide. Perhaps you’ve seen some of the newer T-shirts that look like they’re almost cut on the bias? Getting the grain of the knit straight across and perpendicular to the long grain is important in how things lie – and hang. Everything needs to be lined up square before cutting, including the facings. Then pieces need to be squared up before pinning or glue-sticking. It’s rare that hand basting is a waste of time. Lay them flat rather than holding pieces while you pin. Having a marked board can be very helpful. I have little space for cutting etc and have found one of the fold-up cardboard ones fabulous. It’s covered with a 1” grid and includes 45 degree angles with parallel lines, and even includes some scallops, etc.. They are inexpensive and stashable. I love mine, not only for cutting but for pattern adjustments etc. What I think as ‘straight’ sometimes proves to be off. Knits are forgiving in terms of fit, but can take more care in aligning before cutting and sewing. Hope this is helpful. Good luck on your next.
12/15/13 2:15 PM
ak21 said...
thanks all & thanks @sewingcanary for your comment. it is really difficult to deal with knits at the best of times so yes, it could have been that it wasn't sitting straight to begin with. although, the problem i was experiencing more was that the pressure foot seemed to be stretching the seam out making it gape....something Ive not had with knits before. it may be that my machine just needs a good service so I'm taking her in & will try a knit thereafter to see if its improved. it may also just be the nature of that knit. Either way, Im loving this red top & Im getting stacks of wear from it already. x
12/15/13 2:43 PM
SewLibra said...
Love the color and without the "hole" in it. Great save! Looks better than the envelope.
12/16/13 1:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review
brerrabbit.com Gilet de Berger

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now