SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4697 (Knit Wardrobe)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1838 times 
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneMstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/05 7:43 PM
Last Updated:12/4/10 2:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
How unfortunate! I really like this pattern myself. and have made it up several times. Maybe if you are are lengthening it you should add length just on the straight part of the seams?
6/6/05 8:12 PM
lmg said...
Thank you for the information. I will definitely try a muslin with this as this skirt was to be my next muslin
6/6/05 8:41 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I hate it when that happens - So sorry
6/6/05 9:20 PM
Hilary said...
That's too bad! Well I'm glad you wrote the review anyway :o) I will think twice before making this style (which was previously tempting me :oP )
6/6/05 9:35 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you, but I bet this review will help someone out!! I've made a couple of this skirt, and love it BUT I'm on the slim side and used fairly drapey knits which probably made a difference. Better luck with your next projecT!!
6/7/05 0:19 AM
Irene Q said...
Thanks - I'm sure I would have exactly the same problem so this has been very helpful!
6/7/05 7:55 AM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the head's-up on this style. I, too, have generous hips AND this pattern. I'll be careful in selecting fabric with lots of drape.
6/7/05 3:12 PM
AnneM said...
I actually did only added the length in the straight part, after it had already curved out. I did have to lesson the curve slightly to meet the original hem width (since otherwise it would have been VERY wide at the hem, if I simply extended down from there). While I do think it would work better in a different fabric, I will probably try to find myself a more flexible pattern. I'm thinking of taking a woven pattern, skipping the zipper, and making it in a knit. Thanks for the sympathy, everyone! :)
6/7/05 4:58 PM
drsue said...
Well, it really doesn't look that bad in the pic. It is flouncy around the thighs but it looks like fabric is doing that not your legs! Anyway the fabric probably makes a big difference on this skirt.
6/20/05 7:34 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Rats! I think that the style is a really good choice for those of us with hippy hips and the matching legs. Would you be willing to try it again, out of a softer fabric? How does it look from the back?
6/21/05 10:52 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't think anyone will be looking at your hips. This skirt shows off your tiny little waist so well and that's what I see. I'd try it again in a more drapy fabric.
6/21/05 11:46 AM
JDpenelope said...
Well, it doesn't look that bad to me, either, although black fabric is always challenging to photograph. I missed the original review and appreciate your reposting it. This is a cautionary tale, as I was planning on doing the same thing with this pattern--I already make enough sewing errors. As others have said, a drapier fabric MIGHT work.
6/21/05 12:20 PM
AnneM said...
This pattern has a fairly sharp flare out in the panels. I think I might try one next that has a more gradual increase. I'm certainly not going to throw out this pattern yet, though!
6/21/05 3:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: lyndle

Review
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now