SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Grainline Studio> 31002 (Scout Woven Tee)

47 more reviews
Viewed 533 times 
Reviewed by:schmammy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About schmammystar
TX USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 12
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:4/25/14 1:18 PM
Project Photo:Grainline Studio: 31002 by schmammy

Grainline Studio: 31002 by schmammy  Grainline Studio: 31002 by schmammy  
Pattern Photo:Grainline Studio 31002
Grainline Studio Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Pattern OK, but did NOT work for Me
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
Current Tags What is a Tag: Digital Patterns  
Fabric:Polyester Woven  [See other projects in this fabric]
Pattern Description:
A basic woven tee shirt, well drafted and popular among PR members.

Pattern Sizing:
I made an 18.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
Yes.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I love the idea of a woven tee. However, this one just doesn't work for me because of the fit in the bust.

Fabric Used:
polyester woven

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I removed almost 1" from the shoulder seams and redrew the armholes. I also added a French dart (value of 3/4") to each side.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Actually, I do recommend it to others, especially if you are smaller in the bust or enjoy playing with darts, etc. (Hey, someone out there MUST like doing that!)

Conclusion:
I won't sew this again for myself. Many PR members are suggesting bias cut tees for a better full bust fit. This will be my next direction. This shirt is fine for around the house or a quick trip to the store.
Available for sale on PR: $9.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Too bad it didn't work out. FWIW, I found the fit to be not so good either. I chose to make mine in a knit fabric which I much prefer. I have been following the topic on the forums about this tee and will try a bias cut tee.
4/25/14 1:27 PM
sacjeanie said...
Thank you for sharing your pattern conclusions.
4/25/14 1:33 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
I suggest you rotate the french dart into a horizontal side seam dart. It will had more length to the center front. I'm sure your results would be better.
4/25/14 1:52 PM
Andi said...
I agree with KMQ, a horizontal bust dart will help your fit. If that works, and you try it again, you will have to add to the bottom of the front piece the same amount that you too up in the dart.
4/25/14 2:15 PM
diane s said...
I probably would have the same results. My suggestion would be to make a little larger dart and rotate it into the shoulder seam and turn it into shirring or small tucks.
4/25/14 2:28 PM
donna wicks said...
If you add a front dart it will give more room for your bust and it will fit much better.
4/25/14 3:30 PM
meadowclark said...
Yup! My experience also...
4/25/14 4:34 PM
lca said...
Why don't you take some better photos which show more and post this in fitting woes? I think you will get some suggestions on how to fix this.
4/25/14 4:47 PM
supizoo said...
Your fabric is really pretty. Thanks for posting your review. I have the opposite fitting issue to you but I enjoy sharing your journey and always learn something from these types of reviews and the comments posted by the PR community. Thanks!
4/25/14 5:02 PM
Sewliz said...
I agree with you on this one. My scout versions have the very same problems and I am quite small busted. It's amazing how similar out scout tees look on our very different body types!
4/25/14 5:33 PM
simplystitches said...
Actually I don't think you're that far off on a good fit. Your ss are swinging forward and there's some puddling in the middle back. If you take a tuck in the back to nothing at the ss it will pull the ss back into position and eliminate the tenting that you've got in the front. Then rotate the French dart into a bust dart and I think you'd have a much better fit.
4/25/14 9:59 PM
grey ann said...
Schammy - you and I have similar shapes (and ages!) I agree with Andi and others: go back to the original pattern and select your size by your high bust (underarm) measurement and then do a classic Full Bust Adjustment. That way the shoulders will fit better. I'm not familiar with this pattern, but that is what I do to get a garment like this to fit my D-cup girls. You have to make sure you add that extra to the bottom. I bet you'll have a better fit. I'd give it a try as many seem to have success with this pattern.
4/26/14 12:36 PM
Clareew said...
Thanks for your review, the quest for your holy grail - the woven tee which flatters continues.
4/26/14 6:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

McCall's 5859

photo
by: SuzyBee

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now