SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4697 (Knit Wardrobe)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1839 times 
Reviewed by:AnneM
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About AnneMstarstar
Member since: 7/30/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 54
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/05 7:43 PM
Last Updated:12/4/10 2:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
This pattern has a fairly sharp flare out in the panels. I think I might try one next that has a more gradual increase. I'm certainly not going to throw out this pattern yet, though!
6/21/05 3:53 PM
JDpenelope said...
Well, it doesn't look that bad to me, either, although black fabric is always challenging to photograph. I missed the original review and appreciate your reposting it. This is a cautionary tale, as I was planning on doing the same thing with this pattern--I already make enough sewing errors. As others have said, a drapier fabric MIGHT work.
6/21/05 12:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I don't think anyone will be looking at your hips. This skirt shows off your tiny little waist so well and that's what I see. I'd try it again in a more drapy fabric.
6/21/05 11:46 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Rats! I think that the style is a really good choice for those of us with hippy hips and the matching legs. Would you be willing to try it again, out of a softer fabric? How does it look from the back?
6/21/05 10:52 AM
drsue said...
Well, it really doesn't look that bad in the pic. It is flouncy around the thighs but it looks like fabric is doing that not your legs! Anyway the fabric probably makes a big difference on this skirt.
6/20/05 7:34 PM
AnneM said...
I actually did only added the length in the straight part, after it had already curved out. I did have to lesson the curve slightly to meet the original hem width (since otherwise it would have been VERY wide at the hem, if I simply extended down from there). While I do think it would work better in a different fabric, I will probably try to find myself a more flexible pattern. I'm thinking of taking a woven pattern, skipping the zipper, and making it in a knit. Thanks for the sympathy, everyone! :)
6/7/05 4:58 PM
PixieCat said...
Thanks for the head's-up on this style. I, too, have generous hips AND this pattern. I'll be careful in selecting fabric with lots of drape.
6/7/05 3:12 PM
Irene Q said...
Thanks - I'm sure I would have exactly the same problem so this has been very helpful!
6/7/05 7:55 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Sorry this pattern didn't work for you, but I bet this review will help someone out!! I've made a couple of this skirt, and love it BUT I'm on the slim side and used fairly drapey knits which probably made a difference. Better luck with your next projecT!!
6/7/05 0:19 AM
Hilary said...
That's too bad! Well I'm glad you wrote the review anyway :o) I will think twice before making this style (which was previously tempting me :oP )
6/6/05 9:35 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
I hate it when that happens - So sorry
6/6/05 9:20 PM
lmg said...
Thank you for the information. I will definitely try a muslin with this as this skirt was to be my next muslin
6/6/05 8:41 PM
drsue said...
How unfortunate! I really like this pattern myself. and have made it up several times. Maybe if you are are lengthening it you should add length just on the straight part of the seams?
6/6/05 8:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 102 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 102  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now