SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2473 (Misses Dresses)

25 more reviews
Viewed 273 times 
Reviewed by:acmena
photo

 
 
About acmenastar
Member since: 8/7/13
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 35
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/28/14 9:25 PM
Last Updated:1/28/14 9:38 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2473 by acmena

Simplicity: 2473 by acmena  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2473
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Misses/Miss Petite dress with slim or flared skirt. Skirt and front bodice have princess seams. There are 3 sleeve variations, collar or scooped neckline and midriff embellishment. My version is without sleeves or collar and with a flared skirt

Pattern Sizing: 4,6,8,10,12 I cut the neck and shoulders to 8, the rest of the bodice to 10, midsection and skirt 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, except for my midriff modification

Were the instructions easy to follow? The construction is by module - bodice, mid-section and skirt. This was my muslin so I needed to be able to adjust the side seams in their entirety. Therefore I ignored the instructions and joined all the front pieces together and then the back pieces. I added the zip to the flat back. I imagine it would be difficult to put the zipper in the dress at the end as instructed.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? Plenty of scope to improvise & improve fit, the high cut scoop covers my sun damaged chest and is flattering for my long neck. There's nothing to dislike other than the construction method.

Fabric Used: Striped cotton remnant from a local Op Shop and leftover white drill from my stash.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: When I sewed the side seams, transitioning from 10 at the bust to 12 at the hip, I found the skirt too tight. Instead of adding to the side seam, I took a " tuck through the midriff, which improved the fit immensely. I then re-cut the midriff pieces. I didn't interface or face the midriff

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes & Yes. I now have a basic dress pattern that fits.

Conclusion: A basic pattern with many areas to adjust fit and provide scope for interesting fabric combinations and embellishment

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
stonecutter17 said...
I can't believe this is your Muslim, it's adorable!
1/29/14 3:10 AM
Austragirl said...
Love it. The colour blocking looks great. I have in mind making this again in a cotton/linen that is in my stash.
1/29/14 4:27 AM
lakaribane said...
Love this and the tunic you posted. So cute!
1/29/14 7:03 AM
ceedee said...
Adorable! (even if it is your muslin) - the fit looks perfect; can't wait to see your upcoming post!
1/29/14 8:03 AM
STARG said...
Great looking muslin!
1/29/14 9:52 AM
Sheseams said...
wow, when i first saw the picture I thought oh nice concept. Now I learn it is a Muslim, I say wear it as a nice summer dress!
1/29/14 5:26 PM
zoeope said...
Wow, this is sooo nicely done. love how all the lines match where necessary.
1/29/14 6:05 PM
WinterQueen said...
Love what you have done with the colour blocking :)x
1/29/14 6:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now