SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Self Drafted Pattern> 963-1000 (technical pants)

Viewed 1074 times 
Reviewed by:bunz
photo

 
 
About bunzstar
VA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/05 11:40 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
2takeKate said...
$85 is very reasonable for custom made pants like these, especially in GoreTex! In outerwear fabric, you do get what you pay for, and you did a great job on this project! I'm working on some biking pants myself -articulated knees are definitely in the plan!
3/2/11 6:23 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmm.. all this talk of articulated knee reminds me of something. Way back when, there was a Threads article by an architect who used origami sort of folds to add ease to strategic places in her pants. Now I didn't think the fold across the butt would ever work for me :-). But she had something like that for knees too. I bet it'd be easier to do for the same articulated effect than all those ##$%^little pieces and the darts too! I've looked at those myself, and snorted myself into hypoxia at the thought of it... The other plus would be that since they're just folds you wouldn't need to seal anything, it should last longer. Ah well, another project...
1/17/06 7:03 AM
AnneM said...
Fantastic! You could have spent the time sitting at the store studying these, so bringing them home sounds much easier. $85 for a custom made pair of Gortex pants is VERY reasonable.
7/6/05 4:49 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Wow - boy does he owe you! Fantastic job.
7/6/05 4:22 AM
bunz said...
A KS pattern?? Ouch! "Making" the pattern took the longest. Probably 20 hrs total -- pattern & sewing over a 2-month period early this spring.
7/5/05 9:24 PM
Kay Y said...
Great job on these pants! To answer Sherri Pasco, there is a Kwik Sew pattern for women with the pleated/articulated knee feature - it's #2841. They are very basic and make good wind/rain pants.
7/5/05 8:04 PM
CarolynGM said...
What an ambitious and impressive undertaking. We know how much the pants cost you to make. Now for the next question: how much total time did ti take?
7/5/05 7:31 PM
bunz said...
Thanks for all the kudos, y'all. I'll definitely be showing him these comments and picking out my favorite restaurant! I think there are probably many folks who ski in Switzerland or own their own sailing yachts who wouldn't blink at the $500 price tag. But it's not for us -- not even on layaway :-) Total cost was $85 which is still high, but that Gore-tex is very expensive stuff.
7/5/05 5:21 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
$500 for a pair of pants??!! That's fashion robbery. I recall several outdoor stores I used to go shopping in for hiking pants and although they were expensive, they wouldn't have the guts to charge $500 for a pair of pants. You did an excellent job; the articulated knee is perfect! Another technique to make one is to make the knee piece bigger than normal, about 3", then take a tuck in the seam on both sides, leaving the center loose, so that the knee would look like a surgeon's mask. But I'm sure that after this, you want to give it a break. Excellent job! It's great that you have a DH who loves you to sew for him!
7/5/05 4:48 PM
Hilary said...
LOL, what a woman!! You are amazing, to do that for him-I would have suggested layaway, :oP Great job, those are incredible pants. It's hard to believe you did it without a pattern. Very cool!
7/5/05 4:30 PM
sherri2sew said...
Fussy, or not, he should be well pleased that you custom made his pants and saved hundreds of dollars, too. Great job! Has anyone seen a pattern with this "articulated knee" feature? My daughter wants pants with this and I'm not ready to try drafting it. Again bunz, great job. Consider yourself more than a beginner now.
7/5/05 3:43 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wow - the wormanship is fantastic. What a lucky guy to have you in his life.
7/5/05 1:43 PM
purpleseamstress said...
Nina, I hope he gives you an awesome night on the town for this job! How incredible! I'm really impressed!!!! What did the final project cost you? I'm sure you did better than the $500.
7/5/05 1:23 PM
Patti B said...
Nina, wow, what a great job. This is really a labor of love and I'm sure that he loves them ... he'd better!
7/5/05 12:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 173920-1003

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now