SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Neue Mode> 23219 (A-line skirts)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1321 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/05 12:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Funny that two reviews of this skirt get posted so close together. Thanks for the "full fanny" tip; nice idea.
5/30/05 8:09 AM
KiwiWendy said...
This pattern's godet idea is a great one ... even if the ironing is a real problem. You've made a "flat" pattern come alive
5/29/05 11:47 PM
PegL said...
What a great skirt! I look forward to seeing your next version!
5/29/05 6:30 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow! we were pretty much on the same wave length in making this skirt. Looks almost like the same color. I had the same issue with godet matching up but forgot that when I wrote my review. I just evened it up when I serge finished the skirt edge and it came out okay. I love the poofy godet. Sorry you did not like that feature. I think the drapeyier the fabric, the better it folds and lays. It is hard to iron. I might try putting the zipper in the back next time.
5/29/05 6:10 PM
MaryBeth said...
Took one look and said, "That's Linda's skirt!" They both are fantastic and I'm in love the the poofy godet theory. I'd love to see it on you drsue. I think the poofy godt would add width to my frame but you'd look smashing, I think.
5/29/05 4:54 PM
MaryBeth said...
Took one look and said, "That's Linda's skirt!" They both are fantastic and I'm in love the the poofy godet theory. I'd love to see it on you drsue. Perhaps the poofy godet would add width to my frame but you'd look smashing, I'll bet.
5/29/05 4:34 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for the review -- you make this pattern sound like a wardrobe-builder when I'd never know that just looking at a photo in the catalogue. I love your skirt, & I really thank you for the construction method for a FF! (as in "Me too"!) I'll have to look at your tip for a centered zipper -- I saw it on the home page but I didn't "get it" so I haven't read it yet. So, TIA!
5/29/05 4:30 PM
drsue said...
Irena: I don't think it makes me look taller because of all the fullness. I think "view D" might do that though. I don't think it makes me look shorter at least!
5/29/05 3:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
This is a very cool skirt, apparently with lots of possibilities for future incarnations. I had seen the other review also and was intrigued by the unusual godet. Does it make you look taller?
5/29/05 3:23 PM
jlg said...
Very nice. I also like the idea of the lace godet. That would be very cool.
5/29/05 1:50 PM
Gigi Louis said...
So pretty! I just love NM patterns.
5/29/05 1:41 PM
drsue said...
Karmeng: thanks for pointing out the other reivew! I missed it. she must have posted it as I was making it up because I had searched the reviews before I started.
5/29/05 1:36 PM
KarmenG said...
Thanks for the good review. This is a pretty skirt. Someone else had recently reviewed the skirt and I'm getting the idea the godet is a "pain" but worth it. Your skirt looks beautiful.
5/29/05 1:15 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I'm glad the pattern "surprise" was a good one. This looks like it will be a fun skirt to wear, and I really like your idea for the more formal silk version with lace. Great zip tip too!
5/29/05 12:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6436

photo
by: Jamye

Review
Simplicity 2219

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now