SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Colette Patterns> 2002 (Albion)

6 more reviews
Viewed 130 times 
Reviewed by:ScaryMerry
photo

 
 
About ScaryMerrystar
NC USA
Member since: 9/12/12
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/14 7:09 PM
Last Updated:3/9/14 7:33 PM
Project Photo:Colette Patterns: 2002 by ScaryMerry

Colette Patterns: 2002 by ScaryMerry  Colette Patterns: 2002 by ScaryMerry  
Pattern Photo:Colette Patterns 2002
Colette Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by ScaryMerry

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    Coat/Jacket    Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Twill  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
From Colette's website-
"Invest some time in Albion to create a classic duffle style coat (version 1) or jacket (version 2). Each version features toggle closures, tailored two-piece sleeves, yoke details, and a stylish three-piece hood.

Version 1 is a mid-thigh length coat with patch pockets, in-seam pockets, a detachable hood tab, and flannel lining. Version 2 is a hip-length unlined jacket with a combination of felled and bound seams, in-seam pockets, and interior pockets.

Albion is a versatile, simple shape that transitions easily from menswear to women’s wear."

Pattern Sizing:
XS-XXL

For this, I used the size medium. That size fit me across the shoulders and sounded right based on the finished measurements. This pattern, as it's unisex, has more ease than I usually care to have, like if I was cutting it based on my measurements on the package, I would have needed a large which I think would have been too big. Indefinitely recommend picking your size based on the shoulder measurement and then altering as needed from there.

Like when I did my first fitting, I was thrilled that it fit so well across the shoulders and the sleeves were perfect without needing any alterations. Also, I'm an F cup and I didn't find myself needing to do an FBA.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I think this is a fabulous beginner coat pattern. Between the sewalong, the companion book Colette released to go with this pattern, and the wonderful pattern instructions themself, this coat is wonderful for people wanting to dip their toes into outerwear. Really, the instructions alone are fantastic, but the companion book and sewalong posts are great supplements if you want to make any alterations, whether they be stylistic or fitting issues.

The only instructions that I struggled with were on the part where you attached the lining to the sleeves. I puzzled over that between the companion book and instructions for ages, but eventually figured it out.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
It's so wonderfully drafted! Everything went together like a dream. Perhaps the inseam pockets are too big, but that doesn't particularly bother me because it means I stick my sunglasses case in on of the pockets and not worry about it looking weird or falling out (so much better than constantly digging for it in my bag). I tend to use my coat pockets like a second purse, so actually I love that I could fit virtually everything I usually carry with me in this coat. XD

Fabric Used:
For the shell, some sturdy cotton twill provided to me by Minerva Crafts as part of their blogger network, as well as quilting cotton for the lining (purchased myself).

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
Let's see... I flared out the side seams by like an inch from the waist down to add a little shaping and some extra room for my hips. Using a buckle and cotton webbing, I created a sort of belt on the back so I could cinch in the waist. I was originally going to do the drawstring modification from the sewalong, but I'm glad I got this idea instead because I think it looks much better with the look I was going for with this coat. I also added plenty of hand embroidery to the front and back yokes.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I could see myself sewing this again for a boyfriend maybe. This was a pretty involved project- I invested at least 30 hours into it, though to be fair that was partly because of all the hand embroidery and I really, really want to win that sewing contest that Colette is hosting for this pattern, so I pulled out all the stops on making this (I need a new sewing machine like woah). But as far as coat patterns go, this one is wonderfully drafts and straight forward, and it produces a wonderful final product without a lot of tailoring or anything like that.

So yes, I most definitely recommend it.

Conclusion:
I adore this pattern and I'm so glad that I bought it. This is my new favorite coat and I'm so very proud of it. For more pictures and info, check out my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nothy lane said...
I love your coat. The colour and the embroidery are amazing! Good job. Also - I am attaching the sleeves of mine right now, so I hear you when you say it can be a bit confusing. Again, fantastic job!
3/9/14 7:39 PM
atymonw said...
I love your coat, too. Especially the embroidery and the lining fabric. Good luck on that Bernina!
3/9/14 8:06 PM
KathleenS said...
Great coat. The colour's fabulous and I like your unique embroidery details.
3/9/14 8:27 PM
madbadger said...
Amazing coat! It's truly gorgeous! Best of luck with the contest!
3/9/14 8:43 PM
meadowclark said...
The coat is awesome. Beautiful embroidery and I also love the lining fabric.
3/9/14 8:53 PM
wildberrymom said...
Great coat--love the embroidery!
3/10/14 1:14 AM
MrsCharisma said...
Nice. Very cute with the toggles :)
3/10/14 3:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Simplicity 6122

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Christine Jonson Shirred Top & Princess Wrap

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 06/2012 #113

photo
by: thewall

Review