SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1539 (Misses' Knit Tunic or Top and Peplum Tops)

13 more reviews
Viewed 199 times 
Reviewed by:Sew Good
photo

 
 
About Sew Goodstar
CA USA
Member since: 12/28/04
Reviews written: 40
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/22/14 8:58 PM
Last Updated:3/22/14 10:31 PM
Project Photo:Simplicity: 1539 by Sew Good

Simplicity: 1539 by Sew Good  Simplicity: 1539 by Sew Good  
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 1539
Simplicity Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Recommend, with Modifications
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
The day started out nicely. Just getting over being sick but feeling excited about sewing all day. My first garment of the day turned out beautifully but this one, well not so good.

I should have know better. I pre-washed the fabric only to find spots all over! Where did they come from?!! I washed it twice more. Still a few spots left, so last night I decided to cut around the spots. Thought I was taking my time and I thought I placed everything correctly. I had no trouble fitting all the pieces onto this remnant which was 1/4 yard too short. Hmmm, could this be a sign?

Pattern Sizing: I made my standard size 8. This was a multi-sized pattern so I could have made the upper portion a bit larger since this ponte did not have a lot of stretch to it. But, I did not.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Magically, it did.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the peplum shirt I saw on Pintrest and wanted to copy it. I also liked the idea of an exposed zipper which I had never done before.

Fabric Used: Cream colored Ponte Roma remnant on sale at JA's

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I didn't want any seams showing on the bottom of the bow so I cut a second bow out of nude tricot. I made the length of the tricot slightly shorter so that the white fabric would roll under a bit. This worked beautifully. I also used the same method on on the sleeve part of the bow as the instructions showed for the neck so, again, I would not have any top-stitching showing in the front. Worked fine, except I think it would have looked nice if I had used a thinner fabric. Slightly thick seams even after trimming.

Now to sew on the peplum. On dear! I cut two peplums. One is correct and one is not. No more fabric left, I'll have to chop and sew a seam.

This shirt is taking a considerable amount of sewing time because most of the work is done on the sewing machine and not the serger.

Coming to the home stretch...I'll serge the side seams, then hem and I'm done. Not so fast. Broke my serger needle. Don't have another. I have every other needle available including leather needles but not one package of serger needles. Really?

I'll just baste on the sewing machine and try it on. Usually I have to take it in a bit on the sides anyway.

What? Too small! Damn boobs. Always in the way. Sigh. I hope my daughter likes this. Hopefully someone else can wear it. At least the zipper looks nice, right?

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes, I would recommend the pattern. Yes, I'm going to try it again. I already have plans to make a different view in a print. I guess I'll make a FBA before I cut.

Conclusion: Make a muslin first

Update: The shirt fits my daughter perfectly and she loves it! Picture added. The day ended perfectly after all!

Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
What a lovely top! So sad it doesn't fit... You bow construction makes so much sense. Thanks for posting.
3/22/14 10:08 PM
RadarRadiance said...
It is adorable on your daughter and fits her perfect. I love the white in it so glad you got it to work. Very cute pattern! I have almost picked this up a couple times but don't think it will work well with my body type.... :-(
3/22/14 10:39 PM
supizoo said...
It is absolutely gorgeous!!! I commiserate on all of the mishaps but you did make me laugh!
3/22/14 10:48 PM
Quickie said...
It is beautiful on her.
3/22/14 11:38 PM
MrsCharisma said...
One of those days, eh? Glad it worked out in the end! Beautiful top and even more beautiful daughter. She looks happy too!!!
3/22/14 11:52 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I fell in love with the Pinterest version and bought the same pattern to use. Your version looks great and glad your daughter loves it. Helpful information how you did the front bow and will keep this in mind when I some day make this. Great job with zipper
3/23/14 8:32 AM
Danmar said...
Very attractive blouse. Love the peplum too and I think your skills are tops!
3/23/14 10:58 AM
threaddy said...
DARLING!!!
3/23/14 11:04 AM
STARG said...
Looks like it fits your daughter well. Love the white with the dark zip.
3/23/14 12:07 PM
chenille said...
It's gorgeous and so glad it fit your DD - it looks like you had planned it that way!
3/23/14 2:03 PM
Jstarr4250 said...
Beautiful!
3/23/14 7:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now