SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8856 (Misses Top)

9 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:SewWil
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewWilstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/10/10
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 187 people
patterns reviewed: 164
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/14 9:22 PM
Last Updated:2/26/14 9:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Love your version of this top! Fantastic use of your fabrics.
9/11/14 7:21 AM
Jeanette L. said...
I love the fabric choice you made with this top! Now that fall is around the corner I'm looking to make some long sleeve tops. Also, I appreciate all of the work you have posted including choice of fabric and the quality of your sewing and tailoring. It's very inspiring! Thank you.
8/23/14 3:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I missed your review previously. Wow you made this pattern look great. I never liked this pattern because of the garment the model is wearing, ugly fabric. Your top looks fabulous.
7/15/14 5:23 AM
KG2 said...
You should have done the pattern cover. I did not even give it a second glance 'til I saw your make. Great fabric choices. Love it
3/26/14 7:13 PM
megumi said...
Wow! Great pattern matching and the top is very flattering.
3/8/14 11:38 PM
Kay Y said...
I had exactly the same reaction as everyone else. This is gorgeous. What, however, was Vogue thinking?
3/7/14 7:06 AM
ceedee said...
I would have passed right past this pattern if all I saw was the company's pic. Your version is fabulous! It's attractive and so flattering. Vogue may owe you a thank you - I'm sure they'll be selling a few extra of these soon! Really, what a great eye you had for fabric and style; very cool.
3/3/14 2:21 PM
Sewcoastal said...
This really caught my eye, it's a perfect combination of fabrics. I want one ;)
3/1/14 11:08 PM
pamscott said...
Really lovely. Your version should be on pattern envelope .
3/1/14 7:33 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh wow! You hit a home run with this one - a true winner!
2/28/14 5:00 PM
STARG said...
What else can one say! I agree with everyone's comments and need to purchase this pattern ASAP.
2/28/14 11:50 AM
threaddy said...
Such a tasteful choice of fabrics. I think Vogue should change their photo to yours. Yours pops theirs looks like a wadder. Thank you so much for bringing this excellent pattern to life! VaVaVoom!
2/28/14 11:16 AM
sewing for fun said...
Agree with ArtAttack! Very creative fabric use, looks wonderful!
2/27/14 11:37 PM
prttynpnk said...
You saved this pattern from oblivion for me! Nicely done.
2/27/14 5:37 PM
aaltje said...
You did make the pattern interesting indeed, I totally agree with ArtAttack. What a fabulous shirt.
2/27/14 4:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! I hadn't even noticed this pattern and now I have to have it. I suddenly have so many ideas after seeing your version. As others have said Vogue should pay you.
2/27/14 3:43 PM
oldsewandsew said...
That is really a cute top! I'll have to get this pattern!
2/27/14 3:40 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Gorgeous combination. Have thjis pattern in my stash, now I want to use it! Thank you for the review. :) And I agree with Art Attack & Morisot
2/27/14 10:41 AM
Barbara said...
I love what you did with this pattern!
2/27/14 9:37 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Awesome! I love your interpretation. As always, your sewing is perfection
2/27/14 9:36 AM
clotheshorse said...
Fabulous top! That fabric is really gorgeous, you know how to combine fabric and patterns, too bad Vogue doesn't ! ;)
2/27/14 8:37 AM
cleverkitty said...
Lucy you hit the jackpot on this pattern, I'm buying it at the next vogue pattern sale. So this friend in Quebec I keep hearing about does she know we love her fabric she sends you, maybe your next trip back home I should meet up with you :)
2/27/14 7:42 AM
Guelphgurl said...
What everyone else said! Wonderful top!
2/27/14 6:28 AM
cocosloft said...
Well, you made a pretty top! Outdid the envelope pics by a mile! Very nice work.
2/27/14 6:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gosh, what a great look you've achieved.
2/27/14 5:45 AM
jlg said...
Very cool!
2/27/14 5:03 AM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous top! Your fabric choice is perfect and really showcases this pattern.
2/27/14 4:44 AM
jenmcn said...
I'll add my voice to the chorus--love it!
2/27/14 0:25 AM
frame said...
I wasn't even slightly attracted to this pattern before I saw your version. Nice job.
2/27/14 0:21 AM
Terri A said...
Oooooooh gorgeous top!
2/27/14 0:15 AM
Jrhee said...
I also agree - it is so much better than the pattern envelope!
2/26/14 11:57 PM
ISewedIt said...
I love the fabric you chose for this.
2/26/14 11:35 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful.
2/26/14 11:28 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a great top and I would have never looked at that pattern. Great job.
2/26/14 11:25 PM
Elona said...
This is startling! I would never have thought of this pattern based on the vogue illustration. Thanks for the heads up, and for showing your lovely Tee.
2/26/14 11:25 PM
chenille said...
You always have such a great, unique take on putting your fabrics together - another winner !
2/26/14 11:08 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
A perfect example of a great fabric making all the difference. What vision you had to sew this design in your beautiful knit. It's just wonderful.
2/26/14 11:05 PM
Barbara V said...
Totally fantastic! Love your fabric combinations.
2/26/14 10:43 PM
Sew Good said...
Gorgeous fabric! I love your shirt!
2/26/14 10:29 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, great blouse...I never looked twice at this pattern because the cover photo totally turned me off!! I agree --Vogue should contact you! Great job!
2/26/14 10:12 PM
sergette said...

2/26/14 10:11 PM
sergette said...
I agree with ArtAttack. The shiny cheesy fabric that Vogue used turned me off, but your choice really makes this pattern smoke! I like the way the angles and your use of the pattern and the solid accentuate the waist. Very nice.
2/26/14 10:11 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So cute! I made this for my daughter and she LOVES it! I should review it as well. It's very cute!
2/26/14 10:11 PM
Morisot said...
Vogue should pay you and put your version on their pattern envelope. Yours is fabulous!
2/26/14 9:59 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...never in a million years would I have looked at this pattern based on the envelope but yours is dynamite! What fabulous fabric! So unique and so you!
2/26/14 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6675

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review

Pattern

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now