Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4549 (Tiered skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1269 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/05 12:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sew2little said...
I've seen Patti in this skirt in person--and the photos don't really do justice to how cute she looks in it! Who would think that an extra easy Simplicity pattern would yield such great results?
6/30/05 12:36 PM
sherri2sew said...
You and me, too, Patti! How do these kids put up with their clothes almost falling off?? It distracts me to have something rest way below my waist. Thanks lots for the review - very helpful. I just got this pattern for DD1 and was hoping it was actually like the picture and rested on the hips. Both my DDs think wearing skirts at the waist is so "old lady". But I'm like you, if it's not at my waist it drives me crazy because I keep pulling it up (I don't like the feeling that my skirt is falling down!).
6/30/05 12:49 PM
sherri2sew said...

6/30/05 12:52 PM
NancyDaQ said...
Patti, very cute! I have this pattern too and perhaps I can get to it this weekend. I have a hint to pass on relating to yokes--I learned this when I was making the Lotus Skirt from the Sewing workshop. Didn't want to miss with a $10 pattern. Trace off and make a mock up off the yoke in each size that might fit (yes including a zipper!). Try on until you get the right fit, then cut the rest of the pattern from that. My hips are located high on my bod, so the correct size in a yoke is always a bit "iffy"--but taking the time to fit the yoke really works well.
6/30/05 1:03 PM
Patti B said...
Nanflan, that's a great idea for the next yoked skirt. I've been using the soil separator paper for my 'muslins' -- anyone else do this? sew2little, thanks, girl -- it'll be nice when my photographer comes home; maybe I'll have better photos?
6/30/05 2:28 PM
Hilary said...
Your skirt is cute! So summery, and the colors are pretty. Thanks for the tips!
6/30/05 3:07 PM
bunz said...
Your SWAP is happening FAST! Congrats. Is the yoke cut on the straignt grain? I need a yoke for my skirts, too.
6/30/05 4:09 PM
Patti B said...
bunz, the yoke has the straight grain in the CF and CB. It's a nice pattern and easy-peasy.
6/30/05 4:18 PM
Mirza said...
Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it in my stash and am looking forward to making. Great idea from nanflan about the yoke!!!
6/30/05 4:34 PM
AnneM said...
I've been seeing a number of these. My 1st yoke (which I just made) proves to me that they aren't as easy as they look!
6/30/05 6:20 PM
Sew Jane said...
Your skirt is great! Thanks for the thoughtful review. I have this pattern waiting in the stash too!
6/30/05 8:04 PM
jlg said...
Very cute, summery skirt.
7/1/05 5:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very cute skirt. I agree that these yokes are somewhat challenging to fit. I always seem to have to go down a size to keep the skirt from falling off. The cardigan and skirt look great together.
7/1/05 6:24 AM
MaryBeth said...
Another winner, Patti B. The color scheme and styles for your mini-swap are so clever!
7/1/05 7:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Butterick 5235
photo
Review by Sewlful on 3/10/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6354
photo
Review by Trinity. on 3/9/06
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us