Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Neue Mode: 23219 (A-line skirts) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1321 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/05 12:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
I'm glad the pattern "surprise" was a good one. This looks like it will be a fun skirt to wear, and I really like your idea for the more formal silk version with lace. Great zip tip too!
5/29/05 12:59 PM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for the good review. This is a pretty skirt. Someone else had recently reviewed the skirt and I'm getting the idea the godet is a "pain" but worth it. Your skirt looks beautiful.
5/29/05 1:15 PM
drsue said...
Karmeng: thanks for pointing out the other reivew! I missed it. she must have posted it as I was making it up because I had searched the reviews before I started.
5/29/05 1:36 PM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! I just love NM patterns.
5/29/05 1:41 PM
jlg said...
Very nice. I also like the idea of the lace godet. That would be very cool.
5/29/05 1:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a very cool skirt, apparently with lots of possibilities for future incarnations. I had seen the other review also and was intrigued by the unusual godet. Does it make you look taller?
5/29/05 3:23 PM
drsue said...
Irena: I don't think it makes me look taller because of all the fullness. I think "view D" might do that though. I don't think it makes me look shorter at least!
5/29/05 3:58 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- you make this pattern sound like a wardrobe-builder when I'd never know that just looking at a photo in the catalogue. I love your skirt, & I really thank you for the construction method for a FF! (as in "Me too"!) I'll have to look at your tip for a centered zipper -- I saw it on the home page but I didn't "get it" so I haven't read it yet. So, TIA!
5/29/05 4:30 PM
MaryBeth said...
Took one look and said, "That's Linda's skirt!" They both are fantastic and I'm in love the the poofy godet theory. I'd love to see it on you drsue. Perhaps the poofy godet would add width to my frame but you'd look smashing, I'll bet.
5/29/05 4:34 PM
MaryBeth said...
Took one look and said, "That's Linda's skirt!" They both are fantastic and I'm in love the the poofy godet theory. I'd love to see it on you drsue. I think the poofy godt would add width to my frame but you'd look smashing, I think.
5/29/05 4:54 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! we were pretty much on the same wave length in making this skirt. Looks almost like the same color. I had the same issue with godet matching up but forgot that when I wrote my review. I just evened it up when I serge finished the skirt edge and it came out okay. I love the poofy godet. Sorry you did not like that feature. I think the drapeyier the fabric, the better it folds and lays. It is hard to iron. I might try putting the zipper in the back next time.
5/29/05 6:10 PM
PegL said...
What a great skirt! I look forward to seeing your next version!
5/29/05 6:30 PM
KiwiWendy said...
This pattern's godet idea is a great one ... even if the ironing is a real problem. You've made a "flat" pattern come alive
5/29/05 11:47 PM
AnneM said...
Funny that two reviews of this skirt get posted so close together. Thanks for the "full fanny" tip; nice idea.
5/30/05 8:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Butterick 4077
photo
Review by AquariJenn on 5/31/09
Read Review

New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6013 Pattern( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8790 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-135 Bow Shirt
photo
Review by Heatherriq... on 2/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Quilted Camera Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us