SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Grainline Studio> 31002 (Scout Woven Tee)

58 more reviews
Viewed 589 times 
Reviewed by:schmammy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About schmammystar
TX USA
Member since: 12/5/06
Reviews written: 12
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2013
Posted on:4/25/14 1:18 PM


Grainline Studio: 31002 by schmammy  Grainline Studio: 31002 by schmammy  


Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clareew said...
Thanks for your review, the quest for your holy grail - the woven tee which flatters continues.
4/26/14 6:00 PM
grey ann said...
Schammy - you and I have similar shapes (and ages!) I agree with Andi and others: go back to the original pattern and select your size by your high bust (underarm) measurement and then do a classic Full Bust Adjustment. That way the shoulders will fit better. I'm not familiar with this pattern, but that is what I do to get a garment like this to fit my D-cup girls. You have to make sure you add that extra to the bottom. I bet you'll have a better fit. I'd give it a try as many seem to have success with this pattern.
4/26/14 12:36 PM
simplystitches said...
Actually I don't think you're that far off on a good fit. Your ss are swinging forward and there's some puddling in the middle back. If you take a tuck in the back to nothing at the ss it will pull the ss back into position and eliminate the tenting that you've got in the front. Then rotate the French dart into a bust dart and I think you'd have a much better fit.
4/25/14 9:59 PM
Sewliz said...
I agree with you on this one. My scout versions have the very same problems and I am quite small busted. It's amazing how similar out scout tees look on our very different body types!
4/25/14 5:33 PM
supizoo said...
Your fabric is really pretty. Thanks for posting your review. I have the opposite fitting issue to you but I enjoy sharing your journey and always learn something from these types of reviews and the comments posted by the PR community. Thanks!
4/25/14 5:02 PM
lca said...
Why don't you take some better photos which show more and post this in fitting woes? I think you will get some suggestions on how to fix this.
4/25/14 4:47 PM
meadowclark said...
Yup! My experience also...
4/25/14 4:34 PM
donna wicks said...
If you add a front dart it will give more room for your bust and it will fit much better.
4/25/14 3:30 PM
diane s said...
I probably would have the same results. My suggestion would be to make a little larger dart and rotate it into the shoulder seam and turn it into shirring or small tucks.
4/25/14 2:28 PM
Andi said...
I agree with KMQ, a horizontal bust dart will help your fit. If that works, and you try it again, you will have to add to the bottom of the front piece the same amount that you too up in the dart.
4/25/14 2:15 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
I suggest you rotate the french dart into a horizontal side seam dart. It will had more length to the center front. I'm sure your results would be better.
4/25/14 1:52 PM
sacjeanie said...
Thank you for sharing your pattern conclusions.
4/25/14 1:33 PM
Deepika said...
Too bad it didn't work out. FWIW, I found the fit to be not so good either. I chose to make mine in a knit fabric which I much prefer. I have been following the topic on the forums about this tee and will try a bias cut tee.
4/25/14 1:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

McCall's 6513

photo
by: NhiHuynh

Review
Butterick 5749

photo
by: Naehfreund...

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

More Info
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

More Info