SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kitschy Coo> Lady Skater Dress (Lady Skater Dress)

35 more reviews
Viewed 291 times 
Reviewed by:ScaryMerry
photo

 
 
About ScaryMerrystar
NC USA
Member since: 9/12/12
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/18/14 11:35 AM
Last Updated:3/22/14 12:50 PM
Project Photo:Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by ScaryMerry

Kitschy Coo: Lady Skater Dress by ScaryMerry  
Pattern Photo: Kitschy Coo Pattern Info

More Info provided by ScaryMerry

Pattern Rating:Easy & Great for Beginners
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Polyester Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
From the pattern website:
"This funky yet functional knit dress has a fitted bodice, scooped banded neckline, a curved flared knee-length skirt, and options for trimmed cap sleeves, or banded ¾ length sleeves or long sleeves. It's designed to flatter the figure with a waistline that hits at the natural waist and a skirt that gently skims over the lower waist and hips. In plainer fabrics the skater dress lends itself to a casual wardrobe staple that's cute with sneakers, or snag yourself a fancy fabric for a knock-out evening dress. There are eight sizes included in the pattern, ranging from a 30” to 44” high bust, and a 24” to 38” high waist. It's a perfect garment to make if you are new to sewing knits and very quick to sew up. The pattern itself prints over only 22 pages, and the tutorial takes two streams: a full photo tutorial with hints and tips for visual learners and a shorter crib sheet for more experienced garment sewers."

Pattern Sizing:
30"-44" high bust

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes! This is actually my fourth time sewing this pattern and it's turned out quite nice every time!

Were the instructions easy to follow?
The instructions are fabulous. I followed the abbreviated crib sheet the first time I made it and haven't needed the instructions since then, but I looked at the more detailed instructions for beginners and this pattern would be wonderful for someone working with knits for the first time. The full instructions really hold your hand and have pictures to show the way for knit newbies.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?

No complaints, really. Pretty much a perfect basic knit dress pattern.

Fabric Used:

For this version, I used a thick polyester "scuba knit" with a lot of stretch. For other versions, I've used cotton interlock, cotton jersey, and rayon jersey. I've had to make some fit adjustments for each kind of fabric, but every version I've made of this has looked quite nice.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

This is my #1 TNT pattern because I've made it enough that I know exactly what alterations I need every time. For me, I always have to take the shoulders in by like an inch and shorten the waist by like an inch as well. Sometimes, depending on the fabric, I need to take in the waist a bit too, though I didn't need to with this version.

In the past I've used clear elastic in the waist as instructed, but I didn't with this version because a) I wanted to do something quick and easy and my serger hates the clear elastic, b) I was out of clear elastic, and c) I don't really care if the waist stretches out any because I can easily take it in some more and I plan on always wearing a belt with this dress anyway.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Lol, like I said, I've sewn it four times. Definitely will sew it more. This pattern is tooooootally worth getting.

Conclusion:

What can I say, I'm a fan. Check out my blog for more pictures and more info about the fabric.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
neufy said...
WOW! I went and bought this pattern based on your blog post. I also picked up the new Kitschy Coo trifecta tshirt at the same time. I thought how cool to morph the two patterns together for a different look to the dress. I am a lot older than you but I love this! Love the fabric. It is sooo you! ps. Love the hair.
3/18/14 12:53 PM
caper81 said...
I think this is my favourite version of this dress yet! The galaxy print is so cool!!:) Matches your hair nicely;)
3/18/14 4:58 PM
Chococat said...
That dress is so rad.
3/18/14 5:54 PM
ClaireEmily said...
You look awesome in this outfit! Great work!
3/18/14 7:04 PM
EmeraldErin66 said...
I love the print and the contrasting bow!! You did such a good job, it looks great!
3/20/14 7:00 PM
AuntieShel said...
You are a great advertisement for this pattern!! So adorable!!
3/20/14 11:16 PM
Sew Good said...
So cute and I love the hair!!!
3/22/14 12:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

No Pattern Used Frankenfrenchy

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now