Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 10793-1001 - Type:Lingerie    printable version
Viewed 996 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:JoleneF
photo
About JoleneFstar
IA USA
Member since: 1/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/05 3:00 PM
Last Updated:6/19/05 3:10 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
Wow, Jolene, I think it turned out great! I think you did an amazing job. I'm so glad you are feeling well enough to tackle this project! :-) An easy way to tame slippery silkies is to spray them with spray starch. The starch stiffens the fabric just enough to make it a little easier to handle. It would be good to test the crosswise stretch of future fabrics (or cut them on the bias) - some polyester silkies are so firmly woven that they have no give whatsoever (as you found out). If you can't find anything suitable I'd just add more ease and cut your fabric on the bias (for the back and lower front only).
6/19/05 3:25 PM
Stitchology said...
I think it's awesome for the first try. A very exacting garment with lots of detail and shaping. I suggest reducing the curve at the botttom of the center cup seam, as it seems too rounded and roomy for your fit. Otherwise I think the tweaks you've already thought of and Gigi's idea about bias would be good. You could make one or two changes at a time and see how it evolves rather than trying to leap ahead too many steps. You've done an impressive job.
6/19/05 4:42 PM
mudcat said...
Jolene, I agree that you've done an excellent job, especially for a first attempt.
6/19/05 5:47 PM
drsue said...
Very good for a first try from a RTW garment! I've never made anything like this myself.
6/19/05 9:05 PM
Levone said...
Good job on your first try. I admire those who attempt to copy a RTW piece.
6/19/05 9:13 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Great job, Jolene! That is so cool to make a copy of your RTW camisole.
6/20/05 0:19 AM
Irene said...
Wow--looks wonderful. You'll end up with a camisole wardrobe that you can replenish at your whim.
6/20/05 0:23 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Yay Jolene, you did it! Your next one will fit perfectly. You could cut them a little bigger, then add a little elastic in the back, and to the last few inches of the straps in back, so it gives a little.

One thing I have found to be a wonderful option on the straps, is to have them cross in the back...you'll never have a strap fall off your shoulder again.
6/20/05 3:21 AM

Meguiar said...
Great job! I'll be interested to read what changes/improvements you make in the future. What an accomplishment to knock off RTW lingerie - three cheers for you!
6/20/05 7:09 AM
JoleneF said...
Thanks everyone, it really was an education. I picked up some more fabric today so we will see how the next one goes. I do appreciate all the tips, I have so much to learn yet.
6/20/05 12:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by loti on 9/16/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 6857-1006
photo
Review by Liana on 8/6/09
Read Review

McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us