SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2860 (Misses & Miss Petite Pants Amazing Fit Collection)

29 more reviews
Viewed 333 times 
Reviewed by:ThreadsofFaith
photo

 
 
About ThreadsofFaithstar
Member since: 12/4/12
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/4/14 8:34 PM
Last Updated:3/4/14 8:40 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 2860 by ThreadsofFaith

Simplicity: 2860 by ThreadsofFaith  Simplicity: 2860 by ThreadsofFaith  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 2860
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:suiting  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
Women's Amazing Fit Pants pattern

Pattern Sizing:
8-14, My version is a 10

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
I believe the lines are there .

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are fair. I sewed this up in a fabric that I thrifted, because I wanted to add to my abilities; pants and a fly front were (sadly) new to me. I do dresses, tops, kid's clothes, crafts, etc., but haven't tried trousers, so... I used the pattern's fly zip instructions on my toile and the ones from the Reader's Digest sewing book on my fashion fabric. The RD book produced much better results. There are several fitting tips and you really must pay attention to the instructions for curvy, average or slim. I'm a smaller girl and assumed I was a slim. Wrong. With the help of these instructions, I learned that I am average but not because of my hips. The average comes from the crotch depth measurements.
The instructions fail to give any guidance in applying the hook closure so that it will be invisible on the outside. They simply say "fasten the hook and eye". Better markings on the facings would help a lot. I prefered to use a button on the outside anyway and a smaller second button on the inside.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
The pants look a lot like a pair of rtw in my closet. I like the waist band, I like the extra sa's for fitting. I like straight legs. Again, the pattern for the fly zip is less than perfect, esp if this is your first fly.

Fabric Used:
This is some poly blend suiting.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I added 1.5" to the hems during cutting out, but ended up cutting them baclk by an inch.
I had read the most recent review of these and the sewist said that these "suck" and are huge, etc etc. Based on that, I cut my toile one size smaller than my measurements suggested and used the slim (for crotch depth) as she said that length was too long. So glad I made the toile. Maybe the other reviewer didn't notice the three places where the seams are 1" deep. This pattern is not poorly sized. Just as my measurements indicated, I needed my regular size 10 and an "average" for crotch depth. Other than that, I applied a small left high hip alteration and a flat seat alteration.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I'll keep it around. I'd sew it again if I wanted more pants, and would happily recommend it to others, but remind them that several seams need to be sewn at 1", then trimmed.

Conclusion:
They came out looking like pants! Yay!
I'm not in love but I don't wear pants terribly often. These fit well and I got what I wanted - wearable pants and the skills of setting a fly zip and fitting a pair of pants.

Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marjieco said...
Your pants sure look good on you.
3/4/14 8:46 PM
MrsCharisma said...
Love! I too am a fan of the amazing fit pants!
3/4/14 8:55 PM
SewLibra said...
Great looking tailored pants!
3/5/14 1:34 AM
Silknmore said...
You did justice to the pattern category - your fit is absolutely amazing.
3/5/14 3:00 AM
acmena said...
Don't know why you don't wear pants...you look great in them
3/5/14 7:49 AM
Wino said...
These look great! I've made this pattern twice and the amazing fit works well.
3/5/14 4:01 PM
jillnjosh said...
Thank you for the very thoughtful review. You bring up some good points in your review.
3/5/14 11:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Simplicity 4117

photo
by: lvs2sew

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Traditional Muumuu

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now