Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5173 (6 skorts made easy) - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 1332 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Jeanine
photo
About Jeaninestar
MI USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/05 7:21 AM
Last Updated:6/25/05 7:39 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurieo said...
It looks like you did a nice job with the construction. As far as the fit goes, it's really not bad. I think that you could use a little more ease along the hip area. Also, the crotch curve in the back looks a little high - but that might just be the angle of the picture. All in all, I think you did a nice job!
6/25/05 8:30 PM
Tiner W said...
These are really cute! I like the length and the fabric you chose!
6/25/05 8:32 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Oh but that's cute! Why didn't I buy any of that stretch poplin?!? *pout* I think the fit through the seat looks good as long as it feels right to you. (I'm one of those that likes my pants a little booty-huggin'.) I do agree that you could use some front hip ease, though. All that aside, your skort looks really great and that mitered corner is *perfect*! Well done.
6/25/05 8:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Nice construction and mitre. I think if you added a little more to the hip area the back would fit better, too. That should take care of the drag line. We have the same body style - waist? What is a waist?
6/25/05 9:27 PM
hongkongshopper said...
If you have a "bump", you need more fabric to go over it. So the solution maybe to add more fabric to the top (just the tummy area) and then it would not pull up. Fit For Real People covers this situation very well. I'm not so sure about adding width to the sides unless you feel it is too tight around the butt. Maybe a little bit, but it depends on how you like it. I think more lengthto cover the tummy. Try, and see what you think. And nice mitre!
6/26/05 1:17 AM
CarolynGM said...
The fit is pretty darn good right out of the envelope. I do think that you need a little more length in the CB seam though. In the photo, it looks like tightness there might be making the inseams hike up - might just be the picture, but it's something to check.
6/26/05 4:39 AM
PixieCat said...
Nice skort and your fabric sure is fun! The mitered corner looks beautiful.
6/26/05 5:29 AM
Hilary said...
This is *so* cute on you! I think the fit is very good for straight from the envelope! I think a tiny bit more width through the hips (maybe an inch total?) would help, there's a very slight tightness through the back, and also maybe a little more length in the back crotch. I personally would add width to go over the tummy-again not much, maybe an inch. Looks good!
6/26/05 7:39 AM
ryan's mom said...
Those skorts are really nice, and paired with the top it is such a nice summer outfit. It's tough for me to make a call on the fit issue. You don't look like you have a big tummy, may just a little looser at the side seams would work? Agreeing with the above post that PFRP or FFRP make give you a better perspective on what type of alteration to make.
6/26/05 8:49 AM
Jeanine said...
Ok, so I should add some width to the side seams, and add some more length to the back crotch. Is this "scooping out" the crotch? I am going to try it again, I will post new pics here when alterations are done. Thanks everyone! This is some great advice!
6/26/05 9:48 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Really cute skort. Adding to length over tummy; maybe letting out the side seams a tad. Not a bad fit in my opinion. You did a great job with the mitered corner. I have yet to get something that nice. Lovely fabric!
6/26/05 3:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Nice job on a cute outfit. I'm not skilled enough to know the cause of the folds in the front, so I'll defer to the skilled sewists who have given you advice to add more ease in the hip, which seems right. The fit looks very good in back, but how does it feel when you sit? It shouldn't take much for you to perfect this fit.
6/26/05 5:22 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute. Great mitre.
6/26/05 5:58 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I have this pattern too, but the alterations keep me from trying it. Your fit right out of the envelope is superb. I'm very impressed, they look very cute on you.
6/27/05 0:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-3 Ottobre
photo
Review by blue moone... on 6/29/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3715 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Butterick 3880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4589 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 3/22/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us