SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7916 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1579 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 390 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/05 2:04 PM
Last Updated:6/29/05 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkyannie said...
Love that jacket!!
7/3/05 0:38 AM
Diane Franklin said...
Thanks, Ann. Given what you said, the double collar might work with a wool crepe or other soft wool. But that can wait till fall!
6/30/05 9:46 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very striking - looks great with the navy linen ensemble.
6/30/05 6:26 PM
JDpenelope said...
Like others, I purchased the Plaza Jacket pattern from Sewing Workshop because of your review. This Vogue pattern is certainly a beautiful alternative.
6/30/05 6:10 PM
AnneM said...
Great outfit.
6/30/05 7:47 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Another winner! I love your jacket! I purchased this pattern recently because of the similar lines to the Plaza jacket. It really showcases a beautiful fabric, doesn't it? Thanks for your timely review.
6/30/05 7:26 AM
ryan's mom said...
Beautifully-made jacket in an eye-catching fabric!
6/30/05 6:52 AM
Kathryn said...
Very cute pattern showcasing the fabric, Ann! What a wonderful job you did. The whole ensemble just sizzles.
6/29/05 11:29 PM
Ann Smith said...
Diane, I can't see any reason why not except it might add extra bulk in the front. If you have a thin fabric it shouldn't matter. The front is self lined so in the case of my fabric it would not work well.
6/29/05 11:12 PM
Diane Franklin said...
Very striking, like all your clothes. I have this pattern in my stash and was thinking of making it with two collared fronts similar to making the Japonesque with 2 right fronts. Do you think this would work and look good?
6/29/05 9:17 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very striking, dramatic--looking jacket. It is indeed a perfect style for a luxurious fabric like this.
6/29/05 5:46 PM
Schnauzer said...
Everything you make looks lovely and this is no exception, it's gorgeous!
6/29/05 5:44 PM
Hilary said...
What a pretty jacket! Unusual style, and I like that fabric very much.
6/29/05 3:52 PM
touran said...
How lovely. I bought this patterns recently because I thought it would be a good looking variation on the 'bog' coat. I wanted something that looked similar to the Plaza Jacket from SW, that you've reviewed once or twice. So I'm doubly glad for your review!!
6/29/05 3:11 PM
Patti B said...
I love your jacket -- color and style. How would this work for a slightly stiffer fabric? Just look more kimono-ish? I need to look more carefully at Joann's; if they are going to start carrying interesting fabrics, I need to 'encourage' them.
6/29/05 3:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

McCall's 6503

photo
by: BanachTars...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info