Online Sewing Class: Altering Pants
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-122 (September cover dress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 221 times 
Reviewed by:Elizabeth made this
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elizabeth made thisstarstarstar
Member since: 8/8/07
Reviews: 119 (patterns: 116)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/8/14 4:44 PM
Last Updated:4/6/15 4:16 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Project Photo:BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this

BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this  BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-122 by Elizabeth made this  
Pattern Photo:

Pattern Info provided by Elizabeth made this

Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
Fabric:Ponte Knit  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description: fitted knit sheath dress with several horizontal seams that wrap around to the back of the dress

Pattern Sizing:17-21

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?yes, minus the sleeve flaps

Were the instructions easy to follow?The numbered seams make this dress very quick and simple to put together. I didn't read the printed directions, but I can't imagine them being clearer than the numbered seam diagram. There's times that words complicate matters, and this is one of them.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I hate the sleeve flaps. They look absurd to me. But others had eliminated them successfully, so when the right bit of ponte fell into my lap, I went for it.

The rest of the dress I love. The silhouette is not unlike the Breakfast at Tiffany's dress and the seaming adds a modern twist to it.
Fabric Used:Blush ponte knit from Vogue Fabrics in Chicago (Downtown location)

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:I had to bring the inner edge of the shoulder in for strap coverage and because my narrow shoulder adjustment would have narrowed the shoulder seam too much.

The dress is also quite long--midi length on me which is not terribly flattering. I can't remember precisely how much I shortened it, but I think it was about 3".

I also eliminated the facings and opted to underline the top 2 front sections and the back yoke with powernet (the pieces involved in the armscye) which made for a clean finish and no floppy facing issues.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?This was hands down the most fun dress I've ever made. A zipper and some walking vents would not be bad additions to this dress as it is fitted and doesn't allow for a ton of movement. Ponte isn't the most stretchy of all of the knits, so think about a vent or a zipper if you make this dress. I almost ripped out a shoulder when I mistakenly put the dress on backwards.

Conclusion: A lovely dress for the opera.
More on my blog.
Elizabeth Made This: A dress for the opera
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
liliv said... (4/6/15 6:55 PM) Reply
It's amazing, a real stunner!
Harriet29 said... (4/6/15 4:23 PM) Reply
How elegant - all ready for a night on the town!!!
madbadger said... (4/11/14 12:05 PM) Reply
I love this - so unique & elegant, nice job!
Quickie said... (4/9/14 9:26 AM) Reply
You looked wonderful at the opera. I also think that your accessories were nice
becca a said... (4/9/14 9:08 AM) Reply
Gorgeous dress! The color is lovely on you, and the seaming and fit are glorious. Lovely dress for the opera.
supizoo said... (4/8/14 5:16 PM) Reply
Elegant colour, beautiful shape, I hope you enjoyed the opera.
Speech girl said... (4/8/14 4:46 PM) Reply
Lovely! The color suits you.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Linings
All About Linings

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details