SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3032 (Skirt with Flounce)

47 more reviews
Viewed 1535 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/05 6:35 PM
Last Updated:6/24/05 6:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CarolynGM said...
Very nice touch with the rounded flounces. The skirt looks like a good fit and good length.
6/24/05 6:47 PM
Princess Jenny said...
I love how feminine your skirt is. And it is such a pretty color on you, too. :) The flounces are so nice rounded---I may have to borrow this technique on some of the flounce skirt patterns I have. I have been wanting to do the serged elastic waist band, but how do you know how long to cut the elastic? I always make the casings and use the skinny elastic---but I like the method of application you used much better.
6/24/05 7:06 PM
AnneM said...
Thanks for sharing this idea on the flounce alteration! Your skirt came out very nicely.
6/24/05 7:47 PM
jlg said...
I love the rounded flounce. It's amazing what a difference that it makes.
6/24/05 8:22 PM
Hilary said...
How pretty! I love the rounded flounce, and I am going to try the dart idea for the back elastic treatment. Thanks!
6/24/05 8:28 PM
Patti B said...
Princess Jenny, I cut my elastic 5 inches shorter than my waist which is 2 inches shorter for my size than KwikSew lists on the pattern. I butt the elastic ends against each other and use a zigzag or joining stitch to sew them together and then serge onto the waist. This way there is no little bump where they overlap. Hmm, guess I'm picky about elastic!
6/24/05 8:35 PM
Princess Jenny said...
Thank you so much, Patti. :) I will have to give this a try.
6/24/05 8:36 PM
Deepika said...
Patii, what a great idea. The rounded flounces do look great and this is such a great way to change this pattern for a different look. I might have to copy you :)
6/24/05 9:48 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty.
6/24/05 10:26 PM
flowermama said...
Great idea on the rounded flounces! I'm a sheep and will have to copy this too. :)
6/25/05 1:23 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Oh, I love this skirt, you did very good, color is fabulous and the review is very well written, thank you!:-)
6/25/05 1:36 AM
JoleneF said...
Very pretty and very informative, thank-you.
6/25/05 6:57 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is a beautiful, flattering skirt on you. Thanks for the idea of using the darts with an elastic waistband application. One of the reasons I shy away from them is too much fullness which adds pounds to my figure. Thanks for that tip!
6/25/05 7:28 AM
JDpenelope said...
Too cute! Your review makes me want to try an elastic waist skirt again--this time with the right size. :-) The rounded flounce is a stroke of genius.
6/25/05 8:05 AM
Peggy L said...
Another sheep in the flock! Looks great!
6/25/05 9:24 AM
Cambric Tea said...
Hey that's clever! I really like your inspiration to round the flounce, it's very leg-flattering that way.
6/25/05 6:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Like the change you made with the flounce. Great idea. Skirt looks very nice on you.
6/25/05 7:20 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Neat flounce alteration! Great idea! How very productive you are--you must be looking forward to traveling. I am literally sitting in a new version of this skirt; made today. I wasn't going to make another one because it would be my 4th, but thanks to your inspiration I can think about a 5th without getting too repetitive. Thank you!
6/26/05 10:44 AM
MaryBeth said...
I've been meaning to tell you how much I love your detailed flounce. Thanks for the great idea!
6/28/05 4:28 PM
Shirleyjoy said...
Cute touch with the rounded flounces. Looks wonderful!
8/19/07 10:35 AM
ukdame said...
Love the fit and color. I made my first flounce on a little dress for my DGD but as the edges of the soft seersucker were too difficult to get a tiny pressed edge I tried serging it in a contrast color. Luckily it came out OK. I would like to try this pattern. Would a double knit be too heavy? BTW I was curious as to what you are holding in the pic :)
5/2/10 8:46 PM
Patti B said...
ukdame, I think a doubleknit would be very nice but definitely use wider elastic than the 1/4 inch it calls for. Adding darts will help control the bulk, especially if your knit is heavier. I'm holding my camera -- didn't have a tripod then. ;-)
5/3/10 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8280

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now