Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3032 (Skirt with Flounce) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1533 times 47 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/05 6:35 PM
Last Updated:6/24/05 6:35 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Very nice touch with the rounded flounces. The skirt looks like a good fit and good length.
6/24/05 6:47 PM
Princess Jenny said...
I love how feminine your skirt is. And it is such a pretty color on you, too. :) The flounces are so nice rounded---I may have to borrow this technique on some of the flounce skirt patterns I have. I have been wanting to do the serged elastic waist band, but how do you know how long to cut the elastic? I always make the casings and use the skinny elastic---but I like the method of application you used much better.
6/24/05 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for sharing this idea on the flounce alteration! Your skirt came out very nicely.
6/24/05 7:47 PM
jlg said...
I love the rounded flounce. It's amazing what a difference that it makes.
6/24/05 8:22 PM
Hilary said...
How pretty! I love the rounded flounce, and I am going to try the dart idea for the back elastic treatment. Thanks!
6/24/05 8:28 PM
Patti B said...
Princess Jenny, I cut my elastic 5 inches shorter than my waist which is 2 inches shorter for my size than KwikSew lists on the pattern. I butt the elastic ends against each other and use a zigzag or joining stitch to sew them together and then serge onto the waist. This way there is no little bump where they overlap. Hmm, guess I'm picky about elastic!
6/24/05 8:35 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Thank you so much, Patti. :) I will have to give this a try.
6/24/05 8:36 PM
Deepika said...
Patii, what a great idea. The rounded flounces do look great and this is such a great way to change this pattern for a different look. I might have to copy you :)
6/24/05 9:48 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
6/24/05 10:26 PM
flowermama said...
Great idea on the rounded flounces! I'm a sheep and will have to copy this too. :)
6/25/05 1:23 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Oh, I love this skirt, you did very good, color is fabulous and the review is very well written, thank you!:-)
6/25/05 1:36 AM
JoleneF said...
Very pretty and very informative, thank-you.
6/25/05 6:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a beautiful, flattering skirt on you. Thanks for the idea of using the darts with an elastic waistband application. One of the reasons I shy away from them is too much fullness which adds pounds to my figure. Thanks for that tip!
6/25/05 7:28 AM
JDpenelope said...
Too cute! Your review makes me want to try an elastic waist skirt again--this time with the right size. :-) The rounded flounce is a stroke of genius.
6/25/05 8:05 AM
Peggy L said...
Another sheep in the flock! Looks great!
6/25/05 9:24 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Hey that's clever! I really like your inspiration to round the flounce, it's very leg-flattering that way.
6/25/05 6:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the change you made with the flounce. Great idea. Skirt looks very nice on you.
6/25/05 7:20 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Neat flounce alteration! Great idea! How very productive you are--you must be looking forward to traveling. I am literally sitting in a new version of this skirt; made today. I wasn't going to make another one because it would be my 4th, but thanks to your inspiration I can think about a 5th without getting too repetitive. Thank you!
6/26/05 10:44 AM
MaryBeth said...
I've been meaning to tell you how much I love your detailed flounce. Thanks for the great idea!
6/28/05 4:28 PM
Shirleyjoy said...
Cute touch with the rounded flounces. Looks wonderful!
8/19/07 10:35 AM
ukdame said...
Love the fit and color. I made my first flounce on a little dress for my DGD but as the edges of the soft seersucker were too difficult to get a tiny pressed edge I tried serging it in a contrast color. Luckily it came out OK. I would like to try this pattern. Would a double knit be too heavy? BTW I was curious as to what you are holding in the pic :)
5/2/10 8:46 PM
Patti B said...
ukdame, I think a doubleknit would be very nice but definitely use wider elastic than the 1/4 inch it calls for. Adding darts will help control the bulk, especially if your knit is heavier. I'm holding my camera -- didn't have a tripod then. ;-)
5/3/10 10:09 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us