SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8630 (Misses' Dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 279 times 
Reviewed by:Jewelia14
photo

 
 
About Jewelia14star
ON CANADA
Member since: 6/22/09
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/30/14 2:32 PM
Last Updated:3/30/14 2:38 PM
Project Photo:Vogue Patterns: 8630 by Jewelia14

Pattern Photo:Vogue Patterns 8630
Vogue Patterns Pattern Info

More Info provided by Jewelia14

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Wool Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: Lined knee-length dress with collar. Sleeveless or with three-quarter length lined sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: 6-22. I made a 12.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, aside from my modifications, detailed below.

Were the instructions easy to follow? For the most part. For some reason I found the back vent confusing, but I eventually figured out how to match the right sides of the lining and the dress together.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love the collar on this dress. That's why I bought this pattern. I modified the collar slightly (details below) to make it exactly what I wanted. I like that there's a full lining, although a lot of hand-sewing is required to get a perfect finish inside (zipper, sleeves). I also like that separate pattern pieces are provided for A, B, C, D cup sizes. I used the A cup and didn't have to adjust the darts at all.

Fabric Used: My mom bought all of this fabric for me for my birthday, and even included a zipper and thread. It's a beautiful green wool. I'm pretty sure the lining is Bemberg.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: The biggest modification is the collar. I wanted the ends to overlap a bit more, so I extended the pattern piece at both ends. It took a lot of futzing to get the overlap exactly as I wanted. I had to fiddle with the width and the length and the angles of the ends, and ended up cutting off a lot of my original extensions. The result is pretty close to what I envisioned. Here's a picture of how it turned out.

Since this is a winter dress, I wanted full sleeves, so I extended the pattern pieces to get the right length.

I also pegged the skirt. I used Erica's ratio of the hem should be 4 inches narrower than the widest point of the hip.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I probably won't sew this again, as there's too many other patterns on my list, but I would recommend this pattern.

Conclusion: This dress ended up being my entry in Julia Bobbin's annual Mad Men dress challenge. I love that it has a vintage style that's perfect for today. I can see myself wearing this dress a lot. Read more on my blog.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
Oh my - what a lovely fitting dress and you cleaned up/organized too (had a quick look at your blog)...congratulations!!
3/30/14 3:16 PM
Mmmberry said...
That's a really beautiful dress!
3/30/14 3:49 PM
marjenann said...
The collar is perfect! Really sets off the dress! Worth the extra effort. The dress is stunning! You look lovely!
3/30/14 4:32 PM
marjenann said...

3/30/14 4:33 PM
kajero said...
What a beautiful dress! The collar is fantastic and I love the coordinating button. You look stunning!
3/30/14 6:03 PM
MrsCharisma said...
So sophisticated. I love it!! All the futzing around surely paid off :)
3/30/14 6:45 PM
TJSEWS said...
Beautiful, classy dress. Gorgeous.
3/30/14 7:26 PM
SewLibra said...
Stunning dress! You did a great job and it looks so nice on you.
3/31/14 2:08 AM
AnneM said...
Nice birthday present. I like your collar modification; it's a nice twist on the style.
3/31/14 6:49 AM
CraftAddict said...
Very nice! Love the collar modification.
3/31/14 11:10 AM
Lauradublin said...
Love your dress. Looks very vintage!
4/6/14 2:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Silhouette Patterns 115

photo
by: Ms. McCall

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
Other That Darn Kat

photo
by: wenznz

Review