SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8363 (Shirt and jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 206 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 159
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/13/14 2:08 AM
Last Updated:3/13/14 4:31 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 
Project Photo:Burda: 8363 by FreyaStark

Burda: 8363 by FreyaStark  Burda: 8363 by FreyaStark  
Pattern Photo:Burda 8363
Burda Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Great Wardrobe Builder
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton- Lawn  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern description:
A pattern for a semi-fitted jacket, tunic and T-shirt. I made view C, the tunic, which has a slit front with ties, bust darts, shoulder darts in the back, long sleeves and side slits.

Pattern sizing:
US sizes 10-24; European sizes 36-50. These tops are described as semi-fitted so, although view C looks like a fairly loose fit, I made the size that corresponded with my measurements rather than taking a chance on making a size smaller and adding more ease to the sides as an easy full bust adjustment.
The result is a good fit in the body, although perhaps slightly roomy in the shoulders.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Up to a point. I omitted the ties at the neck.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Not especially. Figuring out how to fit the neck binding and create the ties is difficult, and careful study of the diagrams is necessary. Even so I did not get it right.
Otherwise the garment is so easy to make that instructions are not essential.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I like the potential of view C for making an exotic-looking, "ethnic" top. I like the shoulder darts and definite bust darts, the length and the fit in the body.
I do not like the difficulty of making the ties work and wish the neckline was cut a bit higher as it is low enough to expose an awful lot of neck not my favourite look.
Note that the extra-long sleeves are not a fitting issue but a design effect. Needless to say, you could shorten them if desired. Three-quarter-length sleeves would look good on this top.

Fabric used:
Liberty lawn, a design called Sanhita released a few years ago, which I like because of its exotic look. It is not my favourite Liberty design but it seems appropriate for this tunic.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I moved the bust darts down about 2.5cm to coincide with the apex of my bust.
Try as I might I could not for the life of me turn the narrow fabric strings through. Burda's method of using a threaded needle and pulling it through did not work, and nothing else did, either. In the end I decided to dispense with the ties and just have an open neck, which I am pleased to report after a day's wear does not flop open but sits neatly.
The resulting neckline is lower than I would like and cries out to be filled with jewellery.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
I might make it again because I would like more tops of this kind. Otherwise I might try a different pattern that offers a similar look, such as Kwik Sew 3601 or Vogue 8117.
Have a go. You might succeed in making those ties turn through even if I didn't.

Conclusion:
This pattern could be a great wardrobe builder.
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quickie said...
Love your fabric choice for this versatile top
3/13/14 7:52 AM
jenleeC said...
Love your liberty fabric. Its lovely to sew with and divine to wear! I hate turning tubes too. One alternative to use a bias tape maker, then fold in half and sew from the outside.
3/13/14 10:15 AM
nicegirl said...
This is a great tunic--I really like that U neckline. Very nice fit. For turning skinny tubes, I like the bobby pin trick: http://dianem.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/ogden-art-group-meeting-neat-tube-turning-technique/
3/13/14 10:32 AM
Mufffet said...
REALLY nice top - looks so nice on you! You are right - you need more of these! :) nice change from the shirt look too when you want that.
3/13/14 11:54 AM
atymonw said...
A great choice of fabric and I love the jewelry you've styled it with! As for turning those tubes, I finally figured out the dritz tube turner. It's in how you get it started, gently, not by yanking on it, which is what I was doing.
3/13/14 4:58 PM
HRigg said...
Thanks for the helpful review. Nice top.
3/13/14 6:12 PM
carolynw said...
You have been missed. Nice to see your review and I really do like your top. Have made this and like you omitted the ties. It's a good pattern to have in the stash.Liberty lawn is such a beautiful fabric to sew.
3/13/14 7:52 PM
mm said...
Very nice fabric for this top. It looks as if it would be comfortable to wear.
3/14/14 5:10 AM
cleverclogs said...
A lovely top. You might have more success making thin ties with a tube turner.
3/14/14 6:13 AM
Margaret said...
Very nice -- great fabric choice. I think it looks just as good if not better without the ties, but I think what jenlee says is a good option too. Seems like it's done more often than not in RTW.
4/14/14 3:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6338

photo
by: Passion4Se...

Review

Pattern