SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Threads Magazine> #120 9/2005 (Chic Flowing Skirt - Sort of)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1659 times 
Reviewed by:CSchiffgens
photo

 
 
About CSchiffgens
TX USA
Member since: 4/19/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/05 3:08 PM
Last Updated:7/4/05 3:08 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Wow, was this quick! Great application of the concept...thanks for sharing it!
7/4/05 3:14 PM
Marrs said...
Yea .. very quick, I still have not received my issue yet. But the skirt looks snazie.
7/4/05 4:02 PM
MickeyFan said...
Very summery and fun looking skirt. Thanks for the review - I haven't even seen the article yet, but I am already looking forward to the new issue.
7/4/05 4:29 PM
granolamom said...
I love your skirt! I saw the Threads article too, and I'm tempted to try it so I really appreciate the review. Just to clarify (if you don't mind), did you pleat a large piece of fabric rather than piece strips of fabric together first?
7/4/05 4:32 PM
CSchiffgens said...
Yes, Granolamom, I pleated one big piece of fabric, or actually it was 3 44 inch strips.
7/4/05 4:40 PM
Susan R said...
Your skirt is terrific! I just received my magazine a couple of days ago and was intrigued by the article. It's great to see what you did with the concept.
7/4/05 5:26 PM
Tiner W said...
Neat! I plan to make this with my niece before the summer ends. Yours is so cute!
7/4/05 5:50 PM
bunz said...
Yours looks much better than the Threads version. Their yoke is all lumpy. Great save!
7/4/05 6:11 PM
Twinkster said...
Nicely done and it looks great on you!
7/5/05 0:23 AM
Kathryn said...
I am printing out your review, Cindy, and placing it in my Threads magazine, so it is right there when/if I decide to copy that skirt. I love the colors in your skirt. I'm wondering if you needed less fabric because you did not cut and sew individual strips together; all of those small seam allowances must take up lots of fabric. Thank you for giving us a "real world" view of that great Threads skirt. You did a wonderful job!
7/5/05 7:02 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your skirt. I might have to reconsider my subscription status.
7/5/05 7:29 AM
licarritc said...
I've met Jennifer and she is as nice as she is talented. She has designed a pieced back skirt with godets that I love. She sells some of her other designs if anybody is interested- You can reach her through Manchester Sewing Center on the web.
7/5/05 9:04 AM
drsue said...
I can't believe how fast you were on this! I really want to give this "pattern" a try myself. The latest issue of threads is a big improvement over recent issues.
7/5/05 9:49 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
What a fun look! Your skirt is fabulous looking and you have accessorized it very well.
7/5/05 6:17 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
Yours looks better than the mag! Very nice.
7/5/05 7:44 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
That was quick,I just got this issue in today's mail! Beautiful skirt. I love the colors.
7/5/05 8:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Buy Now