Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2569 (Toddler or Child Costumes) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 65 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:jpatel2013
photo
About jpatel2013
Member since: 5/22/13
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 5
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/11/14 4:36 PM
Last Updated:2/11/14 6:05 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2569 by jpatel2013

Simplicity: 2569 by jpatel2013  Simplicity: 2569 by jpatel2013  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2569
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    Kids(boys & girls)    Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Tulle  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Toddler and child costume princess dresses
Pattern Sizing:
Made 2 dresses in view C for 3 year old twin girls (size 3). I made 2 identical dresses except for the colors.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes with few design modifications (see below)

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes. I just glanced at them since this involved basic construction.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the volume in this princess dress. My friend (these were for her daughters) was complaining that she could not find decent princess costumes for Halloween. She wanted lots of volume with faerie like feel to it that was relatively well made. Once I saw this pattern, I knew view C would be perfect. And it was.

But the volume does come at the cost of lots of cutting and gathering (tulle is very tightly gathered). Not complicated, just busy work.

No dislikes.

Fabric Used: Satin brocade for bodice, lining and underskirt. 3 shades of Tulle for the overskirt layers. All materials purchased at JoAnn's.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did not make any alterations to the pattern or construction (the sizing is pretty spot on). My changes very design related:
1. Omitted the belt. It was too wide. Also, did not want to have extra layer of clothing for a child costume.
2. Added trim to bottom of underskirt, neck, sleeves and waist seam.
3. Added trim in a lattice pattern to bodice front. Just make sure to add before starting garment construction. Learned this the hard way.

Recommendation: For Tulle overskirt grade the colors from light to dark, with the darkest color on the bottom layer. I made the purple dress first and I had the colors going the other way and I feel the bottom layer is too light.....almost looks non-existent

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Yes and yes.

Conclusion: Overall, I'm very pleased with the outcome. Also my friend tells me the girls continue to wear their princess dresses all the time, way past Halloween. Can't ask for more.

Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A fine effort and a lovely dress. They are lucky girls.
2/11/14 5:55 PM
rtwgirl said...
They are very pretty. My girls would love these!
2/11/14 10:50 PM
ThreadsofFaith said...
These are so pretty. My 7 yo would love one.
2/12/14 8:03 AM
ASiverson said...
I am sure the little girls loved these dresses. Great job!
2/12/14 10:43 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Burda 7798
photo
Review by Mufffet on 8/23/08
Read Review

Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1613 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4017 OOP
photo
Review by carolynw on 3/15/09
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern
Salme Gathered Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us