SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7916 (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1579 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 393 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/05 2:04 PM
Last Updated:6/29/05 2:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
inkyannie said... (7/3/05 0:38 AM) Reply
Love that jacket!!
Diane Franklin said... (6/30/05 9:46 PM) Reply
Thanks, Ann. Given what you said, the double collar might work with a wool crepe or other soft wool. But that can wait till fall!
hongkongshopper said... (6/30/05 6:26 PM) Reply
Very striking - looks great with the navy linen ensemble.
JDpenelope said... (6/30/05 6:10 PM) Reply
Like others, I purchased the Plaza Jacket pattern from Sewing Workshop because of your review. This Vogue pattern is certainly a beautiful alternative.
AnneM said... (6/30/05 7:47 AM) Reply
Great outfit.
Tonia Van Dyk said... (6/30/05 7:26 AM) Reply
Another winner! I love your jacket! I purchased this pattern recently because of the similar lines to the Plaza jacket. It really showcases a beautiful fabric, doesn't it? Thanks for your timely review.
ryan's mom said... (6/30/05 6:52 AM) Reply
Beautifully-made jacket in an eye-catching fabric!
Kathryn said... (6/29/05 11:29 PM) Reply
Very cute pattern showcasing the fabric, Ann! What a wonderful job you did. The whole ensemble just sizzles.
Ann Smith said... (6/29/05 11:12 PM) Reply
Diane, I can't see any reason why not except it might add extra bulk in the front. If you have a thin fabric it shouldn't matter. The front is self lined so in the case of my fabric it would not work well.
Diane Franklin said... (6/29/05 9:17 PM) Reply
Very striking, like all your clothes. I have this pattern in my stash and was thinking of making it with two collared fronts similar to making the Japonesque with 2 right fronts. Do you think this would work and look good?
CarolynGM said... (6/29/05 5:46 PM) Reply
Very striking, dramatic--looking jacket. It is indeed a perfect style for a luxurious fabric like this.
Schnauzer said... (6/29/05 5:44 PM) Reply
Everything you make looks lovely and this is no exception, it's gorgeous!
Hilary said... (6/29/05 3:52 PM) Reply
What a pretty jacket! Unusual style, and I like that fabric very much.
touran said... (6/29/05 3:11 PM) Reply
How lovely. I bought this patterns recently because I thought it would be a good looking variation on the 'bog' coat. I wanted something that looked similar to the Plaza Jacket from SW, that you've reviewed once or twice. So I'm doubly glad for your review!!
Patti B said... (6/29/05 3:11 PM) Reply
I love your jacket -- color and style. How would this work for a slightly stiffer fabric? Just look more kimono-ish? I need to look more carefully at Joann's; if they are going to start carrying interesting fabrics, I need to 'encourage' them.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Pattern Details
StyleArc Twiggy Dress

photo
by: Nicola1968

Review