SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8856 (Misses Top)

9 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:SewWil
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SewWilstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/10/10
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 187 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/26/14 9:22 PM
Last Updated:2/26/14 9:24 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Love your version of this top! Fantastic use of your fabrics.
9/11/14 7:21 AM
Jeanette L. said...
I love the fabric choice you made with this top! Now that fall is around the corner I'm looking to make some long sleeve tops. Also, I appreciate all of the work you have posted including choice of fabric and the quality of your sewing and tailoring. It's very inspiring! Thank you.
8/23/14 3:50 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I missed your review previously. Wow you made this pattern look great. I never liked this pattern because of the garment the model is wearing, ugly fabric. Your top looks fabulous.
7/15/14 5:23 AM
KG2 said...
You should have done the pattern cover. I did not even give it a second glance 'til I saw your make. Great fabric choices. Love it
3/26/14 7:13 PM
megumi said...
Wow! Great pattern matching and the top is very flattering.
3/8/14 11:38 PM
Kay Y said...
I had exactly the same reaction as everyone else. This is gorgeous. What, however, was Vogue thinking?
3/7/14 7:06 AM
ceedee said...
I would have passed right past this pattern if all I saw was the company's pic. Your version is fabulous! It's attractive and so flattering. Vogue may owe you a thank you - I'm sure they'll be selling a few extra of these soon! Really, what a great eye you had for fabric and style; very cool.
3/3/14 2:21 PM
Sewcoastal said...
This really caught my eye, it's a perfect combination of fabrics. I want one ;)
3/1/14 11:08 PM
pamscott said...
Really lovely. Your version should be on pattern envelope .
3/1/14 7:33 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Oh wow! You hit a home run with this one - a true winner!
2/28/14 5:00 PM
STARG said...
What else can one say! I agree with everyone's comments and need to purchase this pattern ASAP.
2/28/14 11:50 AM
threaddy said...
Such a tasteful choice of fabrics. I think Vogue should change their photo to yours. Yours pops theirs looks like a wadder. Thank you so much for bringing this excellent pattern to life! VaVaVoom!
2/28/14 11:16 AM
sewing for fun said...
Agree with ArtAttack! Very creative fabric use, looks wonderful!
2/27/14 11:37 PM
prttynpnk said...
You saved this pattern from oblivion for me! Nicely done.
2/27/14 5:37 PM
aaltje said...
You did make the pattern interesting indeed, I totally agree with ArtAttack. What a fabulous shirt.
2/27/14 4:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow! I hadn't even noticed this pattern and now I have to have it. I suddenly have so many ideas after seeing your version. As others have said Vogue should pay you.
2/27/14 3:43 PM
oldsewandsew said...
That is really a cute top! I'll have to get this pattern!
2/27/14 3:40 PM
Erin Sooit said...
Gorgeous combination. Have thjis pattern in my stash, now I want to use it! Thank you for the review. :) And I agree with Art Attack & Morisot
2/27/14 10:41 AM
Barbara said...
I love what you did with this pattern!
2/27/14 9:37 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Awesome! I love your interpretation. As always, your sewing is perfection
2/27/14 9:36 AM
clotheshorse said...
Fabulous top! That fabric is really gorgeous, you know how to combine fabric and patterns, too bad Vogue doesn't ! ;)
2/27/14 8:37 AM
cleverkitty said...
Lucy you hit the jackpot on this pattern, I'm buying it at the next vogue pattern sale. So this friend in Quebec I keep hearing about does she know we love her fabric she sends you, maybe your next trip back home I should meet up with you :)
2/27/14 7:42 AM
Guelphgurl said...
What everyone else said! Wonderful top!
2/27/14 6:28 AM
cocosloft said...
Well, you made a pretty top! Outdid the envelope pics by a mile! Very nice work.
2/27/14 6:27 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gosh, what a great look you've achieved.
2/27/14 5:45 AM
jlg said...
Very cool!
2/27/14 5:03 AM
Dilliander said...
Fabulous top! Your fabric choice is perfect and really showcases this pattern.
2/27/14 4:44 AM
jenmcn said...
I'll add my voice to the chorus--love it!
2/27/14 0:25 AM
frame said...
I wasn't even slightly attracted to this pattern before I saw your version. Nice job.
2/27/14 0:21 AM
Terri A said...
Oooooooh gorgeous top!
2/27/14 0:15 AM
Jrhee said...
I also agree - it is so much better than the pattern envelope!
2/26/14 11:57 PM
ISewedIt said...
I love the fabric you chose for this.
2/26/14 11:35 PM
cmcarr said...
Beautiful.
2/26/14 11:28 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a great top and I would have never looked at that pattern. Great job.
2/26/14 11:25 PM
Elona said...
This is startling! I would never have thought of this pattern based on the vogue illustration. Thanks for the heads up, and for showing your lovely Tee.
2/26/14 11:25 PM
chenille said...
You always have such a great, unique take on putting your fabrics together - another winner !
2/26/14 11:08 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
A perfect example of a great fabric making all the difference. What vision you had to sew this design in your beautiful knit. It's just wonderful.
2/26/14 11:05 PM
Barbara V said...
Totally fantastic! Love your fabric combinations.
2/26/14 10:43 PM
Sew Good said...
Gorgeous fabric! I love your shirt!
2/26/14 10:29 PM
Immelu said...
Wow, great blouse...I never looked twice at this pattern because the cover photo totally turned me off!! I agree --Vogue should contact you! Great job!
2/26/14 10:12 PM
sergette said...

2/26/14 10:11 PM
sergette said...
I agree with ArtAttack. The shiny cheesy fabric that Vogue used turned me off, but your choice really makes this pattern smoke! I like the way the angles and your use of the pattern and the solid accentuate the waist. Very nice.
2/26/14 10:11 PM
Sue Parrott said...
So cute! I made this for my daughter and she LOVES it! I should review it as well. It's very cute!
2/26/14 10:11 PM
Morisot said...
Vogue should pay you and put your version on their pattern envelope. Yours is fabulous!
2/26/14 9:59 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...never in a million years would I have looked at this pattern based on the envelope but yours is dynamite! What fabulous fabric! So unique and so you!
2/26/14 9:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sharon M

Review